Keywords
When searching for relevant articles in databases, pull out your key concepts and search using the tips in the next box.
These are some relevant keywords to get you started on your search. The subject headings are links to library resources, the keywords can be used when searching in databases or google scholar.
|
Keywords to use when searching in databases "coparenting programs" "coparenting education programs" "coparenting interventions"
|
Relevant Subject Headings in the Library Catalog Education > Parent participation Parenting > Study and teaching Parenting, Part-time > Handbooks, manuals, etc.
|
Searching Databases
Most databases allow the use of AND, OR and NOT to broaden or narrow and search.
- AND will narrow the search to include only records with both terms.
- OR with broaden the search to include records with either term.
- NOT will narrow the search to exclude records with one of the terms.
Truncation: You can use an * at the end of a word stem to broaden your search to include related terms. For example, to search for child, children or childhood use the search term child*
Putting quotes "" around words allows you to search for a phrase. For example, searching language development, without quotes, finds records with both the word 'language' and 'development' somewhere in the record. Searching "language development", with quotes, only find records with the phrase "language development".
Example: How does bilingualism affect language development in children?
NOTE: When you begin doing advanced searching in a new database, look for the Help or Information sections to determine how that database works, and how it may differ from other databases with which you are familiar.
What is Grey Literature
Gray (or grey) literature is literature produced by individuals or organizations outside of commercial and/or academic publishers. This type of non-formally published substantive information (often not formally peer-reviewed; especially important in all kinds of sciences) can include information such:
- theses and dissertations
- technical reports
- working papers
- government reports
- evaluation and think tank reports and resources
- conference proceedings, papers and posters
- publications from NGOs, INGOs, think tanks and policy institutes
- patents
- preprints
- unpublished clinical trials
- and much more
Where to find Grey Literature
- NY Academy of Medicine Grey Literature ReportThis report is a bimonthly publication of The New York Academy of Medicine (NYAM) alerting readers to new grey literature publications in health services research and selected public health topics. The database platform is keyword searchable and serves as an archive for the cataloged reports.
- ERICERIC provides free access to more than 1.2 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials and, if available, includes links to full text. ERIC is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences (IES).
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)Social Science Research Network (SSRN) provides scholarly working papers and published articles in the social sciences, including the Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) and the Economics Research Network (ESN). Abstracts and PDFs of articles available.
- ProQuest Dissertations and ThesesWith more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
- OpenGreyOpenGrey covers Science, Technology, Biomedical Science, Economics, Social Science and Humanities.
Databases
- PsycINFOContains citations and summaries of the international literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, and linguistics. Includes applied psychology, communication systems, developmental psychology, educational psychology, experimental human and animal psychology, personality, physical and psychological disorders, physiological psychology and intervention, professional personnel and issues, psychometrics, social processes and issues, sports psychology and leisure, and treatment and prevention.
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- PubMedProvides access to over 22 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Provides citations from 1963 to the present, and abstracts since 1974, to journal articles, conference papers, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include community development, culture and social structure, demography and human biology, environmental interactions, family and social welfare, health and medicine and law, religion and science, social psychology and group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Sociology Source UltimateAn expanded version of SocINDEX, including greater coverage of peer-reviewed journals, international resources and open access titles. Provides citations and direct links to the texts of journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings, some as far back as 1880. Comprehensive coverage encompassing sub-disciplines and related areas of the social sciences, including labor, crime, demography, economic sociology, immigration, ethnic, racial and gender studies, family, political sociology, religion, development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, social history, theory, methodology, and more.”
- Social Work AbstractsThe Social Work Abstracts database, produced by the National Association of Social Workers, Inc., contains more than 45,000 records, spanning 1977 to the present, from social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more.
- Social Services AbstractsThis database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
- PAIS InternationalTip: For best results, use the Advanced Search.
Enclose phrases in "quotation marks"
You can also limit your search results to Peer-Reviewed journals, if desired.
Provides citations to articles, essays, book chapters, and reports on politics and public policy, economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences.
Journals
- Family ProcessFamily Process is a quarterly peer-reviewed academic journal covering research on family system issues, including policy and applied practice.
- Family RelationsFamily Relations is an international journal of applied family studies.
- Journal of Family IssuesJournal of Family Issues is a peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the field of family studies.
- Journal of Family PsychologyThe Journal of Family Psychology is a peer-reviewed academic journal published by the American Psychological Association. It was established in 1987 and covers research in family psychology.
- Journal of Marriage and the FamilyFor more than 70 years, Journal of Marriage and Family (JMF) has been a leading research journal in the family field. JMF features original research and theory, research interpretation and reviews, and critical discussion concerning all aspects of marriage, other forms of close relationships, and families.
- Children and Youth Services ReviewProvides a forum for the critical analysis and assessment of social service programs designed to serve young people throughout the world.
- The Social Service ReviewArticles devoted to the wide-ranging scientific interests of all those concerned with social welfare issues, selected on the basis of their contribution to knowledge or theoretical understanding of a subject aimed at the professional in the field.
- Child DevelopmentArticles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.