GOVT 2274 Global Studies: News Databases

Includes BBC Selected News Articles from each country and some individual newspapers.To search papers from individual countries, select
Sources: A to Z:
Use the pull-down menu to select "location"
Enter the country name.
Select papers to search.

AllAfrica posts over 1000 stories daily in English and French, as well offering a 900,000-article searchable archive (which includes the archive of Africa News Service dating from 1997). This database aggregates and indexes content from over 125 African news organizations, plus more than 200 other sources.

Round-the-clock monitoring of TV, radio, press, internet and news agencies from around the world from primarily open media sources.
Ability to provide "the words as spoken" -- accurate and impartial translations of what leading figures have said.
Access via the Factiva database. From the Factiva home page navigation bar, open Search. In the Source field, enter BBC Monitoring

In-depth, full-text information, from Russia and the former Soviet Union. Resources include newspapers, newswires, popular and scholarly periodicals, and government documents.

Full-text online service for international news and business information.
Note: the home page opens to the day's news from the Wall Street Journal, among others (with a drop-down menu to dates over the past week). Use the Search link from the homepage navigation bar to search all of the sources in Factiva.
Please note: Our subscription does not include all of the content available in Factiva. In some cases, may see a message that says the library does not have access to a specific newspaper.

Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts
From thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages
From 1941-1996.

"Encompassing newspapers in more than 30 languages, GPA will ultimately include thousands of titles from across the globe, all presented in full-image and full-text format optimized for scholarly use."
The Digital Archive has the longest runs. The Open Access papers represent what is publicly available and coverage ranges from a single paper to a range of months or years. Go to Title Navigation to see the years covered for each newspaper..

Not currently updated.
A searchable archive of articles from: Keesing's contemporary archives, 1931-1986, and: Keesing's record of world events, 1987-. Provides a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events.

This new subscription features Le Monde’s graphic interface and is fully illustrated. You can opt to read in French or English by using the toggle at the top of the screen, but the default view is in French.
Other digital versions of Le Monde include text-only access (2001-present) and the historical archive from 1944-2000.

From the top banner, select Sources.
Next, filter by Publication type > News and Publication Location.
Continue to filter to the region and country of interest.
Search all papers from that country, or check for information about the papers under the 3-vertical dot menu and Add to Search.
Note: To find editorials, add and section (editorial or opinion) to your keywords.
Please note: You do not need to register with Nexis Uni to search or download content. Registering with a database will always carry privacy risks.

For best results, select the Advanced Search. Scroll down to choose Document types. If you wish, use the date limits on the right to restrict your results to a particular date range.

Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London for the years 1785-2006. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

July 1994 - .
Note: World News Connection was closed down at the end of 2013. No new content after December 31, 2013. The material was obtained from non-U.S. open-source political speeches, television programs, radio broadcasts, newspaper articles, periodicals, and books. The content focuses primarily on military, political, environmental, scientific, technical, and and socioeconomic issues and events. For earlier years, see: FBIS, below.