Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fashion and Beauty in the Time of Asia by
Contributors consider American influence on plastic surgery in Korea, Vietnamese debates about "the fashionable," and the costs and commitments demanded of those who make and wear fast fashion, from Chinese garment workers to Nepalese nail technicians in New York who are mandated to dress "fashionably." This anthology moves beyond common characterizations of Asians and the Asian diaspora as simply abject laborers or frenzied consumers, analyzing who the modern Asian subject is now: what they wear and how they work, move, eat, and shop, in cities around the world.
Call Number: HQ1220.A78 F36 2019
Publication Date: 2019 ( New York : New York University Press)
Images of the Modern Woman in Asia: Global Media, Local Meanings by
"In a world which is becoming seamless due to transnational media flows, theories of media and the construction of an identity of a "modern" woman are best developed through specific case studies of concrete phenomena. How do we define and interpret the feminine as understood in an Asian context?" Sample chapters: "Marvellous Me: the Beauty Industry and the Construction of the 'Modern ' Indian Woman;" "Mulan Ilustration? Ambiguous Women in Contemporary Chinese Cinema;" "Women and Pornography in kathmandu."
Call Number: HQ1220.A78 I53x 2001
Publication Date: 2001 ( Richmond : Curzon)
Rethinking Representations of Asian Women: Changes, Continuity, and Everyday Life by
Based on historic and ethnographic approaches, with examples from Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Taiwan, and Vietnam,. this volume examines how the ideological images of Asian women are produced, circulated, appropriated, and pluralized. Studies the interaction between formation of ideological representation in the contexts of imperialism, colonialism, nationalism and the post-colonial present; and the everyday practices of women who resist and re-contextualize these images.
Call Number: HQ1726 .R477 2015 (book is in print as well as online)
Publication Date: 2016 (Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ; New York, NY : Palgrave Macmillan, )
Gendered Entanglements: Revisiting Gender in Rapidly Changing Asia by
..... Individual chapters, written by gender scholars from Europe and Asia, critically examine the concept of gender in the context of emerging development issues relating to four broad thematic areas: 'Gender over Time', 'Power, Policy and Practices', 'Environment and Resources', and 'Justice and Human Rights'. In so doing, they also address how gender has been changed, both as a normative process influencing social roles and relations and as an object and/or a concept of research.
Call Number: HQ1240.5.A78 G464 2015
Publication Date: 2015 ( Copenhagen, Denmark : NIAS Press)
Diva Nation: Female icons from Japanese Cultural History by
"From ancient goddesses and queens to modern singers and writers, this edited volume critically reconsiders the female icon, tracing how she has been offered up for emulation, debate or censure. The research in this book culminates from curiosity over the insistent presence of Japanese female figures who have refused to sit quietly on the sidelines of history."
Call Number: HQ1762 .D58 2018
Publication Date: 2018 ( Oakland, California : University of California Press)
Chinese Femininities/Chinese Masculinities by
The past two centuries have witnessed tremendous upheavals in every aspect of Chinese culture and society. At the level of everyday life, some of the most remarkable transformations have occurred in the realm of gender. [This book] is a mix of illuminating historical and ethnographic studies of gender from the 1700s to the present. The essays iare organized in pairs that alternate in focus between femininity and masculinity, between subjects traditionally associated with feminism (such as family life) and those rarely considered from a gendered point of view (like banditry). The chapters provide a wealth of interesting detail on [a variety of topics].
Call Number: HQ1075.5.C6 C47 2002 (print copy also in Kroch Asia stacks)
Publication Date: 2002 ( Berkeley : University of California Press,)
Handbook of Gender by
This Handbook brings together works that represent the best of feminist scholarship on India in multiple fields ranging from historical to contemporary India. The contributions from eminent feminist and gender scholars are categorized thematically and cover the following areas: law, sexuality,masculinity, caste, media, religion, labour, environment and women's movements.
Call Number: HQ 1075.5 I4 H36 2012
Publication Date: 2012 ( New Delhi, India : Oxford University Press)
The Bloomsbury Research Handbook to Chinese Philosophy and Gender by
Covering the historical, social, political, and cultural contexts, [This book] presents a comprehensive overview of the complexity of gender disparity in Chinese thought and culture. Divided into four main sections, experts discuss Confucian, Daoist and Buddhist approaches to gender relations. [This book] bridges the fields of philosophy, intellectual history, feminism and gender studies.
Call Number: B 125 B56 2016
Publication Date: 2016 ( London ; New York : Bloomsbury Academic)
Learning Femininity in Colonial India, 1820-1932 by
This book explores the colonial mentalities that shaped and were shaped by women living in colonial India between 1820 and 1932. The book examines the many life experiences of these women and how their position changed, both personally and professionally, over this long period. Drawing on ...archives in the United Kingdom, India, Pakistan, North America, Ireland and Australia this book builds a clear picture of the colonial-configured changes that influenced women interacting with the colonial state.
