Disability Studies : Advocacy

The mission of the American Foundation for the Blind is to create a world of no limits for people who are blind or visually impaired. We mobilize leaders, advance understanding, and champion impactful policies and practices using research and data.

An In-person conference on the intersectionality of disability and race, including some video sessions.

"The Autistic Self Advocacy Network seeks to advance the principles of the disability rights movement with regard to autism. ASAN believes that the goal of autism advocacy should be a world in which autistic people enjoy equal access, rights, and opportunities."

AWN are committed to disability justice, gender & racial equity, neurodiversity & trans liberation with a focus on transformative and restorative justice in disability spaces.

A global online community supporting BIPOC individuals with rheumatic and chronic illnesses.

"The College Autism Network links varied stakeholders engaged in evidence-guided efforts to improve access, experiences, and outcomes for postsecondary students with autism."

"CommunicationFIRST is the only nonprofit organization dedicated to protecting and advancing the civil rights of the more than 5 million children and adults in the United States who, due to disability or other condition, cannot rely on speech alone to be heard and understood."

Disability-related news, resources and events related to specific countries.

"Disability Rights International is dedicated to promoting the human rights and full participation in society of people with disabilities worldwide."

"The Disabled Parenting Project (DPP), which is part of the National Research Center for Parents with Disabilities, is an online space for sharing experiences, advice, and conversations among disabled parents as well as those considering parenthood. The DPP also serves as an information clearinghouse and interactive space for discussion and connection. The DPP hopes to inform social policy concerning this underserved population through the development of scholarly research, fact sheets, and training resources, as created by and for the community, and will set the stage for additional research and social action to address the important issues of discrimination and disparities."

"Since 2000, we have collected country-based laws that protect the rights of individuals with disabilities. DREDF is providing this collection of laws in order to foster sharing of information and encourage the international dialogue on disability anti-discrimination."

We empower individuals with learning disabilities, their families, educators, and professionals with key knowledge. Through personalized and evidence-based programs, we provide tools, resources, and community, so individuals with learning disabilities can thrive, families can be supported, and those who work with individuals with LD can be well-informed.

Little People of America, Inc., is a national nonprofit organization that provides support and information to people of short stature and their families. LPA provides social interaction, parent and peer support, medical support and education, scholarships and grants. Our members range from newborns to senior citizens, both little people and average height. Dwarfism spans all religions, ethnicities, and economic levels. All are welcome

"The National Association of the Deaf (NAD) is the nation’s premier civil rights organization of, by and for deaf and hard of hearing individuals in the United States of America. Established in 1880, the NAD was shaped by deaf leaders who believed in the right of the American deaf community to use sign language, to congregate on issues important to them, and to have its interests represented at the national level."

"The NADC is a leading consultant in the arts and disability community, and the only center of its kind. Recipients of our technical assistance include artists with disabilities, performing arts organizations, art centers, universities and colleges, disability specific groups, and arts administrators."

"Our advocates work to ensure that Native Americans with disabilities have access to justice and are empowered and equal members of their communities and nations. The issues we address include civil rights, special education, health care, and rights to public and private services."

"We share information, networks, and strategies to improve continuing education and training for deaf people."

The National Federation of the Blind is the oldest and largest nationwide organization of blind Americans. Founded in 1940 and currently headquartered in Baltimore, the NFB consists of affiliates, chapters, and divisions in all fifty states, Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico.

"The New York Institute for Special Education(NYISE) is a private, 501(c)(3) nonprofit, nonsectarian educational facility that provides quality programs for children who are blind or visually disabled, emotionally and learning disabled and preschoolers who are developmentally delayed."

"The aim of WASLI is to advance the profession of sign language interpreting worldwide."

"The World Federation of the Deaf is a global organisation working to ensure equal rights for 70 million people around the globe."

"The World Blind Union (WBU) is the global organization representing the estimated 253 million persons who are blind or partially sighted worldwide. Members are organizations of and for the blind in 190 countries, as well as international organizations working in the field of vision impairment. "

"In this podcast, co-hosts Crystal Hernandez, Psy.D., MBA, and Shauna Humphreys, MS, LPC, will discuss disability-related topics of interest to Tribal communities through data, storytelling, and innovative content. With this podcast, we embrace diversity, equity, and honor within our vast Tribal Nations."

"The Braille Monitor is the flagship publication of the National Federation of the Blind. It covers the events and activities of the NFB, addresses the issues we face as blind people, and highlights our members."

"The Disability Visibility Project is an online community dedicated to creating, sharing, and amplifying disability media and culture." Amazing blog posts written by disabled people!!

"The DAC is made up of of undergraduates, graduate students, faculty members, and independent scholars who identify as disabled. We came together in July 2020 in the midst of the COVID-19 pandemic to form a support network. We have found the academy at large to be an inaccessible space, one that is especially hard to navigate for those with disabilities. Our Collective provides a platform for disabled academics to chat, share experiences, solicit advice, and share hope for the future. We are committed to dismantling ableist barriers to access in higher education. To date, over 600 individuals have joined the DAC."

"Hi! We are CrippleCharacters, a blog dedicated to helping people write disabled characters, inspired by WritingWithColor. We’re run by a team of neurodivergent and disabled mods, and our goal is to provide a firsthand perspective to our disabilities."

"Welcome to POWER NOT PITY, a podcast that centers and celebrates the lived experiences of disabled people of color. Let's dismantle ableism by listening to each other's stories."

"Talila A. Lewis (no gender pronouns; use Talila or "TL" instead of using pronouns) is an abolitionist community lawyer, educator, and organizer whose work reveals and addresses the inextricable links between ableism, racism, classism, and all forms of systemic oppression and structural inequity."

"Thinking Person’s Guide to Autism (TPGA) is the resource we wish we’d had when autism first became part of our lives: a one-stop source for carefully curated, evidence-based, neurodiversity-steeped information from autistic people, parents, and autism professionals."

"A self-advocacy guide for anyone who is homebound or bedbound in the US. Special focus on folks with Myalgic Encephalomyelitis (sometimes called “Chronic Fatigue Syndrome”). If you are not lucky enough to have ME or CFS, you are still welcome to use this guide. Enjoy!" Excellent collection of resources, real life assistance, and other information for disabled people.

"hi! i'm me: queer (aspec), trans (neutrois), disabled (crazy + autistic), and low-income (ssdi). i'm semiverbal and use AAC/ASL most of the time. i'm also a wizard (ravenclaw), crafter (anything/everything), unschooler, and general nerd. i write: sometimes novels, sometimes songs about harry potter, sometimes-but-not-lately poetry, and sometimes *cough* blog posts." Often collabs on the Thinking Person's Guide to Autism blog.

A social-media focused resource on Wheelchair Basketball from the UK.

"The Fund for Community Reparations for Autistic People of Color’s Interdependence, Survival, and Empowerment exists to provide direct support, mutual aid, and reparations by and for autistic people of color. We are based in the nation currently known as the United States, though our reach is global."

"The National Indian Council on Aging (NICOA), a nonprofit organization dedicated to the needs of aging American Indian and Alaska Native elders, has released a toolkit dedicated to increasing awareness and knowledge of the needs of American Indian and Alaska Native persons living with disabilities."

Lists of discounts and scholarships for disabled people. From DealHack. Not regularly updated.

From the How to Get On guide to having a great, disabled life, this part of the site focuses on financial resources.

"The Technology-Related Assistance for Individuals with Disabilities (TRAID) Program provides access to assistive technology to any New Yorker with a disability through Regional TRAID Centers. Regional TRAID Centers provide device loans and hands-on training to people with disabilities."