Top Tools and Tips
Passkey Off-campus? Log in once with this browser bookmarklet that connects you to all the Library's databases and journals with a single Cornell log-in. See this video.
Unpaywall.org - looks for legal, open-acces copies of an article
ORCID - set your ORCID id and Scopus ID to establish a persistent unique identifier for you and ensures your work is linked to you. Required by some publishers and funders.
Citation Management - Keep track of your references, format bibliographies in thousands of styles. Mendeley, Zotero, Endnote, Papers. Email engrref@cornell.edu for instructions for premium upgrade for Mendeley.
Rapid delivery of books not owned by Cornell from Borrow Direct and scanned articles from Interlibrary loan.
SHARES program - visit and possibly borrow books from other libraries, such as Columbia, Syracuse, Ohio State, Boston University.
Stay Current - with JournalTOCS - have tables of contents from journals in your field delivered to your email.
Events Emailer - Create preferences for receiving event nofitications via email based on campus unit and your search terms.
SPARC Author Addendum - sign and send to your publisher to retain your rights to your article - to distribute in your classes, include sections in later works, post to a website.
Streaming videos on how-to-use library databases - such as Engineering Village, Knovel, etc.
Databases below for journal articles, patents, standards, etc....Scopus, Inspec, etc...longer lists from the Engineering Library and Physical Sciences Library webpages.
Peer-Review Journals
Primary research is often published in a peer-reviewed journal. See this page for a description of popular vs. scholarly articles.
Databases
- Engineering Library
Engineering Library links to databases, How to Videos (on finding research articles, materials properties, Passkey) plus services such as document delivery, books requests, room reservations. - Physical Sciences Library
Quick links to specialty databases and journals in the physical sciences. - Cornell Library Catalog
Cornell Library website and catalog has records for 8 million books, and thousands of journals and articles. Links to interlibrary loan, scanned articles, and Borrow Direct.
- Engineering Village
Best comprehensive engineering database. Search scholarly articles and conference papers in Compendex. - Scopus
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Use for article searching, citations of articles (from 1996-), citation scores of authors, set up alerts, analyze data (i.e. journal rankings). - Web of Science
Web of Science searches major science journals across disciplines.Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others. Includes Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal citations reports, and Derwent Innovations (patents) databases.
- PubMed
PubMed is the premier database for medical literature. Publisher is National Library of Medicine. - Knovel
Knovel has thousands of technical e-books on many subjects. Materials Properties, ASM Handbooks may be searched here. - Access Engineering
Access Engineering has hundreds of McGraw-Hill books and instructional videos, Includes Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook and Schaum's Outlines. DataVis is visual materials properties tool that can compare properties of hundreds of materials. - ASTM standards
12,000 standards by the American Society for Testing of Materials. There are 95,000 standards published by many organizations, such as ISO that we order individually as needed. - MatWeb
Data sheets for over 115,000 metals, plastics, ceramics, and composites. Registration required for advanced searching. - ORCID
ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and ensures your work is linked to you. Required by some publishers and funders. Orcid.org - SciFinder-n
provides online access to several databases, including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, CHEMCAT, and MEDLINE. They provide access to CAplus, a database of chemical literature and U.S. and foreign chemical-related patents, CASREACT, and the Registry database from Chemical Abstracts Service. - Proquest Theses
Guide to finding full-text theses from Cornell and North America.
Icebreaker Questions
1) Which citation management program do you use, if any? Why?
2) Have there been times when you couldn't find or organize the information you needed? Describe.
Email to jhp1@cornell.edu