Election Statistics (results, campaign donations, voting studies)
- The African American Electorate: A statistical historyFrom 1789 - 2008. Scroll to the end of each chapter to find the downloadable tables.
- ANES (American National Election Survey), Guide to Public Opinion and Electoral BehaviorThe Guide provides immediate access to tables and graphs that display the ebb and flow of public opinion, electoral behavior, and choice in American politics over time. It serves as a resource for political observers, policy makers, and journalists, teachers, students, and social scientists.
Tables compiled from the ANES datasets, cumulative file. - Elections: Data and analysis for current and past races with women candidates, by election year.From Rutgers, Center for American Women in Politics. back to 1990.
- Federal Election Commission - Campaign Finance Reports and DataCandidate and PAC/Party Summaries, Individual Search, Committee Search, Candidate Search, and the Disclosure Data Catalog.
- National Institute on Money in State PoliticsContributions to candidates, 2000 - . (Appelate Court, 2007 - .),
Contributions to Political Parties, 2000 - .,
Contributions to Ballot Measures Committees, 2003 - .,
Contributions to selected local races, ~ 2006 (dates vary)-, and more. - OpenSecrets.orgOffers several searchable databases of campaign contributions at the federal and state levels, by candidate and donor. Also includes databases for PACs, lobbyists, and Congressional committees, as well as the CRP newsletter and catalog of publications. Print editions, back to 1990, available in the Olin Stacks, JK 1991.M23
- Voting America: United States Politics, 1840 - 2008Map visualizations examining long-term patterns in presidential election politics in the United States from the 1840s to today as well as some patterns in recent congressional election politics. About
Datasets
- American National Election StudiesSurveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation. Web-based analysis of survey data is available via the Berkeley SDA (Survey Documentation and Analysis).
- Center for Congressional and Presidential StudiesAs part of the Improving Campaign Conduct project, the Center's scholars collected election data on the election results, from the 2000 election, from every state, broken down by precinct and county.
See: 2000 Election Data By State - Cooperative Congressional Election Survey"Begun in 2006, the Cooperative Congressional Election Study, or CCES, seeks to study how Americans view Congress and hold their representatives accountable during elections, how they voted and their electoral experiences, and how their behavior and experiences vary with political geography and social context" [Codebook introduction]
2016 and 2018 are available for online analysis from the Berkeley Survey Documentation Archive (SDA). - Dave Leip's Election DatasetsCompiled from official sources.
- MIT Election Lab"a clearinghouse for data sets that can fuel studies on elections and how they're conducted. Find election data and research tools produced by us and others."
- Record of American Democracy (Road)"Our Record Of American Democracy (ROAD) data include election returns, socioeconomic summaries, and demographic measures of the American public at unusually low levels of geographic aggregation. The NSF-supported ROAD project covers every state in the country from 1984 through 1990 (including some off-year elections)"
Print Sources
Presidential Elections, 1789-2000 by Publication Date: 2002Print title.
Offers background essays on the evolution of the electoral process and includes basic election statistics for each presidential election through 2000. A separate section covers electoral votes, including electoral maps and vote charts for each election.
United States Gubernatorial Elections: Official Results by State and County by Multiple print editions, covering elections in 1776 through 1952.
United States Presidential Elections, 1788-1860 by Publication Date: 2002Print title.
Complete returns for the presidential elections by state and county for the period 1788 to 1860.
United States Congressional Elections, 1788-1997 by Publication Date: 1998Print title.
Results of the popular vote elections to the United States Congress from the First Congress in 1788/89 through 1997. Includes sections on Runoff Elections. Special Elections, and Incomplete Returns for each Congress.
-- Notes "... to explain causes of vacancies and, primarily during the civil war era, unique electoral circumstances: counties or towns whose tallies were rejected, returns reported too late or missing, votes cast for candidate under different spellings, members elected to one Congress but not seated until the following Congress, or in some instances members who were elected after Congress had adjourned and who therefore never served." Detailed source notes are also included for each Congress.
