Conflict & Security: Statistics and Background
- Annual Review of Global Peace Operations byPrint title. Library has: 2006-2013.
From the Center on International Cooperation, the series presents data on peace operations conducted by the UN, regional organizations, coalitions and individual nations. Includes a "Strategic Summary" of the year, Mission Reviews, Mission Notes, Global Statistics on UN-Commanded Missions, Global Statistics on Non-UN-Commanded Misssion, and UN Mission-by-Mission Statistics. - Defense & Foreign Affairs HandbookPrint title. Library has: 1976 - 2006.
Political, economic and defense data on every country in the world. - The Military BalancePrint edition cancelled in 2022. A region-by-region analysis of the major military and economic trends and developments affecting security policy and the trade in weapons and other military equipment. Comprehensive tables portray key data on weapons and defence economics. Defence expenditure trends over a 10-year period are also shown. [IISS]
- SIPRI Yearbook.2010 - present.
Security and conflicts; Military spending and armaments; Non-proliferation, arms control and disarmament.
"Contains extensive annexes on the implementation of arms control and disarmament agreements and a chronology of events during the year in the area of security and arms control.....extensively footnoted, providing a comprehensive bibliography in each subject area. [OUP] "
Olin library also has the print edition of the Sipri Yearbook back to 1972. - Strategic Survey: the Annual Review of World AffairsPrint title. Discontinued in 2002. Library has 1966-2002.
"The book provides essential analysis of key events and issues in international affairs over the past year. It includes a series of detailed maps highlighting topics and trends of particular interest or relevance. " [publisher web site]
Conflict Datasets
- Correlates of WarThe Correlates of War Project was founded in 1963. The original and continuing goal of the project has been the systematic accumulation of scientific knowledge about war.
- UCDP/PRIO Armed Conflict Dataset, 1946-2010"Content: a conflict-year dataset with information on armed conflict where at least one party is the government of a state in the time period 1946-2010. The most recent is version 4-2011."
- Uppsala Conflict Data ProgramThe Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) has recorded ongoing violent conflicts since the 1970s. The data provided is one of the most accurate and well-used data-sources on global armed conflicts and its definition of armed conflict is becoming a standard in how conflicts are systematically defined and studied.Note: Data is summarized annually in the Journal of Peace Research: "Armed Conflicts: UCDP Annual Special Data Features."
- Terrorist and Insurgent Organization Social ServicesA project of One Earth Future, this dataset tracks social services provides terrorist and insurgent organizations.
Covers more than 400 organizations;
Presents indicators for major service sectors: education, health security, welfare, natural disaster response, public services, and religious services;
Is available as weighted indicators or ranked measures. - Women, Peace and Security, WPS National Action Plans"In this research, which was funded by the Australian Research Council (DP160100212), we examine three dimensions of the Women, Peace and Security agenda:
1. the formation of the agenda at the UN Security Council and its diffusion across the UN system;
2. the implementation of the agenda at the national level, primarily through the development and adoption of National Action Plans (NAPs); and
3. the advocacy of civil society organisations related to the WPS agenda both within countries and transnationally.
This website presents our analysis of the NAPs that have been collected and/or translated so far, in an interactive visual display. The NAPs are also available to download here, along with open-access reports on the project’s key findings.
