- What Color is Your Parachute: A Practical Manual for Job-Hunters and Career ChangersBolles, Richard Nelson. Berkeley: Ten Speed Press, 1970- .
2020 edition available online.
The latest volume is shelved in Olin Reference HF 5383 .B693.
Previous editions shelved in the Olin Stacks HF 5383 .B693.
An annual publication which provides up-to-date information on the job market and how to break into it. Useful also for getting ideas about various careers and what they're all about. Packed with useful information, tables, charts, tests, and bibliographies.
- Occupational Outlook HandbookU.S. Department of Labor. Washington: Bureau of Labor Statistics, 1957- . Annual.
Previous print editions from the 1949 to 2019/2020 are shelved in the Olin Stacks at HF 5381.U58 O1.
The Handbook describes in detail about hundreds of occupations giving information about what education and training are required, earnings, job outlook, the nature of work, etc. Photographs, tables, statistical charts and an index enhance the value of this publication. updated every year.
- Encyclopedia of Career DevelopmentCall Number: ILR Library Reference HF 5381 .E517 2006Edited by Jeffrey H. Greenhaus, Gerard A. Callanan. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, 2006.
With an online browseable index, an article title list, and a reader's guide to the major subjects covered, this is now the premier academic encyclopedia on careers and career choice. Bibliographies ("Further Reading") available for many articles.
- The Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational GuidanceCall Number: Olin Stacks Oversize HF 5381 .E52 2011 +15th edition. 5 volumes.
New York: Fergusons, 2011.
Volume 1 has an overview of 94 major industries. Volumes 2 to 5 cover specific jobs within those industries from managerial, administrative and professional to clerical, support, and emerging technician occupations. A good source to use for overviews of the major industries.
- How To Prepare Your Curriculum VitaeCall Number: Olin Library Stacks HF 5383 .J24x 2003Jackson, Acy L. Chicago: VGM Careers, 2003. Revised edition.
Online version (PDF).
"How To Prepare Your Curriculum Vitae provides an in-depth explanation of the components of the curriculum vitae as well as step-by-step instructions for condensing your career into a concise biographical sketch that underscores your assets."