Quick Links for Government Graduate Students: Library Homepage and Library Catalog

The library catalog includes a record for everything we have -- the library "holdings." "Everything" includes books, ebooks, streaming media, dvds, maps, microforms, archival materials, newspapers, journals* and more.

*Note: The catalog does not include individual journal and newspaper articles. To find articles, search the library's subject Databases.

Search tips:

• Enter keywords and phrases from your research question
• Start with just a few terms. If you're getting a large number of results, you can add terms to narrow your search.
• Open each record and follow any relevant subject heading links.
• Use the limits, under the Limit Your Search menu, to limit by date published, language, subject era, online, etc.

The library homepage offers a white box search that will search for your terms across a number of different resources. The page also includes links for the catalog, databases, and e-journals. Search tip: Use the pull-down menu to go directly to the catalog.

 To find a specific title in the library catalog, enter the beginning of the title and use the pull-down menu to select "Title Begins With."

Open the record for the title and follow the subject heading links to see all the records with those subject headings, e.g., International Relations > Philosophy.

You can also use the Subject Browse feature to browse subject heading and subheading categories (recommended!)

Enter the first part of the subject-heading and as much as the subheading as you want, e.g.,

International Relations, or

International Relations > Philosophy

You can also use the Advanced Search to refine and focus your results.

Enter keywords or phrases and use the pull-down menu to search "all", "as a phrase" or "any".

Sample search:

political
theory thought [any]
encyclopedia dictionary handbook [any]