German Studies: A Research Guide: German Literature

2 volumes. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000.
Online (ProQuest ebook) and print: Olin Library Reference PT 41 .E53x 2000.
Authors make up the majority of the more than 500 entries, and important writers in the history of German literature from Goethe to Hesse are treated. Inclusion has been extended to contemporary writers such as Aysel Ozakin and Yoko Tawada. Author entries conclude with bibliographies of works by the author, including English translations, as well as secondary scholarship. One or more additional articles follow many author entries, treating specific literary works by that author. Includes bibliographical references and index.

Westport, CT: Greenwood, 1997.
Olin Library Reference PT 41 .F46x 1997
"In entries for more than 500 topics, the volume surveys literary periods, epochs, and genres; critical approaches and theories; important authors and works; female stereotypes; laws and historical developments; literary concepts and themes; and organizations and archives relevant to women and women's studies. Each entry offers a concise identification of the term, a discussion of its significance, and a bibliography of works for further reading." - amazon.com

Now bundled with the PASCAL database, the site offers free access to a searchable archive of two databases, FRANCIS (1972-2015) and PASCAL (1984-2015). FRANCIS covers a wide range of multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities (67%), social sciences (30%), and economics (3%). FRANCIS is strong in French studies, religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature.

New York: Modern Language Association, 1963 - .
An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

3rd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 1997.
Available online.
Also available in print: Olin Library Reference PT 41 .G23 1997.
Designed to be a reliable source of information on the whole sweep of literature from German-speaking countries from the eighth century onwards, the Companion now encompasses the mid-1990s. The entries, arranged in a single alphabetical sequence, cover authors and their major works, as well as historical, intellectual, and cultural backgrounds. The Companion's historical coverage and depth of information--on subjects as various as Kafka and Kleist, Werther and Christa Wolf, Nietzsche and the Nibelungenlied, Jung and Jelinek, Rilke and Die Reformation--makes it a useful reference book for everyone with an interest in the literature and literary culture of the German-speaking world.

Print: Library Annex Z 2231 .B58, Bd. 1-39 (1945/1953-1999). Uris Library Stacks Z 2231 .B58, Bd. 40 (2000) to date.
Available online.
"Searchable index to German bibliography since 1985." -- Summary in catalog record.

Frenzel, Herbert A. München: DTV, 1991. 2 volumes. Contents: Bd. 1. Von den Anfängen bis zum Jungen Deutschland -- Bd. 2. Vom Realismus bis zur Gegenwart. Der erste Band beginnt mit dem frühen Mittelalter von 750 bis 1170, läuft weiter über das hohe und späte Mittelalter, die Renaissance von 1470 bis 1600, auch Barock, Aufklärung, Empfindsamkeit, natürlich Sturm und Drang, die Klassik und Romantik, schließlich Biedermaier und Vormärz. Der Realismus ab 1850 leitet den zweiten Band ein, den man gleich zusammen mit dem ersten Band anschaffen sollte. Zu jeder Epoche gibt Frenzel einen historischen Überblick mit wesentlichen Ereignissen auf politischer und geisteswissenschaftlicher Ebene, den Zusammenhang zu zentralen Werken, Vorbildern und ausländischen Einflüssen. Epoche eine Chronologie aller bedeutenden Werke mit Angaben zu Autor, Titel, Inhalt und Bedeutung. [amazon.de]

Available online as part of Verfasser-Datenbank.
First edition: 5 volumes. Berlin: W. de Gruyter, 1933-55. (Library Annex Z 2230 .S78 1933)
2nd edition (Library Annex Z 2230 .S78 1977): 14 volumes--volumes 12-14 are indexes--plus 3 supplement volumes. 1977- .
Deutscher Humanismus, 1480-1520 is included as supplements 1 and 2 to the 2nd edition.

Ann Arbor, MI: ProQuest.
Full-text electronic version "covers almost 500 years of German lyric poetry and includes the work of over 500 authors from the 15th to the 20th century. Die Deutsche Lyrik in Reclams Universal-Bibliothek is published with the co-operation and support of Philipp Reclam jun., Stuttgart and covers all volumes of German poetry published within Reclams Universalbibliothek since 1945." [English version of home page].

Available online as part of Verfasser-Datenbank; Print: Included as a two-volume supplement to Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, 2nd edition. (Olin Library Reference Z 2230 .S78 1977)

Bern: K.G. Saur, 2000- .
26 volumes.
Print: Library Annex Z 2230 .K86 2000.
A major bio-bibliographical dictionary of German writers. The 1966 edition, Deutsches Literatur-Lexikon Biograph.-bibliograph Handbuch (Library Annex Z 2230 .K86 1966) is completed (36 volumes).

3 volumes so far.
Berlin: De Gruyter, 2011- .
In progress. Volume 1: Aal, Johannes to Chytraeus, Nathan. Volume 2: Clajus, Johannes to Gigas, Johannes. Volume 3: Glarean, Heinrich to Krüger, Bartholomäus..

