Skip to main content

Dissertations & Theses in Engineering, Math, and Physical Sciences: Home

How and where to find dissertations and theses in engineering.

Finding Theses and Dissertations

Library Catalog: Cornell theses and dissertations can be located by searching by title or author. The library retains two print copies of all Cornell University dissertations. 

As of March 2009, access to e-versions of those theses with electrionic versions kept in eCommons@Cornell is available via the catalog. Records for the e-versions of new theses will appear in the local catalog and in WorldCat within a month of their deposit in eCommons.

Not all theses are available in electronic format. Participation in this program in voluntary and the documents submitted may not be open to public viewing.

Proquest Dissertations & Theses: Proquest Dissertations & Theses provides the full text of some theses and dissertations, with abstracts available from 1981 to the present and full text access increasing all the time. To limit your results to only Cornell University dissertations, you can search Dissertations & Theses @ Cornell University and the Weill Medical College.

See also Olin Library's Guide to Finding Dissertations

Theses & Dissertations from Other Institutions

Theses and Dissertations from Other Institutions

  • Proquest Dissertations & Theses: Proquest Dissertations & Theses provides full text of recent (from 1996 to the present) theses and dissertations, with abstracts available from 1981 to present
  • Dissertation Abstracts: Dissertation Abstracts is a subject, title and author guide to American dissertations from accredited institutions from 1861 through 1980. An increasing number of papers accepted abroad are also included.
  • Interlibrary Loan: The interlibrary loan department will help Cornell faculty, students and staff borrow theses and dissertations. 
  • NTIS (National Technical Information Service): Some U.S. dissertations are available as government reports if the research they report on was funded by the U.S. Government. The Engineering Library collects these reports, so the thesis may be available immediately in that form.

Jeremy Cusker, Engineering Library

Jeremy Cusker
Contact:
103B Carpenter Hall

Engineering Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14850

(607) 254-6261