LIBRARY RESOURCES
Databases to get you started...
- ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital LibraryThe ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
- Engineering Village 2Web-based information service offering a wide range of resources covering applied science and engineering. Includes the Compendex database. Compendex contains references and abstracts from some 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Coverage is 1969 to date.
- KnovelKnovel provides access to reference materials in the fields of engineering and applied sciences. Subject areas covered include: chemistry and chemical engineering, plastics and rubbers, semiconductors, advanced materials, and safety, health and hygiene.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IET Electronic Library) This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text access to IEEE transactions, journals, and other sources. IEEE also offers career information for electrical engineers, computer sciences and related fields.
Online Tutorials
- LinkedIn LearningLinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
Materials
- Polymers in SciFinderThere are many unique rules and special tips for where and how to find information on polymers in the SciFinder Chemical Abstracts database.
- SpringerMaterialsSpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Bornstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a database on thermophysical properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a database on inorganic solid phases and chemical safety data.
- ChemicalENGINEERINGnetBaseWhether you are converting raw materials or chemicals into more useful forms or spearheading the hunt for valuable new materials or techniques, ChemicalENGINEERINGnetBASE provides the references and resources to fuel this work. It offers insight from renowned experts on how to ensure processes are operated safely, sustainably, and economically.
- MATERIALSnetBASEFrom ceramics and textiles to bioscience and pharmacology, this dynamic library of handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and treatises explains the theory, data, and processes shaping diverse materials applications
Multidisciplinary Databases
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivers a comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceChoosing "All Databases" allows you to search an index of journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations. Google Scholar helps you identify the most relevant research across the world of scholarly research.--About Google scholar.
Google Scholar
- Search engine of the whole internet which narrows the internet results based on machine automated criteria.
- Multi-disciplinary (pro and con)
- Google-like search interface
- Searches some full-text: you can find information that is not necessarily in the citation or abstract of an article, for instance, a detail buried in the Methods section of a journal article. If you're not having luck finding something extremely specific with Web of Science search, try Google Scholar
- Not just journal articles (books, patents, dissertations, other material)
- Not necessarily peer-reviewed
- Criteria for inclusion as "scholarly" in Google Scholar results is based on publishers submitting information to Google Scholar about their web sites, and is not necessarily based on the attributes of the sources themselves.
- Inaccurate retrieval and variable content means that search results are not necessarily reproducible and therefore not reportable. They would not be appropriate for systematic reviews.
Web of Science
- Human-curated database
- Journals are the focus of Web of Science, and they are selected for inclusion by humans based on scholarly criteria by literature review committees. Web of Science journal selection is explained.
- Web of Science is interdisciplinary and covers all scientific areas, but it only covers what it considers to "best" journals and concentrates on English language ones.
- Mostly peer-reviewed, scholarly literature
- More control over your search
- Data about each article is entered into the database in a uniform structured way: author, title, date, journal name. This means you get accurate retrieval when searching for those things. Results can be sorted reliably by latest date.
- Articles in Web of Science are tagged with important information about their structure, such as "review article".
- Accurate retrieval means that search results are reproducible and reportable (especially important for systematic reviews)