German Studies: A Research Guide: Reference Sources

Edition: 19, völlig neu bearb. Aufl. Mannheim: Brockhaus, Bd.1-30, 1986-1996.
30 volumes.
Other Titles: Brockhaus Enzyklopädie Deutsches Wörterbuch Brockhaus Enzyklopadie. Jahrbuch. Grosse Brockhaus. Previous edition published under title: Der Grosse Brockhaus. Continues with v. 25: index; v. 26-28: Deutsches Wörterbuch; v. 29: Wörterbuch Englisch; v. 30: Ergänzungen. Includes index.

Redaktionelle Leitung, Joachim Weiss. Edition: 3. Mannheim: Dudenverlag
10 volumes.
Formerly: Das Neue Duden-Lexikon.

Mannheim: Bibliographisches Institut, 1976-1981. 6 volumes.

Herausgegeben vom Wissenschaftlichen Rat der Dudenredaktion. Edition: 3, völlig neu beararbeitete und erw. Aufl. Mannheim: Dudenverlag, 1999. 10 volumes.
Newer edition of previous entry.

Hrsg. von Reinhard Oberschelp; Bearb. unter der Leitung von Willi Gorzny. München: Verlag Dokumentation, 1976- . 150 volumes.

Bearb. unter d. Leitung von Peter Geils u. Willi Gorzny. München: Saur, 1979-1987. 160 volumes.

Leipzig: Duncker & Humblot, 1875-1912. 56 volumes. Online access to ADB through Deutsche Biographie (Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, 2005- .)

Wikisource. San Francisco: Wikimedia Foundation.
Extensive listing of German-language biographical reference sources that have been digitized and made freely available online.

Herausgegeben von der Historischen Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek.
Searchable database for Allgemeine deutsche biographie (ADB) and Neue deutsche Biographie (NDB). "Certified information on more than 730.000 personalities and families in the German speaking areas from the Middle Ages to the present; namely 50.000 biographies (ADB and NDB) and links to more than 230 online resources (literature, dictionaries, source editions etc.).""[database home page]

Herausgegeben von Walther Killy; München, New Providence: K.G. Saur, 1995-2000. 12 volumes in 14.
Das in Umfang und Abgeschlossenheit einzigartige historisch-biographische Nachschlagewerk enthält biographische Artikel und Einzelporträts von 60.000 Personen, aus der Zeit Karls des Großen bis zum Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts. Sie alle haben in ihrer Zeit und darüber hinaus die Geschichte Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz geprägt und beeinflußt, ob sie nun in der Öffentlichkeit, in der Politik, Wirtschaft, Kunst, Kultur oder Wissenschaft gewirkt haben. Das Lesen in ihren Lebensläufen vermittelt den Zugang zur Geschichte, durch die Menschen, die Geschichte machten. English translation available at Olin Reference CT 759 .D48 2001

Herausgegeben von Willi Gorzny. [München; New York]: K.G. Saur, 1990?-1993.
Index to the microfiche set: Deutscher biographischer Index. 8 volumes. (Olin Library Reference CT 1053 .D48)
A cumulation of 284 biographical lexica, published up to and including the mid-20th century. Coverage of 19th century material has been increased following further research which brought to light a number of new 19th century sources. These have been included together with biographical sources published in the 20th century. The end of World War II was chosen as a cut-off point for this project; some titles from the 1950's and 1960's, however, which were considered valuable in helping to form a picture of the social, cultural and academic regeneration of Germany have also been included. [Saur]

K. G. Saur.
1925 through 1992: Library Annex Z 2230 .K952.
2001 to date: Uris Library Stacks Z 2230 .K959 2001.
Latest volume shelved in Olin Library Reference.
1996 to date is available online.
German-language biographical and bibliographical encyclopedia of more than 75,000 scientists and scholars from the German-speaking part of Europe. Entries comprise relevant biographical data, addresses, details on fields of research and work, as well as a selected bibliography.

Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 1953-2017. 27 volumes to date.
Online access to NDB in Deutsche Biographie: Elektronische Allgemeine deutsche Biographie.
Successor to the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (ADB) (above), the NDB covers over 21,800 individuals and families so far who lived in the German language area.

Statistisches Bundesamt, Herausgeber. Stuttgart : Metzler-Poeschel, 1992- . Annual.
Latest volume shelved at Olin Reference. Older volumes housed in the Library Annex (1992-2002).
Es bietet in 26 Kapiteln ausführliche Informationen zu demographischen, ökonomischen, sozialen und kulturellen Gegebenheiten und Entwicklungen in Deutschland. Über die Entwicklung der Bevölkerung wird ebenso berichtet, wie über die Lage der Wirtschaft, des Arbeitsmarktes, über Löhne und Preise sowie die Staatsfinanzen. Angaben zum Bildungs- und Gesundheitswesen, über kulturelle Einrichtungen und Freizeit sowie Trends bei den Sozialleistungen und im Umweltbereich vervollständigen das Bild.

New York: Routledge, 1999.
A one-volume reference source for people, events, topics, and things related to post-1945 German culture (society, politics, the arts, etc.), both canonical and popular. Each entry notes suggestions for further reading, both in German and English. Indexed.

Edited by Holger Briel. London: Arnold
"From advertising and 'Bauhaus' to 'Volkshochschule' and World War II, this text gives an interdisciplinary overview of German culture and society, and is a route map to further study. Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains concise and accessible explanations of the essential issues, events and concepts in Germany, beginning in 1918 and including key words and figures. Covering history, politics, popular culture, private life, cultural institutions and social structures, the entries are fully cross-referenced and assume no prior knowledge." Quoted from amazon.uk

New York: Garland, 1998.
This two-volume work covers all aspects of German civilization from 1871 to 1990. There are biographical articles: "Marx," "Freud," as well as topics: "Philosophy," although the topical articles are somewhat brief. Signed articles are written by experts, who also provide some bibliography, much of it in English. The articles have many cross-references and the work is enhanced by a thorough index. Good for background on late 19th and 20th century Germany.

A portal to fourteen German-language dictionaries published by Duden [Duden Sprachwissen], both specialized and general.

Comprehensive, searchable bilingual dictionary of German. Also includes comprehensive bilinguals for French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Arabic, and Chinese.

2nd edition.
New York: Oxford University Press.
Subject-arranged dictionary that correlates illustrations of objects with the German and English terms by which they are known.

DAAD/Monatshefte. Madison, WI: German Studies Information; New York: German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD).
Contains listings and contact information for German Studies departments, programs, and faculties in the United States and Canada. Issued by Monatshefte and Max Kade Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison.