Latin Dictionaries
- Database of latin dictionariesIntegrates different types of Latin dictionaries-- modern, medieval or early-modern. In progress.
English Dictionaries
Cambridge Histories Online
- Cambridge Histories OnlineExcellent resource. Full text. Chapters as pdfs. Extremely high quality essays with rich footnotes and bibliography.
Cambridge Companions
Selected titles available online Through LION, more arriving everyday. Often print copies are available as well.
- The Cambridge Companion to Old English Literature
- The Cambridge companion to Bede
- The Cambridge companion to medieval English theatre
- The Cambridge companion to medieval English literature, 1100-1500
- The Cambridge companion to medieval women's writing
- The Cambridge companion to medieval romance
- The Cambridge companion to medieval French literature
- The Cambridge companion to Piers Plowman
Oxford Resources, online
- Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO): Medieval StudiesOffers world class peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on many disciplines: Classical civilization, the Middle Ages, philosophy, and many other subjects.
- Oxford Handbooks Online: Scholarly Research ReviewsThe complete texts of the Oxford handbooks in Archaeology, Business and Management, Classical Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics and Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion online.
- Oxford ReferenceContains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Art OnlineProvides web access to the entire text of The Dictionary of Art, ed. Jane Turner (1996, 34 vols.) and The Oxford Companion to Western Art, ed. Hugh Brigstocke (2001). Articles, and over 1,500 thumbnail art images and line drawings, extensive image links, and sophisticated search and navigation tools.
- Oxford Classical Dictionary. 5th edition.Much more than a dictionary. An excellent source for sources on all aspects of the Classical World.
- Brill's New Pauly OnlineThe New Paul is an aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history. Entries and articles have been updated to the current state of scholarship while continuing the tradition which started with the old, but in its own day innovative 'Realencyclopa die der classischen Altertumswissenschaft of August Friedrich (von) Pauly and Georg Wissowa (1839ff., 1894ff.). Entries offer access to basic information - names, places, dates, objects - from all areas of Greek and Roman culture as well as their predecessors, neighbours and heirs.
Medieval Encyclopedias
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2000Covers the peoples, places, technologies, and intellectual concepts that contributed to trade, travel and exploration during the Middle Ages, from the years A.D. 525 to 1492.
The Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval EuropePublication Date: 2013
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2006Examines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE, i.e., from the fall of the Roman Empire to the discovery of the Americas. Masculinity in the Middle Ages is also addressed.
The Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature in BritainPublication Date: 2018Represents all the literatures of the British Isles including Old and Middle English, Early Scots, Anglo-Norman, the Norse, Latin and French of Britain, and the Celtic Literatures of Wales, Ireland, Scotland and Cornwall
Medieval England: An EncyclopediaPublication Date: 1998All aspects of life and culture in medieval England-art, architecture, law, literature, kings, commoners, women, music, commerce, technology, warfare, religion, and many others.
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon EnglandCovers the history, archaeology, arts, architecture, literatures, and languages of England from the Roman withdrawal to the Norman Conquest (c.450 - 1066 AD)
A Companion to Ostrogothic ItalyPublication Date: 2016Syntheses of recent scholarship on key topics, from the Ostrogothic army and administration to religious diversity and ecclesiastical development, ethnicity, cultural achievements, urbanism, and the rural economy, the Ostrogothic provinces beyond the Italian lands, gender and the Ostrogothic court, and Ostrogothic Italy's environmental history.
Medieval Italy: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2003Online edition:
Volume I : A-K, Volume II : L-Z Cross-disciplinary resource on literature, history, the arts, science, philosophy, and religion in Italy between A.D. 450 and 1375.
Medieval Islamic Civilization: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2005Online:
Volume I : A-K, Volume II : L-Z Two volumes, illustrated. Covers fields such as Arabic languages, Arabic literature, architecture, art history, history, history of science, Islamic arts, Islamic studies, Middle Eastern studies, Near Eastern studies, politics, religion, Semitic studies, theology, and more.
The Oxford Dictionary of ByzantiumPublication Date: 1991Three-volume, comprehensive dictionary of Byzantine civilization.
Medieval France: an EncyclopediaISBN: 0824044444Publication Date: 1995Covers the political, intellectual, literary, and musical history of the country from the early fifth century to the late 15th.
Medieval Iberia: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2002Focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista.
