These tools will help you find associations in your interest area. Some of the tools also allow you to research the financial health and management of a member organization or non-profit entity.
Associations UnlimitedContains information for approximately 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations in all fields, including IRS data on U.S. 501(c) nonprofit organizations. For some 2,600 major U.S. national associations, provides full-text association materials such as brochures, pamphlets, and membership application forms.
Guidestar PremiumSearchable directory that provides detailed information on more than 850,000 nonprofit (501) organizations. Profiles cover mission and programs, financials, leaders, and most importantly, full text via PDF of the charity's IRS 990 filing from 1998 forward in most cases. Form 990 provides information on revenues, expenses, programs, activities, executive salaries and board members. The database contains significant free content. Access to some free content requires registration. Additional premium content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
IRS Tax StatisticsHere you will find a wide range of tables, articles, and data that describe and measure elements of the U.S. tax system. This data is extremely useful for scholarly and policy research.
Leadership ConnectFormerly Leadership Library, Leadership Connect allows searching and browsing within individual directories or across all directories using single or multiple criteria, such as name, job title, industry, and geographical location.
- U.S. Office of Personnel ManagementThis is the HR department for Federal employees. It provides useful guidance for managing any employees.
- Baldridge Performance Excellence ProgramFrom the National Institute of Standards and Technology, the Baldridge Performance Excellence Program aims to "to improve the competitiveness and performance of U.S. organizations for the benefit of all U.S. residents." This site provides information on the Malcolm Baldridge National Quality Award, which recognizes U.S. companies for their achievements in quality and business performance. A profile of winners is also available.
Organizational Behavior Organizations
- Academy of ManagementChoose "Human Resource Management" from Divisions and Interest Groups. Membership information. Links to other Internet resources.
- American Sociological AssociationThe American Sociological Association is a non-profit membership association that is dedicated to advancing sociology as a scientific discipline and profession serving the public good. Founded in 1905, it is an association of nearly 14,000 members and home to 44 special interest sections with more than 21,000 members. ASA hosts of an annual meeting with more than 6,000 participants and is a publisher of 10 professional journals and magazines.
- American Psychological AssociationBased in Washington, DC, the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide.
- Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)The website of this major U.S. association for HR practitioners provides a wealth of information for its members and for the public. Additional electronic content is available at the ILR Library. Please ask for assistance at the ILR Reference Desk.
- Society for Industrial and Organizational Psychology (SIOP)SIOP is the premier membership organization for those practicing and teaching industrial and organizational (I-O) psychology. I-O psychology is a dynamic and growing field that encompasses workplace issues at the individual and organizational level. I-O psychologists apply research that improves the well-being and performance of people and the organizations that employ them.