Evaluating Your Sources
- Evaluating Web Sites (Cornell University Library)Tips for evaluating the sources you find on the web.
- Critical Thinking CommunityProvides articles and papers on critical thinking. Promotes the development of critical thinking for students and others.
- Tutorial on Annotated BibliographyTutorial on Annotated Bibliography
Passkey
Use Passkey to access library resources, wherever you are.
When you’re off-campus, connect to databases, journals and e-books that would otherwise be restricted or hidden behind paywalls through Passkey. Just drag the Passkey icon (below) to the top of your browser. Next time you hit a restricted website, click the Passkey icon. If the Library has a subscription to the resource you’re trying to access, you’ll then be prompted for your NetID.
For more information on installing Passkey consult the Adding Passkey Library Guide.
Background Sources
These encyclopedias and reference works can be accessed electronically. Additional titles can be found in this list of Dictionaries & Encyclopedias (but some may be in print!)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History by ISBN: 0195105079Publication Date: 2003-10-16This important reference work contains 900 signed articles by leading international scholars drawn from the USA, Latin America, Europe, and Asia. Essays on countries and regions sit alongside those on abstract concepts, institutions, phenomena, and historical processes, and biographies and assessments of important names from both technology and business, including economic historians of note. Due to the interdisciplinary nature of the field, it is divided not only by chronological and geographic boundaries, but also by related subfields such as agricultural history, demographic history, business history, and the histories of technology, migration, and transportation.
The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics by ISBN: 9781349951888Publication Date: 2018-02-05Now in its third edition, this award-winning publication contains entries written by the world's most influential economists, including 36 Nobel Laureates. In addition to classic and foundational articles of enduring importance, the latest edition of The New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics includes entries on topical issues including gender and economics, recent economic crises in the European Union and beyond, health economics and the economics of the Internet. With over 3,000 individual articles, this is the definitive scholarly reference work for a new generation of economists.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by ISBN: 9780080970875Publication Date: 2015-02-17Fully revised and updated, the second edition of the International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, first published in 2001, offers a source of social and behavioral sciences reference material that is broader and deeper than any other. Available in both print and online editions, it comprises over 3,900 articles, commissioned by 71 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Provides authoritative, foundational, interdisciplinary knowledge across the wide range of behavioral and social sciences fields Discusses history, current trends and future directions Topics are cross-referenced with related topics and each article highlights further reading
Historical Dictionary of Organized Labor by ISBN: 9780810879881Publication Date: 2012-06-01Now available as an ebook! Brief entries cover most countries, international as well as national labor organizations, major labor unions, leaders, and other aspects of labor movements. Includes annotated listing of Web sites, a glossary, lists of leaders, and union membership statistics.
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) E184.A1 E584 2013ISBN: 002866020XPublication Date: 20083 vols. Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modern era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Some of the nearly 400 articles address broad theoretical topics that have helped to shape modern ideas about race and racism; others address more specific subjects in the larger fields.
- SAGE Research MethodsSAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods) across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals. In addition, SRMO contains content from more than 640 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE.