CUL Mentoring Resources: Career Development Week 2024

Career Counseling and/or Resume Review
Career Development Specialists, Organizational & Workforce Development
Book a 30 minute virtual session: Resume Review Sessions

All Hybrid sessions in Kroch 2B48

9:00 - 10:00am
Career Success Center Overview - Virtual - RECORDING
Radhika Nayak, Career Development Specialist, Organizational & Workforce Development

Career Success Center serves as a comprehensive virtual hub designed to empower your career advancement! In this session, we'll discuss taking charge of your professional growth and development, exploring the array of tools and resources at your disposal to excel and cultivate a rewarding career at Cornell. Recognizing our employees as our most valuable asset, Cornell is committed to equipping you with these career development resources to craft an exceptional career journey both within and beyond our institution.

https://hr.cornell.edu/your-career/career-success-center

10:15 - 11:15am
Processing Archives in RMC - Hybrid - RECORDING
Kaitlyn Bloomquist, Eirva Diamessis, Terri Jordan, and Freddy Loew

This presentation will focus on the different processing steps for special collections, from the first stage, when a collection is accessioned and ready to get processed to the final stage, which is making the collection available to the researchers and, when possible, publicizing the project.

The presentation will demonstrate the process of arranging and describing collections based on archival principles and DACS description standards, offering examples of issues a processor faces regarding the level of arrangement and description, the creation of the series, the different sizes and types/formats of the materials, restrictions, or removing personal information, duplicates, issues related to the physical processing, preservation/conservation issues, and other decisions that need to be made based on the main goal, which is to provide a descriptive and meaningful finding aid to the researcher. In addition, there will be a discussion of digital material, other media and museum objects, as well as the last part of completing processing by labeling and sending the material to storage. Finally, we will give a few examples of publishing the projects through Wikipedia and discuss issues we face regarding projects’ publicity.

1:00 - 2:00 pm
Online Learning 101 - Virtual - RECORDING - HANDOUT
Julia Leonard, CIT Communications
A demonstration of the options and navigation of the online learning platforms available to Cornell faculty and staff including CULearn, eCornell self-paced modules, eCornell certificate programs, Skillsoft, and LinkedIn Learning. Also includes an overview of free online learning available to everyone: Microsoft, Adobe, Edx, and Coursera.

2:15 - 3:15 pm
Inclusive Descriptive Task Force Panel - Hybrid - RECORDING
Laura Daniels, Katerina Dimitriadou-Shuster, Elizabeth Parker, Emily Zinger, Margaret Nichols
Classification is threaded throughout all library work, not just metadata and cataloguing. This panel discussion from members of the Inclusive Descriptive Practice Task Force will trace these paths of description across different areas of CUL and demonstrate the means in which the group is adapting that work for forefront inclusivity and equity. Panelists will share with attendees how to join IDPTF and point to ways in which their own work has resulted in publications, conference presentations, and both University and national service. Current IDPTF projects reflect the interests of our group’s current members, but there are many areas of CUL not represented by membership. The ways in which attendees may want to build inclusive descriptive practices into their own work will depend on the collections they manage and the patrons they interact with. We look forward to seeing what new projects may arise from this discussion.

3:30 - 4:30 pm
Battledecks@Cornell - Hybrid - RECORDING
Jesse Koennecke
Battledecks or Powerpoint-Karaoke is an improvisational activity in which a participant must deliver a presentation based on a set of slides that they have never seen before.  Participants will present a topic (provided just before they begin), for 3-4 minutes, accompanied by 10-15 PowerPoint slides selected and arranged by an elite team of library scientists. No preparation required.  Participants will be judged based on criteria such as use of time and slides to general composure and ability to address the topic. A certain amount of artistic license is expected from both participants and judges in their work.

How do I do this awesome thing?

We’re looking for a few hearty participants who can be present in-person – Sign up early to secure your spot.  We’re looking for up to 6 contestants. If we have any space available, we will take volunteers from the audience.

If you are interested in participating or helping out, please contact Jesse Koennecke (jtk1@cornell.edu) or CU Library Slack.

All In Person / Hybrid Sessions in Uris B05 Classroom

9:00 - 10:00 am
Understanding Your Personal Style - In Person - HANDOUT
Ari Mack, Organizational & Workforce Development
Join our lively DiSC Assessment workshop for a dynamic session of self-awareness building! Through interactive exercises and insightful discussion, we’ll explore our DiSC personality types and gain practical insights into enhancing your leadership, communication, and collaboration skills.

