Proposal Writing
Online Resources:
Proposal Writing (online tutorial) from the Foundation Directory
Budget Basics (online tutorial) from the Foundation Directory
Centered, the free newsletter of the Grantsmanship Center (otherwise a for-profit center)
Grant Proposal Dot Com (a collection of links)
Finding Books
BOOKS (examples)
Proposals that work : a guide for planning dissertations and grant proposals. Lawrence F. Locke, Waneen Wyrick Spirduso, Stephen J. Silverman. Edition: 4th ed. Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, c2000. (located in several libraries: Q180.55.P7 L63)
Developing effective research proposals. Keith F. Punch. London : SAGE, 2000. Olin H62 .P92x 2000
Grants : how to find out about them and what to do next. Virginia P. White. New York : Plenum Press, 1975. (several libraries AS911. A2 W58w)
Subject headings for books on the proposal-writing process
Proposal writing for grants.
Proposal writing for grants--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Proposal writing in research --Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Fund raising--Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Dissertations, Academic -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Research grants -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Fund raising -- Handbooks, manuals, etc.
Timeline in 4 Steps
- Find Grant
- Develop Bibliography
- Recruit references
- Write Proposal
Throughout the process:
Edit, edit, edit
Double check grant or fellowship guidelines
Proposal Components--8 Steps
1. Cover Letter
2. Abstract
3. Introduction
4. Statement of Need
5. Objectives
6. Procedures
7. Evaluation
8. Budget
[Source: Foundation Directory online]
Glossaries
Scholastic Funding Connection. Glossary of terms