Articles & Encyclopedia Entries
- Riley, Donna. “Refuse, Refute, Resist: Alt-Right Attacks on Engineering and STEM Education Diversity Scholarship”. Via ASEE
- Steven B. Katz. (1992). The Ethic of Expediency: Classical Rhetoric, Technology, and the Holocaust. College English, 54(3), 255.
- Ward, M. (2009). The Banality of Rhetoric? Assessing Steven Katz’s the Ethic of Expediency against Current Scholarship on the Holocaust. Journal of Technical Writing and Communication, 39(2), 207–222.
- “Scientific Objectivity” from Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Valentino-DeVries, Jennifer. "Hundreds of Apps Can Empower Stalkers to Track Their Victims." New York Times, May 19, 2018.
- Technical Communication after the Social Justice Turn byISBN: 9780429198748Publication Date: 2019-05-16
- Race after Technology byISBN: 9781509526437Publication Date: 2019-07-09
- Pedagogy of the Oppressed byISBN: 9781501305313
- Engineering Justice byISBN: 9781118757314Publication Date: 2017-11-17
Selected Databases & Resources in Engineering
These are databases that index peer-reviewed journals, technical reports and conference proceedings in science and technology. Each one has a different focus.
For a complete list of databases, see our Databases listing on the Engineering Library homepage.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
- Knovel (& Knovel Data Search)Knovel is a collection of handbooks and other reference works in engineering. Knovel allows you to search across all of the e-books in their collection, searching down to the level of the individual text section. Knovel also enables you to specifically search for all tables containing values for a given physical compound.
- IEEE XploreProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards; brings additional search and access features to IEEE/IEE electronic library users.
- PubmedTop medical database by the National Library of Medicine.
- Engineering Village 2Journal articles and conference proceedings covering engineering. Includes many links to full-text articles.