10:15 - 11:15 am
Traveling Light: A Carry-on of Essentials for Development of Cornell's Digital Preservation System - Hybrid - RECORDING
Dianne Dietrich, Michelle Paolillo
The team behind Cornell University Library Archival Repository (CULAR) has made the conscious and deliberate decision to preference human-mediated workflows in developing its digital preservation program. This has allowed them to remain responsive to the needs of their colleagues rather than trying to fit the practices of many departments into a single monolithic system. This presentation traces the evolution of Cornell’s digital preservation program, highlighting the inflection points that informed how the service developed and operates today.

1:00 - 3:00 pm
Assistive Technologies - Hybrid - RECORDING
Debbie Krahmer
Come and learn about Assistive Technologies and working with patrons with disabilities! Interactive, hands-on, and full of fun, this session focused on low tech, high tech, and everyday tech used by millions of disabled and non-disabled people to make their lives a little easier.

3:15 - 4:30 pm
Legal Technology, Professional Etiquette, & Workflow Management - Hybrid - RECORDING
Nicholas Norton

This session will focus on how to incorporate practitioner feedback into a research course. When I was designing / updating my advanced legal research for business class, I consulted with law firm librarians and with law firm associates to assess what types of roadblocks present themselves to new lawyers. After conducting these interviews, I learned that the following were skills new lawyers struggled with: 

• Professional email correspondence
• Using word processing tools (adding in a table of contents, table of authorities, page numbers, etc.) 
• Knowing when research is complete (when enough is enough and they should stop looking for something that may not exist) 
• Workflow management (how to prioritize tasks, avoiding doing things at the last minute, asking for help in a timely manner, etc.)
• Explaining research methodology to a supervisor 

With these considerations in mind, I designed a class for my ALR business course titled Legal Technology, Professional Etiquette, & Workflow Management. In this class, students are tasked with a prioritization exercise and large group discussion, group work on responding to emails in a professional manner, and give concrete advice on using word processors and communicating with supervisors. This class in conjunction with an oral presentation class where the students give lighting talks on a company's compliance issues, allows students to develop confidence not only with research but with integrating professional skills into the research process. 

Pre session reading: https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm?abstract_id=3352703 

Instructors at the conclusion of this presentation will: 

• Understand the importance of incorporating professional skills building exercises into a research class
• Consider how touching base with practitioners can improve research classes 
• Understand how workflow management skills relate to research class learning objectives 
• Brainstorm their own professional skills exercises that could be used in a law school research class 

This session will feature interactive portions including: 

• An exercise where participants rank various issues in order of highest priority to lowest priority. Participants will discuss how they ordered the priorities and how a student might benefit from discussing how to approach multiple conflicting priorities. 
• An exercise where angry emails related to research are shown to the participants and small groups have to write a professional response.
• An exercise where participants will identify a professional skill and a research skill and pick a class module which may be effective to teach both skills. 
• A small group exercise where participants will try to identify who in their own professional network could give skills focused feedback to them on their course design. 

All In Person / Hybrid Sessions in Mann 160

-------------------------------------------------------------

KEYNOTE EVENT
9:30-10:00 am
Networking Breakfast 
Menu:
Fresh fruit salad, bagels with cream cheese and jam, muffins gluten free bagels and muffins, danish, garden vegetable frittata (vg, gf), scrambled eggs, Ithaca Soy's tofu scramble (vn), home fried potatoes (vn, gf), bacon, coffee, tea, juice

10:00 – 11:00 am

Charting the Course: Library Leadership Journeys Panel - Hybrid - RECORDING

Panelists: Tre Berney, Director of Digitization & Conservation Services; Bonna Boettcher, AUL Public Services; E. Haven Hawley, AUL Special Collections; Jason Kovari, Acting AUL; Simeon Warner, AUL Information Technology & Open Scholarship

This panel aims to illuminate the varied paths to leadership, including the challenges overcome, the skills developed, and the opportunities seized. Panelists will share their personal stories, highlighting pivotal moments, key decisions, and critical learnings that have shaped their professional journeys. This panel is designed for a wide audience, from early-career professionals seeking direction and inspiration, to established leaders looking to reflect on their own journeys and contribute to the development of future generations. Through candid discussions, attendees will gain insights into the complexities of career development and leadership, and leave with practical advice and strategies to apply in their own professional lives.

-------------------------------------------------------------

11:30 am - 1:00pm
Career Fair
Get your CUL Career Development Week Stamp Collection Card and visit the Career Fair tables to collect stamps. Once you've collected 6 stamps, come to the LFSC table to get your prize!

Pick up material, network, and have the opportunity to meet with people from:

• Career Success Center
• Cornell Employee Wellbeing
• Cornell Employee Experience (Co-Worker Coffee, Workforce Affinity Groups)
• CUL Committees
• CUL Human Resources
• Cornell Continuing Education
• Professional development opportunities
• eCornell
• Cornell Colleague Network Groups
• Cornell CARE Fund

From 12:00 - 1:00pm at the Career Fair, we will have a visit from Fur On Wheels! Meet Numa, Zooks, and Ranger who will make your day with tail wags and puppy smiles!

 

2:15 - 3:45 pm 
Demystifying Procedure 13: Annual Academic Promotion Review Panel Discussion - Hybrid - RECORDING
Moderated by Marcie Farwell

HR representative – Bonnie Bailey
AASC representative – Liz Parker
ECVRP – Brenda Marston
Assoc. Lib. Review Board – Jackie Magagnosc
Full Lib. Review Board – Suzanne Cohen

Are you new to CUL and wondering what Procedure 13 is all about? Are you going up for promotion to the rank of Associate or full Librarian/Archivist this year or next? Are you supervising someone who will be going through the promotion review process, and wondering how best to prepare them? Or have you recently gone through the promotion process yourself?

Please join us for a panel discussion about the academic promotion process. This event is open to all academics at all ranks at CUL, and we encourage everyone to attend, even if you’re already gone through promotion or are not eligible for promotion for a few more years. We hope that librarians and archivists who are further along in their careers will attend to show support for their early career colleagues. There will be an open Q&A after the panel presentation, as well as an opportunity for informal discussion on shared topics of interest between participants.

The presentation format will consist of two parts:

Part 1: Panel Discussion [1 hour]

• Introduction of Panel Members / Process Logistics            
• Co-Chair, Academic Assembly Steering Committee             
• Early Career Voluntary Review Program                                
• Co-Chair of the Associate Librarian Review Board               
• Co-Chair of the Librarian Review Board                                 
• Q&A

Part II: Informal sharing of experiences [30 minutes]

In-person participation is encouraged, however those unable to attend in person may join via Zoom. Part 1 of this event will be recorded. Zoom breakout sessions may be available for part 2 based on remote participation numbers.

All Hybrid Sessions in Uris B05 Classroom

9:00 - 10:00 am
Cornell Mentoring and Coaching Programs - Virtual - RECORDING
Radhika Nayak, Career Development Specialist, Organizational & Workforce Development

Cornell provides mentoring and coaching programs for both staff and faculty members, offering tailored support to enhance skills and advance career objectives. https://hr.cornell.edu/your-career/career-success-center/mentoring-coaching 

Mentoring facilitates personal growth by exposing individuals to new experiences and connections. Your mentor assists in recognizing your strengths while collaborating with you to  improve your professional performance and foster a growth-oriented mindset. The outcome includes heightened self-assurance, a broader outlook, and an expanded professional network.

Coaching as a professional development approach, involves a coach guiding you through a reflective and inventive process to unlock your personal and professional potential. They offer inspiration and encouragement while offering fresh insights into your strengths and areas for improvement. Through this process of self-exploration, facilitated by your coach, you gain elevated self-awareness and clarity about the extent of your capabilities.

10:15 - 11:15 am
Changing the Fitness Narrative - Hybrid - RECORDING
C. Lucas, Cornell Wellness
In US society today, there is a lot of pressure to be perfect: to have the perfect body, to do the perfect workouts, to eat the perfect diet. Join Wellness staff to debunk fitness myths and reflect on our connections to physical activity. During this workshop, participants will have multiple ways to explore the meaning of movement and exercise in their lives, including guided self-reflection and group discussions.

1:00 - 2:00 pm
Introduction to ChatGPT - Hybrid - RECORDING
Matt Connolly
A practical introduction to ChatGPT, covering topics such as conversing with it, customizing it, and using it for productivity.

2:15 - 3:15 pm
Inclusive Language - Hybrid - RECORDING
Debra Howell and Jason Carpenter
Our daily use of language includes loads of common words and phrases that draw from ugly parts of history, perpetuate stereotypes, or cause people to feel “other.” Often we know not to use a certain word or phrase, but don’t know what to replace it with. In this interactive session, we’ll talk about the inclusive use of language and share tips on how to talk with others when their use of language may be (unintentionally) offensive.

3:30 - 4:30 pm
Finding, Applying, and Interviewing for THAT Job – Virtual - RECORDING
Curtis Lyons
Tips for finding and getting that great job based on a combination of HR best practices, tips from literature, and personal experience applying, hiring, and mentoring.