Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library Catalog Searches
The library catalog can be used to find online and print books, manuscripts, films and more. You can search by keyword or use the drop-down menu to choose a specific search for a title, an author, or a subject. For example, to look for books on the history of feminism in Japan, type in "feminism Japan history" and choose the subject field from the drop down menu. The results will be items that contain those terms as subjects.
An All Fields search acts as a keyword search and will broaden the results.
Women's Studies International
Sample search: Femininity (and) Asia. Since this is an Ebsco database, you can choose additional ones to search at the same time using the "Choose Databases" option, for example, Bibliography of Asian Studies.
..full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
Articles and Full Text
Click on this link on the library home page. A single search box appears, with an option for advanced search. Sample advanced search in "all fields:" Femininity (and) Asia. The limits on the left can be used narrow results to scholarly journals, full-text only, and more precise subject terms. such as Asia.
Sample article: "Race and Beauty: A Comparison of Asia and Western Models in Women's Magazine Advertisements"
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Includes articles in journals (many not indexed elsewhere), chapters in books, conference proceedings. Many can be linked to full-text access.
...largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Sample search: Femininity (and) Asia. On the left, Access type tells you how many results there are. The limits include subjects, countries, and more.
"Browse" feature has drop down menu where you can search by subject; Asian Studies (Area subject) contains 131 searchable journals. "Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication"
"Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics."
Try a search for "transgender" [or] "transsexual." You can add another field