Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide by
Call Number: HQ1726 .G74 2003 (in Asia Reference and also Olin Reference)
Publication Date: 2003 (Westport, CT : Greenwood Press)
(6 vols) Volume 1 = Asia and Oceania. Organized by country, then specific topics. [The books] "document the achievements and current challenges for all women, providing newly available information about women's status in matters from education to violence, in more than 130 countries. Maps, tables, photos, and indexes by set and volume are also included."
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge by
Call Number: HQ1115 .R69x 2000 ( in Olin Reference and Mann Library)
Publication Date: 2000 ( New York : Routledge)
(4 vols.) Alphabetical dictionary-style arrangement. Volume 2 has "Feminism" entry which contains sections on China, Japan, Korea, South Asia, Southeast Asia, and Asian-Americans. Includes index and bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by
Call Number: DS4 .L48x 2002 (in Asia Reference)
Publication Date: 2002 (New York : Charles Scribner's Sons ; Farmington Hills, MI : Thomson/Gale)
96 vols). Volume 6 has extensive chapter on Women which includes sections on Women in Central Asia, in China, in Japan, in Korea, in Pakistan, in South Asia, in Southeast Asia, in West Asia [Middle East]. Bibliography included after each section.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
Call Number: DS805 .K76 + (In Asia Reference)
Publication Date: 1986 (Tokyo ; New York, N.Y. : Kodansha)
Volume 8 has an extensive entry on women, covering history of women in religion; women's status; women in specific eras of Japanese history; modernization and contemporary issues, education, health, political involvement, women in labor force; rural women; women's magazines, suffrage issues.
Encyclopedia of Modern China by
Call Number: DS755 .E63 2009 +
Publication Date: 2009 (Farmington Hills, MI : Charles Scribner's Sons/Gale Cengage Learning)
Volume 4 entry on women covers the history of women's employment; the status of women thru periods of modern Chinese history; women in politics; women in the visual arts.
Asia Collections Information & Reference
Asia Collections Staff
Greg Green, Curator, Echols Collections Kroch 179 email@example.com Laotian, Thai language; some Khmer; mainland SEA (Burma, Cambodia, Laos, Thailand, Vietnam).
Jeff Petersen, Southeast Asia Librarian Kroch 178 firstname.lastname@example.org Tagalog language; insular SEA (Indonesia, Philippines, Malaysia). Anthropology specialist
Liren Zheng, Curator, Wason Collection (East Asia) Kroch 172 email@example.com Chinese language; Overseas Chinese specialty
Dan McKee, Japan collection librarian Kroch 173 firstname.lastname@example.org Japanese language
You Lee Chun, Korea specialist Kroch 175 email@example.com Korean language
Lisa LeFever, South Asia Collections assistant 180 Kroch Library. (at this time there is no South Asia collections curator.) Bengali language.