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2002Medieval Jewish civilization, from the fall of the Roman Empire to about 1492.
New Catholic EncyclopediaPublication Date: 2002
The Oxford Dictionary of SaintsISBN: 019860629XConcise accounts of the lives, cults, and artistic associations of over 1,400 saints.- Encyclopedia of Early ChristianityCall Number: Olin Library Reference, + BR162.2 .E56 1997Publication Date: 1997
Medieval Scandinavia: an EncyclopediaPublication Date: 1993Religion, education, politics and law, culture and material life, history, literature, and art. A valuable and absorbing volume for students of the Norse sagas, the Viking age, and Old English history and literature, and more.- Medieval Archaeology: an EncyclopediaCall Number: Olin Reference D125.M42x 2001+
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle AgesPublication Date: 2010Four volumes. Key aspects of European history, society, religion, and culture from 500 to 1500. Since neighbouring areas of Asia and North Africa impinged on and helped shape the civilization of the West, relevant aspects ofthe Byzantine Empire, the Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples such as the Avars and the Mongols are included.- Dictionary of the Middle AgesCall Number: Olin Library Reference, D114 .D55 +Publication Date: 1982
Literature and Language
- Literature Onlinehttp://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/arr2475
- Mediae Latinitatis lexicon minusTranslations of Latin keywords.
Thesaurus proverbiorum medii aevi"The work is indispensable for deciphering no longer known proverbs in collective manuscripts and in texts far beyond the Middle Ages." Prof. Dr. Johannes Janota
Online access and searching is volume by volume.
- Brill Online Etymological dictionariesIncludes:
Etymological dictionary of the Armenian inherited lexicon;
Cuneiform Luvian lexicon;
Etymological dictionary of Greek;
Etymological dictionary of the Hittite inherited lexicon;
Etymological dictionary of the Iranian verb;
Etymological dictionary of Latin and the other Italic languages;
Old Frisian Etymological dictionary;
Etymological dictionary of proto-Celtic;
Etymological dictionary of proto-Germanic;
Etymological dictionary of proto-Nostratic;
Etymological dictionary of the Slavic inherited lexicon;
A dictionary of Tocharian B.;
The Church
- Encyclopedia of early ChristianityCall Number: Olin Reference + BR162.2 .E56 1997
- The Catholic encyclopedia; an international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline, and history of the Catholic ChurchCall Number: Olin Reference BX841 .C36This fifteen volume encyclopedia goes beyond the subject of Catholicism to include science, literature, art and civilization. Particularly good on historical topics and the Middle Ages. Reissued and updated in the 1960s as The New Catholic Encyclopedia (also in print at Olin Reference). Articles sometimes include bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
- Bullarium magnum romanumCall Number: Rare & Manuscripts Oversize BX850 .A4 +or Bullarum, diplomatum et privilegiorum sanctorum romanorum pontificum taurinensis editio locupletior facta collectione novissima plurium brevium, epistolarum, decretorum actorumque S. Sedis a s. Leone Magno usque ad praesens cura et studio collegii adlecti Romae virorum s. theologiae et ss. canonum peritorum quam ss. d. n. Pius papa IX apostolica benedictione erexit auspicante emo ac revmo dno s. r. e. cardinali Francisco Gaude. Augustae Taurinorum : Seb. Franco et Henrico Dalmazzo editoribus, 1857-72.(Olin Library Oversize BX850 .A4+) A standard source for papal documents. In addition to bulls, includes other papal documents. Contents: -t. 1. Leo M.-Nicolaus II; 440-1061. 1857. -t. 2. Alexander II-Alexander III; 1061-1181. 1865. -t. 3. Lucius III-Clemens IV; 1181-1268. 1858. -t. 4. Gregorius X-Martinus V; 1271-1431. 1859. -t. 5. Eugenius IV-Leo X; 1431-1521. 1860. etc. Appendix, vol. I. Leo-Pelagius II; 440-590.
- Oxford Dictionary of SaintsCall Number: Olin Reference BX 4655.2 .F23 1987Excellent for its bibliographies of primary source material on official saints. Short bibliographic citations to the vitae and other primary sources follow each entry, and a listing of abbreviations precedes the main section. A Calendar of the Principal Feasts of Saints is located at the end of the dictionary.
