CUL Library websites
- Cornell University Library homepageThe library homepage aggregates several resources, most notably an article-and-ebook search (Summon) and a search of the library catalog which includes books, ebooks and journal titles.
- Engineering LibraryEngineering Library links to databases, library catalog, How to Videos (on finding research articles, materials properties, Passkey) plus services such as document delivery, books requests, room reservations.
- Physical Sciences Libraryrelated links from the library page
Selected Databases in Science and Engineering
These are databases that index peer-reviewed journals, technical reports and conference proceedings in science and technology. Each one has a different focus.
For a complete list of databases, see our listing of Databases on the Engineering Library homepage.
- Engineering Village 2Includes Compendex and INSPEC, comprehensive databases for engineering and physics from 1969 to date.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a way to search across all disciplines for scholarly literature, be it articles, books, theses, or preprints.
- IEEE XploreProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, IEEE and IEE journals, books, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988, and all current IEEE standards.
- PubmedTop medical database by the National Library of Medicine.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
- SpringerLinkProvides access to over 65,000 ebooks from 1842 to the present. Also includes journals, book series, eReferences, and Protocols.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science Core Collection provides access citation databases in all subjects, with coverage from 1900 to the present. Find highly cited articles and key authors and journals on your topic/field.
E-Book Libraries (inc. collections with materials properties data)
- AccessEngineeringOver 1,600 engineering e-books, including Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook and Schaum's Outlines. Includes online tutorials and DataVis, a tool that allows one to compare properties of hundreds of materials.
- AccessScience from McGraw-HillScience and technology encyclopedia by McGraw-Hill. Besides articles includes biographies of well-known scientists, animations, videos, and curriculum maps.
- KnovelKnovel features 2,000 reference ebooks in all fields of engineering. Includes interactive tables, equation plotters, graph digitizers, and ability to export to Excel spreadsheets. Large database of materials property data.
- SpringerLinkProvides access to over 65,000 ebooks from 1842 to the present. Also includes journals, book series, eReferences, and Protocols.
- Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer ScienceContains over 400 lectures on AI, communication networks, electrical engineering, informatics, synthetic biology, and life sciences. Each book synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Technical Standards
- ASTM standards
12,000 standards by the American Society for Testing of Materials. There are 95,000 standards published by many organizations, such as ISO that we order individually as needed. - IEEE standardsIEEE xplore has the full-text of 4,000 standards.
- Technical Standards and Building Codes LibGuideThis guide describes many of the sources of standards and building codes within and outside of the library.