GOVT 4000 (Spring 2024): Criminal Justice in Comparative Perspective: News Databases

Includes BBC Selected News Articles from each country and some individual newspapers.To search papers from individual countries, go to Sources: A to Z:
Use the pull-down menu to select "location;"
Enter the country name;
Select papers to search.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
To see a list of the periodicals available in Ethnic NewsWatch, click on the title link above, click on the "Publication Search" tab, and then click "Show all publications." Many of these sources are newspapers that serve local Latino communities in cities/states such as San Antonio (La Prensa), Oakland (El Mundo), San Diego (El Latino), Los Angeles (La Opinion), Colorado (La Voz). Miami (El Nuevo Herald), San Francisco (El Mensajero), plus many more.

Covers papers worldwide. Dates of coverage varies by newspaper. To identify specific papers and dates of coverage, check the Publications link on the home page.

This new subscription features Le Monde’s graphic interface and is fully illustrated. You can opt to read in French or English by using the toggle at the top of the screen, but the default view is in French.
Other digital versions of Le Monde include text-only access (2001-present) and the historical archive from 1944-2000.

From the top banner, select "Sources."
Select Publication type > News.
Select Publication location and filter to the country of interest.
Search all papers from that country, or check for information about the papers under the 3-vertical dot menu and Add to Search.
Note: To find editorials, add and section (editorial or opinion) to your keywords.
Please note: You do not need to register with Nexis Uni to search or download content. Registering with a database will always carry privacy risks.

For best results, select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types. If you wish, use the date limits on the right to restrict your results to a particular date range.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.