Economics: Government and Associations

Contains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms.

Searchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.

Here you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.

Large academic association devoted to economics. Publishes many journals and other tools.

EPI is a is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank "that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy". Their web site features briefings, data and reports on economic issues such as minimum wage, trade policies, employment trends.

Promotes teaching and research in economic history.

NBER Working Papers are a prime source for economic research. Some free access to the working papersfrom the web site. Cornell researchers should have free access. Site also provides search engine and book catalog.

IZA is an independent economic research institute that conducts research in labor economics and offers evidence-based policy advice on labor market issues.

Founded in 1995, the Society of Labor Economists (SOLE) seeks to promote the study of labor economics and to make more significant the contribution of labor economics and labor economists.

The Congressional Budget Office is a small nonpartisan agency that produces policy analyses, cost estimates of legislation, and budget and economic projections that serve as a basis for the Congress's decisions about spending and taxes.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports provide Congress with both anticipatory and on-demand research and analysis to support their legislative, oversight, and representational duties. All reports adhere to the core values of CRS; they are authoritative, objective and nonpartisan. Reports range in length from several pages to more than one-hundred pages and cover the full breadth of topics of interest to Congress. This collection provides the public with access to recent research products produced by the CRS. CRS reports are timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis for committees and Members of both the House and Senate, regardless of political party affiliation.

The U.S. Congressional Research Service (CRS) is where Members of Congress turn for confidential, nonpartisan research and analysis on a range of issues. A number of libraries and non-profit organizations have sought to collect as many of the released reports as possible. UNT's collection is a centralized utility that brings together these collections to search.

Policy institute for migration and refuge issues, U.S. and international.

An excellent source for finding current state legislation as well as analyses of top issues.

Public Agenda provides unbiased research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life.

A well-organized guide to state, regional, county, municipal, town, borough, and village government web sites. (The city guides are the product of the sponsoring company.)

This nonprofit, independent web site is a resource for journalists, students, researchers and citizens interested in state-level policy issues. The site publishes state-related news on elections, crime, economy, health care, technology, taxes & budget, energy, politics and the environment daily (except for holidays). Additional reference materials includes an annual State of the States report.

A "nonpartisan economic and social policy research organization" since 1968, the Urban Institute uses its web site to disseminate research briefs and reports on policy issues, including health care, housing, welfare, work & income, economy & taxes, crime & justice. The Policy Jargon Decoder is a useful glossary of public policy terms.

MDRC is a nonprofit, nonpartisan education and social policy research organization based in New York City and Oakland, CA.

Mathematica is a nonpartisan research organization that conducts policy research, data collection, and data analytics, and publishes reports and articles on employment topics.

The database is a clearinghouse of workforce development research, developed by the U.S. Dept. of Labor's Employment and Training Administration (ETA). Indexed research represents a range of potential strategies that are informed by research evidence or peer expertise.

The Council of Economic Advisers, an agency within the Executive Office of the President, is charged with offering the President objective economic advice on the formulation of both domestic and international economic policy. The Council bases its recommendations and analysis on economic research and empirical evidence, using the best data available to support the President in setting our nation's economic policy.

The Employment and Training Administration (ETA) administers federal government job training and worker dislocation programs, federal grants to states for public employment service programs, and unemployment insurance benefits. These services are primarily provided through state and local workforce development systems.

The Federal Reserve System is the central bank of the United States. It was founded by Congress in 1913 to provide the nation with a safer, more flexible, and more stable monetary and financial system. Over the years, its role in banking and the economy has expanded.

This BLS survey provides a measure of output correlated to labor resources. Information for over 500 industries is available at this site. See also the related BLS survey, "Multifactor Productivity."

The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making.

The Census Bureau serves as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy.