Disability Studies : Background Research

A history of design that is often overlooked--until we need it. Disability advocates fought tirelessly to ensure that the needs of people with disabilities became a standard part of public design thinking.

How has our understanding and treatment of disability evolved in Western culture? How has it been represented and perceived in different social and cultural conditions? In a work that spans 2,500 years, these ambitious questions are addressed by over 50 experts, each contributing their overview of a theme applied to a period in history. The volumes describe different kinds of physical and mental disabilities, their representations and receptions, and what impact they have had on society and everyday life.

Volume 5 of the Cultural History of Disability series

Volume 6 of the Cultural History of Disability series.

Basic consumer health information for people with disabilities and their caregivers about impairments caused by birth defects, sensory and communication disorders, learning disabilities, chronic illness, injury, and trauma, along with facts about assistive technologies, special education and legal, employment, and financial issues. Includes index, glossary of related terms, and other resources.

In Disability as a Social Construct, Claire Liachowitz contends that disability is not merely a result of a handicap but can be imposed by society through devaluation and segregation of people who deviate from physical norms. She analyzes pertinent American legislation, primarily from 1770 to 1920, to provide a new perspective on the mechanisms that translate physical defects into social and civil inferiority.

The first book to cover the entirety of disability history, from pre-1492 to the present. Disability is not just the story of someone we love or the story of whom we may become; rather it is undoubtedly the story of our nation. Covering the entirety of US history from pre-1492 to the present, A Disability History of the United States is the first book to place the experiences of people with disabilities at the center of the American narrative.

This book addresses the post-identity theoretical landscape by emphasizing questions of interdependency and independence, the human-animal relationship, and issues around the construction or materiality of gender, the body, and sexuality. Selections explore the underlying biases of medical and scientific experiments and explode the binary of the sound and the diseased mind. The collection addresses physical disabilities, but investigates issues around pain and invisible disabilities as well.

This volume in the SAGE Reference Series on Disability explores issues involving disability through the life course. With a balance of history, theory, research and application, specialists set out the findings and implications of research and practice for others whose current or future work involves the care and/or study of those with disabilities, as well as for the disabled themselves.

This volume explores issues facing people with disabilities in employment and the work environment. Part of the 8 volume SAGE Reference Series on Disability, which examines topics central to the lives of individuals with disabilities and their families.

Sparked by the disability rights movement of the late 20th century, disability history both expands and challenges the traditional American narrative of self-reliance, individualism, and opportunity and yields new understandings of such bedrock American values as community, family, and citizenship. From the asylum movement of the 19th century and the cover-up of Franklin Roosevelt's paralysis during his presidency to the landmark Americans with Disabilities Act and the impact of every war on veterans' physical and mental health, the experience of disability - and society's reaction to it - has changed markedly from one era to the next.

The Encyclopedia of Disability is an award-winning five-volume set from SAGE Reference. It represents the first attempt to bring an authoritative reference resource to the many faces of disability. More than 500 world-renowned scholars have written over 1000 entries, in a clear, accessible style, with the desire to bring all students, researchers, and others closer to the daily experience of disability.

A collection of eight essays by scholars who have published extensively within the disability studies literature, and who have helped build the field to its current state. Includes contributions from Robert Bogdan, Doug Biklen, Susan Schweik, and more.

Henri-Jacques Stiker's now classic A History of Disability traces the history of western cultural responses to disability, from ancient times to the present. The sweep of the volume is broad; from a rereading and reinterpretation of the Oedipus myth to legislation regarding disability, Stiker proposes an analytical history that demonstrates how societies reveal themselves through their attitudes towards disability in unexpected ways.

This fully revised and expanded second edition of the Routledge Handbook of Disability Studies takes a multidisciplinary approach to disability and provides an authoritative and up-to-date overview of the main issues in the field around the world today. Adopting an international perspective and arranged thematically, it surveys the state of the discipline, examining emerging and cutting-edge areas as well as core areas of contention.

Outdated; medical model. This comprehensive encyclopedia includes more than 500 terms, alphabetically listed and clearly described. Today's most respected autism experts have contributed essential terminology from various disciplines--including pediatrics, speech-language pathology, occupational therapy, physical therapy, education, psychology, and psychiatry--to bring you reliable information on classification systems, signs and symptoms, causes, incidence and prevalence, diagnosis, screening, and assessment interventions, behavior, education, assistive technology, daily living, medical issues, and legislation.

Medical Model. "The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, Text Revision (DSM-5-TR), is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers."

Medical Model. "The field of feeding and eating disorders represents one of the most challenging areas in mental health, covering childhood, adolescent and adult manifestations of the disorders and requiring expertise in both the physical and psychological issues that can cause, maintain, and exacerbate these disorders. The scope of the book is an overview of all the feeding and eating disorders from “bench to bedside”, incorporating recent changes introduced into the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-5)."

Here for the first time is a comprehensive single source, providing information on every possible aspect of the issues and culture of the deaf and hearing-impaired community. Published under the sponsorship of Gallaudet College, Washington, DC, the world's only liberal arts college for the deaf, and written by 300 experts from around the world in the fields of sociology, audiology, law, education, psychology, history, and rehabilitation, this unique and authoritative three-volume reference work is broad in scope and international in coverage.

"This new Encyclopedia shifts focus away from the medical model that has view deaf individuals as needing to be remedied in order to correct so-called hearing and speaking deficiencies for the sole purpose of assimilation into mainstream society. The members of deaf communities are part of a distinct cultural and linguistic group with a unique, vibrant community, and way of being."

Examples of the interdisciplinary reach of this encyclopedia: A strong focus on health issues, with topics such as Asperger’s syndrome, fetal alcohol syndrome, anatomy of the human larynx, dementia, etc. Including core psychology and cognitive sciences topics, such as social development, stigma, language acquisition, self-help groups, memory, depression, memory, Behaviorism, and cognitive development Education is covered in topics such as cooperative learning, special education, and classroom-based service delivery.

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intellectual and Developmental Disorders is aimed at students interested in psychology, counseling, education, social work, psychiatry, health sciences, and more. This encyclopedia will provide an in-depth look at a wide range of disorders, alongside interventions, the latest research translated for an undergraduate audience, historical context, and assessment tools for higher-level students. We will take a truly interdisciplinary approach by also covering sociocultural viewpoints, policy implications, educational applications, ethical issues, and more.

This unique reference can help users locate a sign whose meaning they have forgotten, or help them find the meaning of a new sign they have just seen for the first time. It organizes more than 1,900 ASL signs by 40 basic handshapes and includes detailed descriptions on how to form these signs to represent the different English words that they might mean. ASL students can begin to track down a sign by determining whether it is formed with one hand or two. Further distinctions of handshape, palm orientation, location, movement, and other nonmanual body signals help them pinpoint their search while also refining their grasp of ASL syntax and grammar.