Finding Journal Articles and Dissertations
Primary Online Indexes and Databases for Linguistics
- LLBA Language, Linguistics and Behavior AbstractsCovers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Documents indexed include journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers.
- Linguistic Bibliography Online"Contains over 440,000 detailed bibliographical descriptions of linguistic publications on general and language-specific theoretical linguistics. While the bibliography aims to cover all languages of the world, particular attention is given to the inclusion of publications on endangered and lesser-studied languages. Publications in any language are collected, analyzed and annotated (using a state-of-the-art system of subject and language keywords) by an international team of linguists and bibliographers from all over the world." [Introduction]
- MLA International BibliographyAn international index and database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals in literature, folklore, literary theory, semiotics, and linguistics.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global1731 to the present. Many are full-text online. Others (citation-only sources) are available through interlibrary loan.
Print Indexes for Linguistics
- Bibliographie linguistischer Literatur (BLL)Call Number: Uris Library Stacks Oversize Z 7003 .B58 ++Cancelled after 2018.
BLL covers articles in periodicals and essays in collective works, including conference and congress proceedings and festschriften. The number of periodicals it covers has gradually increased from 123 in Band 1 to about 770 titles in Band 12 (1986). Coverage is international in scope with a one- or two-year time lag.
Besides a division on general linguistics it also includes divisions on English, German, and Romance linguistics. Each of these divisions is subdivided into a form section, a systematic section, and a language section (the latter missing of course in the general linguistics division). The systematic section of each division contains all the entries for that division classified under appropriate subject categories. These entries may also qualify for listing again in the form and/or language sections. This whole classification scheme is fully explained in the introduction which, beginning with Band 7, appears in both German and English, as do the headings. A cumulative author index and subject and name index complete each annual volume.
This index and the Bibliographie Linguistique/Linguistic Bibliography are international in scope. The BLL, however, is more current and has the advantage of a subject index. On the other hand it does not begin to cover the variety of languages that the Bibliographie Linguistique does. (De Miller) - Bibliographie linguistiqueCall Number: Uris Library Stacks Z 7001 .P451Library has 1984-2004.
See also: Online edition, above.
Related Indexes and Databases
- Language Teaching [journal]Available online via Cambridge Core. The Cornell Library also has the print edition from 1982 - 2006.
" ... offers critical survey articles of recent research on specific topics, second and foreign languages and countries, and invites original research articles reporting on replication studies and meta-analyses. The journal also includes regional surveys of outstanding doctoral dissertations, topic-based research timelines, theme-based research agendas, recent plenary conference speeches, and research-in-progress reports."
[publisher] - PsycINFOAccess to the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics.
- Sociology Source UltimateOffers coverage from all sub-disciplines of sociology.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science indexes journal articles in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. It is also a citation database that allows cited- reference searching to identify articles that have cited a particular article or author.
Online Repositories
Increasingly scholars are submitting their papers to open access archives. These digital repositories capture, store, index, preserve, and redistribute digital research material. Many materials archived in digital repositories are searchable by search engines such as Google, as opposed to being sequestered in proprietary databases such as JSTOR or ProQuest.
- LingBuzzLingBuzz is an openly accessible repository of scholarly papers, discussions and other documents for linguistics.
- semanticsarchive.netFor exchanging papers of interest to natural language semanticists and philosophers of language. Maintained by the Linguistic Society of America.
- ROA: Rutgers Optimality Archive"The Rutgers Optimality Archive is a distribution point for research in Optimality Theory and its conceptual affiliates." -- home page