Professional Organizations
If you are a member of a professional organization, chances are that it produces a list of fellowships and awards. Usually, you need your member number to login.
A few examples:
- AAAS Guide to R&D Funding Data
- American Society for Microbiology Fellowships
Professional organizations also usually sponsor fellowships (especially for research) and awards (especially for travel, including travel to their conferences).
Small Selection of Dissertation & Travel Grants
American Council of Learned Societies Fellowships (includes some opportunities for non-US citizens)
National Science Foundation (see right hand column-->)
Social Science Research Council
Ford Foundation Pre-doctoral Fellowships Program
National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowships
Grants Associated with Collections
Find an archival collection: Archive Finder
Find a government granting agency: Foundation Center's guide to government grants
Finding
GrantForward, A research-focused grants database originally the University of Illinois IRIS grant search servic
e. You can search by subject and also create a researcher profile to showcase your research and get grant recommendations.
WEBINAR (recorded): Setting up tailored funding searches using GrantForward
Foundation Directory Online Largest database of funding from private foundations and corporations. Some government funding as well. Not as easy to search for awards to individuals
Also in print: AS 911.A2 F77 (current edition in Olin Library Reference)
GRAPES (UCLA) database
Other online opportunities
Other Guides
New York University Libraries: Grants and Proposals. Excellent electronic guide to finding information about grants and the grant application process
Scientific Grants & Funding: compilation of funding sources you can search for research or training.
Other Funding Resources
American Association of University Women. http://www.aauw.org/tag/fellowships-and-grants/ (good source of information on opportunities for studying gender issues)
Federal Funding Agencies: http://www.osp.cornell.edu/GovtRelLinks/FedAgencies.html
National Institutes of Health.http://grants.nih.gov/grants/oer.htm
Examples of International Resources
Research councils UK office http://www.rcuk.ac.uk/pages/home.aspx
IREX - international research & exchanges boardprojects, including fellowships: http://www.irex.org/projects
ETSU’s International Student Scholarships
MIT’s Fellowships for International Students
Social Science Research Council’s Fellowships and Prizes
Mobility International USA’s Funding
International Scholarships for Students from Developing Countries
Grants.gov
Guide to funding from various U.S. government agencies, including
- NEH
- Institute of Peace
- NASA
- Department of Education
- National Science Foundation
NSF -dissertation improvement grants
The National Science Foundation supports graduate students!
The National Science Foundation supports DDIGS (Doctoral Dissertation Improvement Grants) in the following areas:
*note: all NSF dissertation proposals must go through Cornell's Office of Sponsored Funding
PassKey
Do you live off-campus?
Do you contemplate needing to use databases while traveling?
Are you having difficulty getting access to licensed library resources? (i.e. databases, e-books, your library account)?
If so, try using PassKey. PassKey is a "bookmarklet" designed to give Cornell community members access to licensed library resources while they are away from campus.