Introduction
Open and browse through some of the reference sources below. Each source provides information on rights relating to women and gender, in some cases, by country.
This is a great way to find relevant background information and to develop topic ideas.
Subject encyclopedias, bibliographies and handbooks
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineSample search: Gender equality
See: Feminism and Human Rights, Feminist Political Theory - The Oxford Handbook of Gender and ConflictIncludes a set of case studies from across the globe.
- The Palgrave Handbook of Women’s Political Rights"This Palgrave Handbook provides a definitive account of women’s political rights across all major regions of the world, focusing both on women’s right to vote and women’s right to run for political office. This dual focus makes this the first book to combine historical overviews of debates about enfranchising women alongside analyses of more contemporary efforts to increase women’s political representation around the globe." [publisher]
- Research handbook on gender, sexuality and the law" ... presents wide-ranging insights and debates from across the globe, including Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe and Australia, with contributions from leading scholars and activists alongside exciting emergent voices." [publisher]
- The rights of women in comparative constitutional law"Through a comparative analysis involving 15 countries from around the world this book provides an invaluable assessment of women's equality at the global level." [publisher]
- The Wiley-Blackwell encyclopedia of social and political movementsOffers ... "an extensive range of historical and modern social and political movements throughout the world, protests, and topics that reflect a diversity of social contexts and theoretical perspectives, concepts, processes, and methods." [publisher]