Welcome!
This page contains a list of resources that may be of particular interest to Economics graduate students.
Services at Cornell for Data Sharing and Archiving
- Data Sharing Best PracticesThe RDSMG's guide to best practices for data publication - "strategies by which an investigator might make their data available to a broader audience."
- Data Sharing ServicesThe Cornell Data Services's list of Cornell data sharing services for Cornell researchers.
- Electronic Lab NotebookNeed to keep your lab group organized and share materials? Try LabArchives! "LabArchives is an electronic lab notebook used to store, organize, share, and publish laboratory data. It can be used for research and teaching."
Data Management, Analysis, and Visualization Tools
There are a number of software programs (Excel, Matlab, SPSS, SAS, Stata, Minitab, JMP, etc) that are available through Cornell Software Licensing, CISER, the Cornell Statistical Consulting Unit, and the Cornell Store, amongst other areas, often including your department.
- Resources for Data AnalysisNorthwestern University has a great guide on resources and tutorials for using various statistical packages for data analysis, including Excel, Stata, SPSS, SAS, R, Matlab, ArcGIS, NVivo, and SSCC.
- Getting Started in Data AnalysisPrinceton University Library's Data & Statistical Services department has excellent tutorials on statistics in general as well as specific software like Excel, R, Stata, and others. Also see http://www.princeton.edu/~otorres/Excel/ for Excel (and Stata or R) online training.
- Exchange (copy, import, export) data between Excel and AccessMoving data from Excel to Access or vice versa? Microsoft Office's help page show you the various ways you can do this.
- SQLShareNot sure how well this works but intriguing. "SQLShare is a database service aimed at removing the obstacles to using relational databases: installation, configuration, schema design, tuning, data ingest, and even application design. You simply upload your data and immediately start querying it."
- The R Project for Statistical Computing"R is a free software environment for statistical computing and graphics. It compiles and runs on a wide variety of UNIX platforms, Windows and MacOS." Includes download links, FAQs, manuals, etc. CISER offers an introductory workshop.
- GIS @ Mann LIbraryTutorials, software, hardware, data sources, and help available at Mann for geographic information systems (GIS).
- Atlas.tiSoftware for qualitative data analysis. CISER has it on its research nodes and offers workshops (see http://www.ciser.cornell.edu/workshops/workshop_downloads.shtml for downloadable training modules)
Spreadsheet and Database Tools
- Data Integration: KarmaKarma is an information integration tool that enables users to quickly and easily integrate data from a variety of data sources including databases, spreadsheets, delimited text files, XML, JSON, KML and Web APIs.
- DataOne Software Tools CatalogSearch for a variety of useful data tools through DataOne's software catalog
- FilemakerBASIC: Licenses for Filemaker for Mac can be renewed (if your department has already licensed it) through Cornell's software licensing. If you need a new license, you can buy a copy through the Cornell Store (https://store.cornell.edu/c-569-other.aspx)
- Microsoft Excel and AccessBASIC: Microsoft Excel and Access are available for Windows computers through Cornell's software licensing program.
- MySQL (free, open source Community version)ADVANCED: MySQL is a popular relational database management system.
- MySQL WorkbenchADVANCED: App for database design & modeling, SQL development and database administration. Works on Windows, Mac & Linux. Requires that you work with MySQL databases.
- National Park Service's Inventory & Management Natural Resource Database TemplateEXAMPLE: Want to see Access in action in the real world? "The National Park Service Inventory and Monitoring (I&M) Program's Natural Resource Database Template (NRDT) is a set of Microsoft Access relational database tables that parks and networks can use to develop applications for capturing natural resource inventory and monitoring data."
- Open OfficeBASIC: Open Office is a free, open source suite of applications (including a spreadsheet app, Calc, and a desktop database app, Base) for Windows, Linux & Mac.
- OpenRefineINTERMEDIATE - ADVANCED: OpenRefine (formerly Google Refine) is a "powerful tool for working with messy data, cleaning it, transforming it from one format into another, extending it with web services, and more."
- SequelProADVANCED: SequelPro is a free, open source app for MySQL database management for Macs. Requires that you work with MySQL databases.
Need Data Help? Cornell Data Services Is Here!
The Cornell Data Services is a cross-disciplinary organization that links Cornell University faculty, staff and students with data management services and best practices to meet their research needs. Ways we can help include:
- creation and implementation of data management plans
- understanding funder requirements and data sharing
- data organization and collaboration tools
Email us for assistance with your data management questions!
DMP (Data Management Plan) Tool
"The DMPTool is a collaboration of multiple institutions, including DataONE. The DMPTool will help you:
- Create ready-to-use data management plans for specific funding agencies
- Meet funder requirements for data management plans
- Get step-by-step instructions and guidance for your data management plan as you build it
- Learn about resources and services available at your institution to help fulfill the data management requirements of your grant"
Spreadsheet and Database Training
- Data CarpentryData Carpentry develops and teaches workshops on the fundamental data skills needed to conduct research. Lessons are available for self-guided learning as well.
- Software CarpentrySoftware Carpentry is a site designed to teach graduate researchers basic computing skills. Under the Lessons, section you'll find tutorials on working with spreadsheets, databases using SQL (Structured Query Language) and Access.
- Lynda.comRECOMMENDED: Cornell now has a subscription to this online, self-paced video training site, which has modules on Excel, Access, and many other software tools.
- SkillSoft Online TrainingAll current Cornell students, faculty & staff are eligible for access to SkillSoft online training, which includes modules on Microsoft Office products like Excel and Access and books on Filemaker and MySQL. Request a login at skillsoft@cornell.edu (or call 254-6400; Learning Management) and login at https://cornell.skillport.com/
- CIT TrainingCIT Training offers links to free Microsoft Office tutorials and fee-based workshops, including training on Excel and Access.
