Skip to Main Content

Kheel Center: Finding Resources: Find & Request Our Resources

How to navigate ArchivesSpace, search collections, and request materials at the Kheel Center

Overview

The Kheel Center is open for reading room appointments. (see details)

Please contact us with research and instructional support questions.  We invite you to explore our digital collections and online exhibitions as well.

The Kheel Center for Labor-Management Documentation & Archives houses archival documents, historical photographs, oral history interviews, collective bargaining agreements, films, posters, and recordings pertaining to labor and management. For an overview of our materials visit our collections overview page or our collection guides.

Once you've located resources of interest to you, please register and request them through ArchivesSpace (ASpace), as described below. If you're interested in ordering reproductions or obtaining permission for publication please visit the "Reproductions & Permissions" page.

Finding Aids

The finding aid is an organized contents list for an archival collection. While finding aids can differ in their level of detail, most include the following basic elements:

  • Descriptive Summary: lists the collection's title, the repository where the collection is held, the collection number or call number,  a brief description or abstract of the collection contents, creator of the materials, the size and extent of the collection, and language(s) represented in the collection.
  • Biographical Note: details the biographical information or organizational history relating to the collection.
  • Collection Description: provides a more detailed overview of the materials in the collection.
  • Information for Users: how collection should be cited and if applicable, details any restrictions placed on the access or use of collection materials.
  • Subjects: a list of terms, topics, names, etc. covered in the collection, and in the collection's library catalog record linked to other records with the same term.
  • Container List: a box-by-box, folder-by-folder listing of the materials stored in the collection. The level of detail in this section may vary.

Take note of which boxes or items have the most relevant materials for you, and then request them through ArchivesSpace.

For additional tips on finding Kheel Center materials in ArchivesSpace, visit the Searching ArchivesSpace page.

Researchers-for-Hire

The Kheel Center cannot conduct extensive searches. If you are unable to come to the Kheel Center, we can make available names of outside researchers for hire. The center provides no guarantee as to the results and timing of such searches.

How to Request Resources

Requesting an Appointment Quick-Start Guide

  1. First time users sign in or create an account here. Further instructions for creating an online account can be found in Plan your Visit.
  2. Direct login page here:
  3. Once you’ve arrived at your account home page, click the “To create a new request we recommend using the Cornell University Library catalog.”

How to Request Materials for in-person appointments

  1. Search through Kheel Center collections
    • Search through the Library catalog
      • When you find the material you’re looking for, click on its title and you will be directed to its catalog record. 
      • Click on the Finding Aid Button on the upper right. This will bring you to the archival finding aid in ArchivesSpace, which lists what’s in each box of the collection.

  2. Search directly through ArchivesSpace

  3. In ArchivesSpace, your search results may include archival collections (which feature a red A box icon.  box icon) or individual files (which feature a green A page icon.  page icon) 

  4. Search Result - Collection view. If you see the Collection (redA box icon. ) designator underneath the title, you need to narrow your request to a specific file. See Searching Archives Space, "Understanding Search Results" for more information
    • Select Collection
    • Browse the File names listed under Collection Organization on the right of the screen, or search within the collection
    • Select the name of the File you want to view
    • Click Request button in the upper right. This button will not appear until you have selected an individual File!

     

     

  5. Search Result - File View. If you see the File (green A page icon. ) designator underneath the title, then you can request that item directly. See Searching Archives Space, "Understanding Search Results" for more information.
    • Select File
    • Click Request button in the upper right
  6. Login
    • Choose to log in with your Cornell NetID or Public Users Login depending on your status.
  7. Complete the Archival Request Form
    • Select Request Item for Reading Room Delivery > Fill out all sections > Click Submit
      • When you have requested all of your desired material, go back to your account home page. There, you can click the “Appointments” button at the top of the screen.
      • Click “New Appointment,” then fill out the corresponding form with your desired date and time. Be sure to select Kheel Center under the Site drop-down menu. Click “Create Appointment.”
      • Your appointment request has been submitted. When your appointment has been reviewed, you’ll receive an email from us letting you know if your appointment has been altered or confirmed.