Munich: K.G. Saur, 2002.
3 volumes.
Biographies of Jews and Jewish authors in Austria.

Mütnchen: Kindler, [1996?], 1988.
21 volumes.
Available online.
Print: Library Annex PN 44 .K51 1996
Originally published as Kindlers Literatur Lexikon. Online title: Kindlers Literatur Lexikon Online. Das große, als Standardwerk anerkannte Literaturlexikon liegt jetzt als broschierte Studienausgabe vor - ein unerschöpfliches Nachschlagewerk fütr den Literaturfreund und -kenner.

Munich: Edition Text + Kritik, 1978- .
Available online.
Print: 13 volumes plus 136 supplements (Olin Library Stacks PT 155 .K92)
"Das KLG bietet detaillerte Informationen zu derzeit etwa 750 Schriftstellerinnen und Schriftstellern der deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur.
In ausführlichen Essays werden die einzelnen Werke der Autorinnen und Autoren sowie Werkzusammenhänge und poetologische Grundlagen eingehend analysiert." [Homepage]

München : Bertelsmann Lexikon Verlag, 1988-1993. 15 volumes.
Print: Library Annex PT 41. L77.
Also available online as part of Verfasser-Datenbank
"Walter Killys Literaturlexikon ist wohl inzwischen zu einem Standardwerk der germanistischen Nachschlagewerke geworden. In wissenschaftlich fundierten Artikeln, die teilweise, etwa Über Goethe, schon Aufsätzen gleichen, werden Biographien deutscher Schriftsteller und Schriftstellerinnen genauso behandelt wie ihre größten Werke. Zudem gibt es einen literaturgeschichtlichen Überblick, der alleine schon den Erwerb des Lexikons lohnen würde." [amazon.de]

Stuttgart: J.B. Metzler, 1994.
2nd edition.
Print: Olin Library Stacks PT 155 .M59 1994.
Das "Metzler Autoren Lexikon" umfaßt 440 Artikel über deutschsprachige Autorinnen und Autoren der Literaturgeschichte und der Gegenwartsliteratur - begeisternd erzählt, sachlich dargestellt - eine kompetente Fundgrube für alle Literaturliebhaber - jetzt als ungekürzte Sonderausgabe nach der zweiten, wesentlich erweiterten Auflage. Das "Metzler Autoren Lexikon", in der zweiten Auflage mit 440 Artikeln, hat sich längst den Rang eines studienbegleitenden Standardwerks erobert. Für seinen Wert spricht, daß die vorhandenen Literaturgeschichten nur punktuell auf den Zusammenhang von Leben, Werk und Wirkung einer Autorenbiographie eingehen. Das "Metzler Autoren Lexikon," an dem nahezu 150 Fachwissenschaftler mitgearbeitet haben, soll das Verstehen von Literatur durch die Beschreibung dieses Regelkreises bereichern und vertiefen. Es hebt sich von den vorhandenen Nachschlagewerken zu biographischen und werkgeschichtlichen Aspekten der deutschen Literatur durch die Lebendigkeit und Eindringlichkeit der Darstellung und die Konzentration auf die wesentlichen Autoren in Geschichte und Gegenwart ab. Die Artikel sind angemessen breit angelegt und enthalten die Daten und Fakten, die einen weitergehenden Eindruck der Autorenpersönlichkeit vermitteln. Die Nennung wichtiger, allgemein zugänglicher Sekundärliteratur vervollständigt den Überblick." [amazon.de]

Berlin: New York: De Gruyter, 1997- [3., neubearb. Aufl.]
Print: Olin Library Stacks PT 41 .R28 1997.
Das Reallexikon der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft (RLW) ist ein Begriffswörterbuch, das eine umfassende und systematische Bestandsaufnahme des literaturwissenschaftlichen Sprachgebrauchs bietet. Sein eigentliches Ziel ist die Klärung und Präzisierung des wissenschaftlichen Sprachgebrauchs. Daher unterscheidet es im Gegensatz zu anderen Lexika deutlich zwischen Wort-, Begriffs-, Sach- und Forschungsinformation. Es führt in mehr als 900 Artikeln in die Begriffswelt der deutschen Literaturwissenschaft ein. Das klar gegliederte Artikelschema ist eine Innovation: Es führt von einer ersten knappen Definition durch Wort-, Begriffs-, Sach- und Forschungsgeschichte bis zur weiterführenden Literatur.(De Gruyter)

[Database of authors: writers of German-language literature and the German-speaking world from the beginning to the present day.] Walter de Gruyter.
Online only
The Verfasser-Datenbank (Database of Authors) enables cross searching of the standard reference works Die deutsche Literatur des Mittelalters, Deutscher Humanismus 1480-1520, Frühe Neuzeit in Deutschland 1520-1620 and the Killy-Literaturlexikon together online. [Adapted from "Aims and Scope" on the database home page]

Dühmert, Anneliese. 1. Aufl. Berlin, Haude u. Spener (1969).
Print: Olin Library Stacks PT 1158 .D87