Peer-Review Journals
Primary research is often published in a peer-reviewed journal. See this page for a description of popular vs. scholarly articles.
Databases
- Engineering Library
Engineering Library links to databases, including Database A-Z List, How to Videos (on finding research articles, materials properties, Passkey) plus services such as document delivery, books requests, room reservations. - Engineering Village
Best comprehensive engineering database. Search scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex. - Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Use for article searching, citations of articles (from 1996-), citation scores of authors, set up alerts, analyze data (i.e. journal rankings). - Web of Science
Web of Science searches major science journals across disciplines.Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others. Includes Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal citations reports, and Derwent Innovations (patents) databases.
- PubMed
PubMed is the premier database for medical literature. Publisher is National Library of Medicine. - Knovel
Knovel has thousands of technical e-books on many subjects. Materials Properties, ASM Handbooks may be searched here. - Proquest Theses
Guide to finding full-text theses from Cornell and North America.
Icebreaker Questions
1) Which citation management program do you use, if any? Why?
2) Have there been times when you couldn't find or organize the information you needed? Describe.
Email to jhp1@cornell.edu