Databases
Use these databases to find academic articles or books on a company. One caveat though--usually these types of resources will not contain the latest information. (It takes time to write a book or do academic research on a company and then publish it.)
Tip #1: The hardest part about searching these databases is matching your keywords to the subject terms that are actually used to categorize articles. Different terms may be used by different databases. For example: "human resource management" vs. "personnel management"; "job evaluation" vs. "performance appraisal"; "employee selection" vs. "recruitment." Pay attention to the terms listed as subject headings in each record! You may also use terms such as "case studies", "best practice", "benchmarking", "surveys", and "trends".
Tip #2: Many databases have an "Advanced Search" option. This will allow you to type a Company name in one search box (and select to search the "company" field) and to type relevant HR terms (See Tip #1) in the second search box.
- ABI/InformABI Inform is an extensive international business and management database, contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide. Also known as ProQuest.
- Business Source CompleteBusiness Source Complete provides full text for scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,800 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for top scholarly journals, including the Harvard Business Review. It also includes industry and country reports from Euromonitor and company and industry reports from Datamonitor.
- EmeraldEmerald is a global publisher linking research and practice to the benefit of society. The company manages a portfolio of more than 290 journals and over 2,000 books and book series volumes, as well as providing an extensive range of online products and additional customer resources and services.