Browse popular sources
You can also browse or search popular publications directly to find current articles on a range of topics. Examples include nytimes.com & newsweek.com. If you go through the web, you may not be able to get access to the full-text articles off-campus. To get around this, use the library's Passkey tool.
Finding Full-Text Articles not in the Database
You want the full text of articles, right? There are several ways to find them and it depends on what you are looking for.
Some databases, such as Academic Search Premier, have "Get it Cornell!" links to full text.
Otherwise, search the library catalog by journal title. The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version; if we have neither, you can still request the articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Finding News Articles
While there are many databases and websites with access to the news, we recommend starting with these two:
- Lexis Nexis News: select "news" tab.
- Google News
- Also check out the Library's Finding the News research Guide
Finding Popular Articles--Video
Good Databases for Popular Articles
A number of databases (collections of articles) at the library will let you search thousands of news and magazine articles at once. The ones listed below are a few of the most popular, and they all have most of the articles in full text online.
- ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. It comprises two components: a core list of periodicals covering about 800 publications, and 15 subject-specific modules that supplement the core list. Modules cover arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international studies, law, military, multicultural studies, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's interests. Full text of many articles is provided.
- Academic Search PremierThis multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
- Articles & Full Text search (Summon)The "Articles and Full Text" search (linked under the main library search box at library.cornell.edu) will search many different databases at once.
- Lexis-NexisProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.