Search for Citations
Browse the list of specialized indexes in the Art and Architecture section of the Databases search.
Or click on any of the titles below to launch individual databases. Due to licensing restrictions, access is restricted in most cases to Cornell University community members.
-
Art & Architecture SourceThis database covers a broad range of subjects from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. It features full-text articles as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books, podcasts and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch and is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
-
ARTbibliographies modernAbstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present. A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.
-
Humanities International IndexIndexes articles and books across the arts and humanities disciplines from a multitude of U.S. and international publications. HII also provides citations for original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations. Many links to full text.
-
MLA International BibliographyThe premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926. Includes books, articles in books, and journal articles. Does not index book reviews.
Finding Articles
Secondary Sources
Searching Articles and Databases
Select and search appropriate databases to discover useful articles
Search individual databases targeted to your subject topic. Databases have been curated and organized into subject area.
Database Categories
-
Historical AbstractsPublished since 1954, Historical Abstracts currently covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide in over forty languages. The database comprises over 720,000 entries from periodicals, with full-text links to over 135,000 articles and dissertations and masters' theses. Each year, the editors of Historical Abstracts add over 16,000 abstracts and citations, over 3,000 book citations, and over 1,200 citations of dissertations and masters' theses to the database from the current literature and publications. Additional bibliographical entries are also added to the database by editorial projects such as retrospective coverage of journal issues published prior to 1954.
-
Hapi OnlineHAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials from 1970 to the present.
Specialized databases
-
HLAS onlineThe online Handbook of Latin American Studies is a searchable, annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin American social sciences and humanities.
-
PASCAL FRANCISA searchable archive of two databases, FRANCIS (1972-2015) and PASCAL (1984-2015). FRANCIS covers 15 disciplines in human and social sciences with 2.6 million bibliographic references since 1972. PASCAL gathers 20 million bibliographic references in science, technology, and medicine. Emphasis on European academic journals.
Guide: Latin America & Caribbean
Article Databases & Indexes
Full-text Collections
JSTOR: the scholarly journal archive. A full-text collection containing the back issues of hundreds of scholarly journals. Most of the articles are at least five years old. Since it is searching the full text, be sure to use the Advanced Search function to narrow down results as much as possible. It is not uncommon to get search results of many thousands of hits in JSTOR.
Project MUSE: A full-text collection of recently published articles in the social sciences and humanities. Covers recent issues of many journals that may not appear in JSTOR.
ProQuest Dissertations
-
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text.
- You can search for titles and verify holdings of international dissertations at the Center for Research Libraries by using the CRL catalog. CRL seeks to provide comprehensive access to doctoral dissertations submitted to institutions outside the U. S. and Canada (currently more than 750,000 titles). One hundred European universities maintain exchange or deposit agreements with CRL.
- You can also search for Open Access foreign dissertations if you know the country of origin using the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations' list of international electronic thesis repositories.
See the CUL Guide to Finding Dissertations for more information.