Research in the time of COVID-19
Check our COVID-19 update page to see which of our services are available. Modify your research approach during this time of limited access to print materials to focus on using our extensive online resources.
Africana, Latin American, and Ethnic/Alternative News Sources
News aggregators are online databases that bring together searching and access to multiple news providers. In most cases, they provide immediate access to the full text of the news sources. In some cases, they collect and point to or index the full-text sources maintained by individual newspapers, news publishers, and news sources, including television and radio. A few sources (e.g., CRL, ICON) point to extensive microform holdings.
Each entry contains the following information: database title; database link; whether the library has a subscription (available to Cornell users only); and a brief description including the time period covered, the format of the content, and languages (no entry = English).
Refer to the News Databases library guide for a complete list of online news sources.
- ABYZ News LinksA collection of links to news sites worldwide. Coverage: Current issues and some archives; see individual sources. Includes some streaming video and audio; television, radio, and online news sources. Many languages.
- Access World NewsSubscription database funded by the Library.
(Called America's Newspapers before 2005.) Coverage from roughly the mid-1980s on. Most sources are current. Over 2,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles. Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. English and Spanish.
- Accessible ArchivesSubscription database funded by the Library.
Includes African-American Newspapers (9 titles), Civil War Newspapers (3 titles), and the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800). Plain text.
- AltPressIndexBaltimore: Alternative Press Center. Covers 1991 to date.
Subscription database funded by the Library.
- Alt-PressWatchSubscription database funded by the Library.
Coverage mainly mid-1990s to date; a few titles covered back to the 1970s. Plain text.
- America's Historical NewspapersSubscription database funded by the Library.
Contains African American Newspapers Series 1 (1827-1998) and Early American Newspapers Series 1, 2, 3, and 6 (1690-1922). Plain text and some images.
- Black Studies Center: NewspapersSubscription database funded by the Library.
Includes the Daily Defender [Chicago] (1956-1975) in addition to the Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002) available in ProQuest Historical Newspapers . PDFs scanned from microfilm. English.
- Center for Research Libraries CatalogYou can limit by Newspapers. More information about CRL's newspaper holdings available on the Center for Research Libraries website. See also the entries for ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers and World Newspaper Archive.
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersNEH, Library of Congress, and the National Digital Newspaper Project.
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1920. Newspaper titles sortable by "Ethnicity." For instance, there are 66 African-American newspapers in this collection.
PDFs. Site also has a searchable bibliography of US newspapers published between 1690 and the present. English.
- Ethnic NewsWatchSubscription database funded by the Library.
Covers 1960 to date in two cross-searchable files. Plain text and PDF. Sources in English and Spanish.
- ICON: International Coalition on NewspapersMassive catalog on newspapers worldwide. Bibliographic information only. Lists international newspapers preserved on microfilm, online, or in print. Titles are available from CRL via ILL.
- Latin American NewsstreamSubscription database funded by the Library.
About 90 newspaper titles.
Coverage: Mostly mid 2000s to date, some late 1990s. Plain text. In Spanish.
- Mideastwire.comSubscription database funded by the Library.
Covers September 2005 to date. Selected articles from news sources and newsletters. Arabic and Farsi originals. English translations.
- ProQuest Historical NewspapersSubscription database funded by the Library.
Includes searchable full text of three African-American newspapers: Chicago Defender (1909-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). PDFs scanned from microfilm. English. Advertising content is searchable.
- World Newspaper ArchiveAvailable to Center for Research Library member institutions (Cornell is a member).
Three modules are available: Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Coverage: around 1800 to 1922. Full text searchable PDFs. An important new source of primary news sources from these areas.
- World Politics ReviewSubscription database funded by the Library.
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.
Digest News Sources, print and online:
- Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial, and Technical SeriesCall Number: Olin Library DT 1 .A2364 +Oxford: Blackwell.
Online, 1997- ;
Online only after 2006
- Africa Research Bulletin: Political, Social, and Cultural SeriesCall Number: Olin Library DT 1 .A2365 +Oxford: Blackwell.
Online, 1997- ;
Online only after 2006
- African Chronicle: A Fortnightly Record on Governance, Economy, Development, Human Rights, and EnvironmentNew Delhi: C.P. Chacko on behalf of Asian News Chroniclers.
2000 to 2009.
(Previous title: African Recorder, 1962-1995, incomplete)
African Chronicle: Shelved in Africana Library Reference DT 1 .A2281
African Recorder: Shelved in Olin Library + DT 1 .A2513
Bibliographies of African newspapers:
- African Newspapers in the Library of Congress.Call Number: Library Annex Z 6959 .Z9 L69 1984Washington: Library of Congress, 1984.
Cornell University Library
Reference & Anglo-American News