- Dictionary of saintsCall Number: Olin Stacks BX4655.8 .D33 2004Short entries (without bibliography) on all saints, including unofficial saints
- The lives of the saintsCall Number: Olin Stacks and Annex BR1710 .B25Outdated in some respects, but still classic. Sixteen volumes with illustrations, maps, genealogical tables, etc.
- The papacy: an encyclopediaCall Number: Olin Reference BX955.2 .D53x 2002+Three volumes covering all aspects of the papacy. Articles include bibliography.
- Dictionary of religious ordersCall Number: Olin Reference BX2420 .D39x 2001Particularly strong on post-medieval orders, this work is still useful for medievalists. A list of alternative names of orders is provided in the back.
- Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiquesCall Number: Olin Stacks BR95 .B34Issued in parts, this series is still in progress. Editors vary. Articles often includes bibliographies.
- Series episcoporum Ecclesiae catholicae...Call Number: Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts BX4666 .G19Old but still extremely useful listing of the history of the personnel (clergy and bishops) of European dioceses from the time of their foundation up to the 19th century. Includes brief bibliography.
- Hierarchia catholica medii aevi...Call Number: Library Annex Oversize BX4651 .H63 ++Biographical and historical guide to bishops, cardinals, popes for the world. Bibliography is contained in extensive footnotes. Originally intended to comprise the period of 1198 to 1431 alone. In a second volume (published 1901 with title as above and half-title "Hierarchia catholica medii aevi vol.II") the period of 1431 to 1503 was added, and volumes 3-9 include the modern period.
- Monasticon Anglicanum...Call Number: Kroch Library Rare & Manuscripts (Non-Circulating) Rare Books BX2592 .D86 1655 ++English monasteries, abbeys, churches, etc. Each section has tips--Coenobia Anglicana, de ordine Cluniacensi -- Coenobia Anglicana, de ordine Cisterciensi -- Coenobia Anglicana, de ordine Carthusiersi.
- Medieval religious houses, England and WalesCall Number: Library Annex BX2592.K73 M4 1972A classic, it includes overviews and extensive bibliographies.
- The heads of religious houses, England and WalesCall Number: Olin Stacks BX2592.K73 H4Provides annotated lists of the superiors of houses and sources on houses and personnel. Volume 1 covers 940-1216; volume 2 covers 1216-1377.
- Fasti ecclesiae Anglicanae, 1066-1300Call Number: Olin Stacks and Library Annex BX5197 .L56 1968 + and Olin Library Oversize BX5197 .L56 1968 + Vols: 4-8 (1991-2002)Guides to the clergy and dioceses of England. Includes bibliographies.
- Fasti ecclesiae Anglicanae, 1300-1541Call Number: Olin Library BX5197 .L56 1962Guides to dioceses
- Fasti ecclesiae GallicanaeCall Number: various; search in the library catalogGuides to six (to date) French dioceses, in Olin Library at various call numbers; do a key word search with the name of the series and the name of the diocese in the CU online catalog to find exact call number.
Chronology and Geography
- Chronology of the Medieval World 800 to 1491Call Number: Olin Reference D118 .S88 1973
- The Cornell Map Collection(located in the Lower Level of Olin Library). The Map Collection contains over 232,000 maps, 3000 books and atlases and 400 CD-ROMs, and . The collection is geographically comprehensive and includes medieval maps in facisimile and electronic form.
- The Digital Atlas of Roman and Medieval Civilization (DARMC)A Geographic Information Systems (GIS) approach to mapping and spatial analysis of the Roman and medieval worlds. Harvard's DARMC allows innovative spatial and temporal analyses of all aspects of the civilizations of western Eurasia in the first 1500 years of our era, as well as the generation of original maps illustrating differing aspects of ancient and medieval civilization. A work in progress with no claim to definitiveness.
- Orbis Latinus OnlineA Latin to German dictionary of medieval place names.
- Nouveau dictionnaire de géographie universelle byCall Number: Oversize G103 .V86 ++Eleven volumes which includes textual descriptions of places.
The library has an outstanding collection of atlases which can be found in the Map Collection and Olin. Examples include:
- Atlas of medieval EuropeCall Number: Olin Stacks G1791 .M2x 1997
- The atlas of the CrusadesCall Number: Olin Stacks G1034 .R5x 1990
General
Not focused on the Middle Ages, these scholarly encyclopedia collections are superior to Wikipedia on most topics & disciplines and can be helpful for multi-disciplinary research:
