Key Reference Sources
-
Oxford Bibliographies - MigrationOxford Bibliographies are written and reviewed by academic experts. Each thematic article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This one is focused on migration.
-
Oxford Bibliographies - ImmigrationOxford Bibliographies are written and reviewed by academic experts. Each thematic article is an authoritative guide to the current scholarship, containing original commentary and annotations. This one is focused on immigration.
-
Encyclopedia of Global Human Migrationprovides an exploration of the prominent themes, events, and theoretical underpinnings of the movements of human populations from prehistory to the present day. It includes thematic interpretations and theories of migration, as well as the significant contemporary scientific discoveries and scholarly interpretations that have reshaped the way historians and social scientists analyze and map the past. 2013 publication.
-
Encyclopedia of American Immigration byCall Number: Olin Library Oversize JV6465 .E53x 2001Publication Date: 20014 vols. Thematic essays, organized in four parts: (1) immigration history; (2) immigration issues; (3) immigrant groups in America; (4) immigration documents. Entries include photos, maps, and charts. Glossary and bibliography. General, geographic, and legal-judicial subject indexes.
-
Handbook of Research Methods in Migration byISBN: 9781781005231Publication Date: 2012-03-30Covering both qualitative and quantitative topics, the expert contributors in this Handbook explore fundamental issues of scientific logic, methodology and methods, through to practical applications of different techniques and approaches in migration research.
-
American Immigration: an Encyclopedia of Political, Social, and Cultural ChangeCall Number: Also in print: 4 vols. Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) JV6465 .E53 2013Publication Date: M.E. Sharpe, 2013 2nd ed.
-
The Cambridge History of Global Migrations (Volume 1)Volume I documents the lives and experiences of everyday people through the lens of human movement and mobility from 1400-1800. Focusing on the most important typologies of pre-industrial global migrations, this volume reveals how these movements transformed global paths of mobility, the impacts of which we still see in societies today. Case studies include those that arose from the demand of free, forced and unfree labour, long and short distance trade, rural/urban displacement, religious mobility and the rise of the number of refugees worldwide. With thirty chapters from leading experts in the field, this authoritative volume is an essential and detailed study of how migration shaped the nature of global human interactions before the age of modern globalization.
-
The Cambridge History of Global Migrations (Volume 2)Volume II presents an authoritative overview of the various continuities and changes in migration and globalization from the 1800s to the present day. Despite revolutionary changes in communication technologies, the growing accessibility of long-distance travel, and globalization across major economies, the rise of nation-states empowered immigration regulation and bureaucratic capacities for enforcement that curtailed migration. One major theme worldwide across the post-1800 centuries was the differentiation between 'skilled' and 'unskilled' workers, often considered through a racialized lens; it emerged as the primary divide between greater rights of immigration and citizenship for the former, and confinement to temporary or unauthorized migrant status for the latter. Through thirty-one chapters, this volume further evaluates the long global history of migration; and it shows that despite the increased disciplinary systems, the primacy of migration remains and continues to shape political, economic, and social landscapes around the world.
-
SAGE Research Methods"SAGE Research Methods (SRM) is a research tool supported by a newly devised taxonomy that links content and methods terms. It provides the most comprehensive picture available today of research methods (quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods)across the social and behavioural sciences. It includes more than 100,000 pages of SAGE book and reference material on research methods as well as editorially selected material from SAGE journals. In addition, SRMO contains content from more than 640 books, including the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences "Little Green Books" series from SAGE."[publisher]
-
The Craft of ResearchExcellent guide for learning how to conduct effective and meaningful research. For both undergraduate and graduate students. This link is for the ebook version, but we also have print copies available in the library.