Linguistics and Language: A Research Guide: Reference Sources

Wiley Online Books, 1996.
Print version: Olin Library Reference Z 40 .C67x 1995.
"The principal purpose of this encyclopedia is to provide basic concise information on the writing systems, scripts and orthographies of the world's major languages" (Preface).
Useful for overviews of every imaginable script from Cherokee to Maldivian (not to be confused with Old Maldivian) and such oddities as the finger alphabet and quipu.

Print only. (Olin Library Reference P 29 .C64 2010 +)
This illustrated one-volume encyclopedia presents the major themes in language study. A glossary and index provide excellent access to the many articles. Excellent maps, plates, photographs and charts. A bibliography is appended.

ProQuest, 2010.
Online eBook only.
Provides an accessible reference source for all major aspects of speech and language.

6th edition. 2008.
A tool aimed to assist graduate and undergraduate students encountering the terminology of linguistics and phonetics. Written in technical language using extensive cross-references. No bibliography or reading list.

Print only. (Olin Library Reference P 216 .T73x 1996)
A comprehensive yet concise guide to an enormous number of individual terms and an explanation of the most important theoretical approaches to phonology. [from the cover]

Online only.
New and updated articles added twice yearly.
Combines individual entries ranging from 1,500 to 4,000 words, with longer, essay-style contributions giving a detailed overview of key developments and ideas. Covers 31 key areas of the field, including Language teaching and learning, Bilingual education, Language policy and planning, Assessment and evaluation, Corpus linguistics, Discourse and conversation analysis, the neurobiology of language, Literacy, and technology and language.

Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997
Print only.
Over 700 entries provide inclusive coverage of the major Indo-European language stocks and their origins, and the conceptual range of the reconstructed Proto-Indo-European language. The encyclopedia also offers entries on selected archaeological cultures having some relationship to the origin and dispersal of Indo-European groups, and on some of the major issues of Indo-European cultural studies.

2nd edition. 2006.
An online, updated edition of R. E. Asher's comprehensive encyclopedia in linguistics and related subject areas, published in 1994 (print copy in Olin Reference P 29 .E56 +). Broad in scope, so that interdisciplinary aspects of linguistics and language studies are covered as well as various areas of linguistics. Global communication and writing systems are included, as well as extensive biographies/bibliographies of linguists. Signed articles include authoritative bibliographies.

Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005.
Online access through ProQuest Ebook Central.
Print version: Olin Library Reference P 29 .E483 2005.
Utilizing a historical and international approach, this valuable two-volume resource makes even the more complex linguistic issues understandable for the non-specialized reader. Containing over 500 alphabetically arranged entries and an expansive glossary by a team of international scholars, the Encyclopedia of Linguistics explores the varied perspectives, figures, and methodologies that make up the field.

Wiley/Blackwell, 2015.
Online only.
A multi-disciplinary subject encyclopedia with crossover coverage of linguistics and discourse studies, and with psychology, sociology and business. Published as a regularly-updated online edition.

2nd edition.
Oxford University Press, 2003.
Print version: Olin Library Reference P 29 .I61 2003.
Articles by some 400 scholarly linguists describe concisely many linguistic sub-specialties and concepts. A useful feature is the large number of articles on specific languages or language families, from Akkadian to Zapotec. (Zulu is treated under African languages.) Articles are arranged alphabetically, but appendixes group subjects into topic areas and languages into families. A glossary defines terms; cross references and an index direct the reader to the right article. Numerous bibliographies and some excellent illustrations are provided. As the preface indicates, the work is intended for experts, and some articles are quite technical.... [Library Journal review]

2nd edition.
Routledge, 2002.
Print only. (Olin Library Reference P 29 .L52 2002)
Entries are alphabetically arranged, extensively cross-referenced, and include suggestions for further reading. They cover over 150 major and subsidiary fields of linguistic study. Key terms and topics are defined and discussed in context, emphasized in bold type.