GOVT 2274 Global Studies: Selected databases

America: History and Life (AHL) covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Offers strong coverage of US government, policy, and foreign relations topics.

Full-text articles in all fields of economics including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory and urban economics.

Covering environmental policy and studies.

Identifies articles, essays, books chapters and monographs on history worldwide (except the US and Canada. See above). Offers strong coverage of political history from pre-history to the present.

Produced by the International Political Science Association, indexes and summarizes articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Includes articles in English are abstracted in English; those in other languages are abstracted in French, with all titles translated into English. Coverage from 1989 - present

International coverage of public policy literature in economics, government, law, international business, political science and public administration.

Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Identifies articles from more than 590 "core" Sociology journals. Also includes indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources. Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology.

Multidisciplinary. Includes Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. May be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. May also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work (citation indexing).

Covers political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. For best results, place "quotation marks" around phrases.

Africa-wide NiPAD is an index covering material on Africa from the 19th century to the present.

Identifies principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971

In-depth, full-text information, from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

"GenderWatch is a full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas." [publisher]

Covers Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States.

The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals, produced by The American Association of Law Libraries, provides access to legal literature worldwide, covering all forms of foreign (non-Anglo-American) law. This includes comparative law and legal systems, such as Islamic law; socialist law; public and private international law; and transnational commercial law.

Covers 1992 to date.

Identifies journal articles and books, reviews and selected chapters dating back to 1951. It is unique in its broad coverage of international material and incorporates over 100 languages and countries.

"... a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for political development, social development, foreign policy, economic development, investment, oil and petrochemicals, trade and technological industries) for the Middle East, North Africa, the Sahel and the Horn of Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Arabs, Iranians, Turks and Africans worldwide, including in Europe and North and South America."

Covers research, policy and scholarly discourse on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.

“The site offers free access to a searchable archive of two databases, FRANCIS (1972-2015) and PASCAL (1984-2015). FRANCIS covers 15 disciplines in human and social sciences with 2.6 million bibliographic references since 1972. PASCAL gathers 20 million bibliographic references in science, technology, and medicine. Emphasis on European academic journals.”

Covers essential areas related to peace research, including conflict resolution, international affairs, peace psychology, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Identifies articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

Provides citations and some abstracts to the core areas of Women’s studies. Covers journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, websites and grey literature. annually.