Library Stack
LibraryStack is a database; "a living collection of independent ebooks, audio files, videos and digital documents being published within the fields of contemporary art, design, media studies, cinema, architecture and philosophy."
Other sources of specialized information
Articles
Use the databases that cover academic sources listed on the "Articles" page, such as ArtBibliographies Modern, Art & Architecture Source, and International Bibliography of Art.
When you might need newspapers
If your topic is a contemporary artist or an art movement for which you're not finding much information in the academic sources, then you might need to look for information in historic news sources. First, try art news sources, such as:
Art index retrospective Art Index Retrospective (which is an academic source!) provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism of nearly 600 noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984.
Then, try broader news sources, such as:
ProQuest Historical News collection, which includes the historical NY Times, NY/Herald Tribune, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, etc.
Ephemera
-
Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera
A growing collection! The bulk of the materials currently found in Princeton's Digital Archive were originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere. -
See for example:Ephemera from the collection about artists
Books
-
Visual Disobedience
by
Call Number: Mui Ho Fine Arts Library N6560.2 .C67 2024ISBN: 9781478030546Publication Date: 2024-10-18 -
The Archive
by
Call Number: Mui Ho Fine Arts Library CD971 .A715 2006ISBN: 0262633388Publication Date: 2006-12-06 -
Activism
by
Call Number: Olin Library NX180.P64 A188 2023ISBN: 9780262546560Publication Date: 2023-10-24