Call Number: HQ1742 .A526 2016
Publication Date: 2016 ( Manchester : Manchester University Press)
Womansword: What Japanese Words Say About Women by
Explains the meaning of Japanese words related to female identity, girlhood, married life, motherhood, work, sexuality, and aging, and discusses what these words reveal about their attitude towards women.
Call Number: HQ1762 .C52
Publication Date: 1987 ( Tokyo ; New York : Kodansha International)
Routledge Handbook of East Asian Gender Studies by
Featuring contributions by leading scholars of Gender Studies to provide a cutting-edge overview of the field, this handbook includes examples from China, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan and Hong Kong and covers the following themes: theorising gender relations; women's and feminist movements; work, care and migration; family and intergenerational relationships; cultural representation; masculinity; and state, militarism and gender.
Publication Date: 2020 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge,)
Routledge Handbook of Gender in South Asia by
This new updated edition offers a wide range of disciplinary and interdisciplinary perspectives spanning both the humanities and social sciences, focusing on India, Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The Handbook is organized thematically into five major parts: Historical formations and theoretical framings; Law, citizenship and the nation; Representations of culture, place, identity; Labor and the economy. Inequality, activism and the state.
Call Number: HQ1735.3 .R68 2014 +
Publication Date: 2021 (Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge)
The Routledge Companion to Gender and Japanese Culture by
The volume is interdisciplinary in scope, with chapters drawing from a range of perspectives, fields, and disciplines, including anthropology, art history, history, law, linguistics, literature, media and cultural studies, politics, and sociology. This reflects the fundamentally interdisciplinary nature of the dual focal points of this volume--gender and culture--and the ways in which these themes infuse a range of disciplines and subfields. In this volume,
Publication Date: 2019 (Abingdon Oxon ; New York, NY : Routledge)
Women and the Politics of Representation in Southeast Asia: Engendering Discourse in Singapore and Malaysia by
[This book] examines the discursive construction of gender, sexuality and representation in a variety of areas, including the politics of everyday life, education, popular culture, literature, film, theatre and photography. Chapters examine a range of tropes such as the Orientalist "Sarong Party Girl," the iconic "Singapore Girl" of Singapore Airlines, and the figure of pious Muslim femininity. The collection also draws attention to resistance to these gender boundaries in theatre, film, blogs and social media, and pedagogy.
Call Number: HQ1750.67 .W67 2014
Publication Date: 2015 (Abingdon, Oxon ; New York : Routledge)
Asian Journal of Women's Studies
Call Number: HQ1726 .A814 (print copies, v.1-20, 1995-2014)
Publication Date: Began 1995 (Seoul, Korea : Ewha Womans University Press)
Quarterly, online via GenderWatch 1995 to present.
Call Number: HQ 1726 .A13 (Print copies from v. 2, 1996. Current unbound issues in Asia reading room, General Asia section)
Publication Date: Began 1995. (Seoul : Research Center for Asian Women, Sookmyung Women's University)
Quarterly. Indexed in SSCI (Social Sciences Citation Index). Online 1995 to current.
Journal of Asian Studies
Call Number: DS501 .F24 + (Print copies v.1, 1941 to current. Current unbound issues in Asia reading room, General Asia section).
Publication Date: (Ann Arbor, Mich., Association for Asian Studies)
Quarterly. Online coverage varies according to platform; JSTOR & ABI/Inform start with 1956. "Recognized as the leading publication in its field. It features articles on the history, arts, social sciences, and contemporary issues of East, South, and Southeast Asia, as well as a large book review section.":
Call Number: Oversize AP95.I4 .F32 + (Current issues in Southeast Asia periodicals section, Kroch Asia reading room
Publication Date: Library has no.1,1972 to current issue
Popular women's magazine from Indonesia. The web site is separate from the magazine, but covering similar topics (features, entertainment, living, fashion, beauty, food etc.) Both are mostly in Indonesian.
女性 東亞． / Yŏsŏng Tonga
Call Number: Oversize AP95.K6 Y65 + (Current issues in East Asia periodicals section, Kroch Asia reading room).
Publication Date: Library has 1987 to current issues.
Popular women's magazine from Korea. (in Korean)
Call Number: TX103 .G74 + (Current issues in Asia reading room, South Asia section)
in Hindi. Women's popular magazine with fashion, food, beauty, articles & stories.
Call Number: AP95.M24 J48 + (Library has print 1967 to current. Current issues in Asia reading room, Southeast Asia section)
PressReader has latest 3 months. Popular women's magazine from Malaysia, in Malay. The latest issues are online; reading room print issues are delayed.
" provides online access for the last 90 days to over 6,000 newspapers from more than 100 countries, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title." Includes magazines as well as newspapers. Choose a country from the list on the left, the choose a category if desired: For Women, For Men, Fashion, etc. On the upper right are 3 vertical dots which lead to a menu with various sort and display options including sort by alphabetical title. Use mouse to scroll to the right.