GOVT 4000 (Spring 2024): Criminal Justice in Comparative Perspective: Reference Sources

" ... describes the national law enforcement and correctional systems of more than 195 countries across the globe. Under the editorial direction of authorities from the World Future Society, National Criminal Justice Reference Service and eight universities, including the Universities of Illinois and South Carolina, the Encyclopedia provides both statistical and analytical information. Following a consistent, user-friendly format, each country overview explores topics such as the history, organization, administrative structure, chains of command, modes of operation, technology and firearms of each profiled area." [excerpt from publisher description]

Eric J. Miller (Editor); Tamara Rice Lave (Editor).
" ... provides a comprehensive collection of essays on police and policing, written by leading experts in political theory, sociology, criminology, economics, law, public health, and critical theory. It unveils a range of experiences - from the police chief of a major metropolitan force to ordinary people targeted for policing on the street - and asks important questions about whether and why we need the police, before analyzing the law of policing, police use of force, and police violence, paying particular attention to the issue of discrimination against marginalized and vulnerable communities at the blunt end of police interference. The book also discusses technological innovations and proposals for reform." [excerpt from publisher description]

"... focusing on the mechanisms by which legal systems seek to avoid error, protect rights, ground their legitimacy, expand lay participation in the criminal process, and develop alternatives to criminal trials, such as plea bargaining, as well as alternatives to the criminal process as a whole, such as intelligence operations. The criminal procedures examined in this book include those of the United States, Germany, France, Spain, Russia, India, Latin America, Taiwan, and Japan, among others. This book explores a number of key topics in the field of criminal procedure: the role of screening mechanisms in weeding out weak cases before trial; the willingness of different legal systems to suppress illegally obtained evidence; the ways legal systems set meaningful evidentiary thresholds for arrest and pretrial detention; the problem of wrongful convictions; the way legal systems balance the search for truth against other values, such as protections for fundamental rights; emerging legal protections for criminal defendants, including new safeguards against custodial questioning in the European Union, limitations on covert operations in post-Soviet states, and the Indian system of anticipatory bail; as well as the mechanisms by which legal systems avoid trials altogether. A number of contributors also examine the impact of legal reforms that have newly introduced lay jurors into the fact-finding process or that now require juries to give reasons for verdicts.

edited by Monica den Boer (Member of Parliament, the Netherlands)
"In this Research Handbook, academics and practitioners explore the relationship between policing and the law and focus on case material and human rights issues. The book concludes that public policing is far from self-evident, particularly in an era where more emphasis is placed upon private security, anti-terrorism and modern technology." [excerpt from publisher descripton]

Kent R. Kerley (Editor).
Provides comprehensive coverage of key topics in corrections, including history, trends and types of punishment,correctional theory, policy, and law ... Brings together cutting-edge examples from criminal justice systems throughout the US and around the world to provide an essential go-to resource for students, scholars, and researchers

"... For the twenty countries covered, this systematic work provides: short country-based information on police organization and social control, crime and disorder trends in the last 20 years with an on policing, police training and police educational systems, changes in policing in the last 20 years, police and the media, present trends in policing (public and private, multilateral, plural policing), policing urban and rural communities, recent research trends in research on policing specificities of research on police and policing (researchers and the police, inclusion of police researchers in policy making and police practice) and future developments in policing." [excerpt from publisher description]

by Ben Bradford, Beatrice Jauregui, Ian Loader & Jonny Steinberg.
"The SAGE Handbook of Global Policing examines and critically retraces the field of policing studies by posing and exploring a series of fundamental questions to do with the concept and institutions of policing and their relation to social and political life in today's globalized world. The volume is structured in the following four parts: Part One: Lenses Part Two: Social and Political Order Part Three: Legacies Part Four: Problems and Problematics. By bringing new lines of vision and new voices to the social analysis of policing, and by clearly demonstrating why policing matters, the Handbook will be an essential tool for anyone in the field." [publisher]