Policy, Advocacy, and Labor Organizations
- Border BattlesIn Border Battles: U.S. Immigration Debates you can find original insights from social scientists on the key underlying issues behind the conflicting stances and tumultuous activities of U.S. immigration.
- Center for Comparative Immigration StudiesThe Center for Comparative Immigration Studies at the University of California, San Diego is a leading international research center studying the challenges and opportunities created by migration throughout the world. Full papers and other resources can be downloaded through the website.
- Center for Immigration Studies (CIS)The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization that seeks to lower immigration levels.
- Center for Migration StudiesThe Center for Migration Studies (CMS) is a New York-based educational institute devoted to the study of migration, to the promotion of understanding between immigrants and receiving communities, and to public policies that safeguard the dignity and rights of migrants and newcomers.
- Centre On Migration Policy And SocietyCOMPAS, at the University of Oxford, conducts high quality research to develop theory, inform public opinion and evaluate policy.
- Cornell Farmworker ProgramCornell CALS Global Development program dedicated to improving the living and working conditions of farmworkers and their families. Includes resources addressing immigration concerns.
- Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR)FAIR is a nonprofit, non-partisan, membership organization seeking to reform immigration policy. FAIR seeks to improve border security, to stop illegal immigration, and to lower immigration levels.
- Global Migration Resources websiteThis site guides you to resources on migration from around the world, including links to research, news articles, documents, videos, photos, the best websites, and more.
- Immigrants' Rights at ACLU.orgThe American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) covers issues related to the civil liberties and civil rights of non-citizens.
- Humane Migration Responses at AFSC.orgInformation about humane migration responses from the American Friends Service Committee
- Immigration Enforcement at the National Immigration Law CenterResources on the enforcement of federal, state, and local immigration policies and laws.
- ANIC (Latin American Network Information Center)Links to organizations and resources pertaining to Immigration & Migration by region and country.
- Migration Information SourceThe Migration Information Source provides articles, authoritative data from numerous global organizations and governments, and global analysis of international migration and refugee trends. Online journal of the Migration Policy Institute.
- Migration Policy InstituteMPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels. It aims to meet the rising demand for pragmatic and thoughtful responses to the challenges and opportunities that large-scale migration, whether voluntary or forced, presents to communities and institutions in an increasingly integrated world.
- National Network for Immigrant and Refugee Rights (NNIRR)NNIRR works to defend and expand the rights of all immigrants and refugees, regardless of immigration status.
- PEW Research Center Hispanic TrendsFounded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation. The Center does not take positions on policy issues. It is a project of the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan "fact tank" in Washington, DC that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It is funded by The Pew Charitable Trusts.
- Platform for International Cooperation on Undocumented Migrants (PICUM)PICUM is a non-governmental organisation (NGO) that aims to promote respect for the human rights of undocumented migrants within Europe.
- States Without NationsResearch and commentary on state efforts to restrict the movement of people across borders.
- T Don HuttoInformation on the T Don Hutto family detention center. Last updated 2010.
- American Immigration CouncilThe American Immigration Council works to strengthen America by shaping how America thinks about and acts towards immigrants and immigration and by working toward a more fair and just immigration system that opens its doors to those in need of protection and unleashes the energy and skills that immigrants bring.
- United Farm Workers of AmericaFounded by Ceasar Chavez. This was the original union for migrant workers. Has History information.
Spotlight on International Organizations
- International Organization for MigrationIOM is an inter-governmental organization that works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners to promote humane and orderly migration by providing services and advice to governments and migrants.
- United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR)"UNHCR is mandated to lead and co-ordinate international action to protect refugees and resolve refugee problems worldwide. Its primary purpose is to safeguard the rights and well-being of refugees. It strives to ensure that everyone can exercise the right to seek asylum and find safe refuge in another State, with the option to return home voluntarily, integrate locally or to resettle in a third country. It also has a mandate to help stateless people."
- International Migration (United Nations - Division of Economic and Social Affairs, Population Division)"The Population Division prepares global migration estimates, undertakes studies on migration levels, trends and dynamics, documents migration policies, and monitors the implementation of the United Nations Development Agenda in this regard...One of the key activities of the Division in this field is to produce estimates of the international migrant stock for all countries and areas of the world, disaggregated by age and sex and country of birth or citizenship, at regular intervals."
- USA for IOMUSA for IOM is the International Organization for Migration (IOM)’s nonprofit partner in the US. They "spur action and investment for migration initiatives by fostering partnerships with academia, philanthropy, and the private sector AND by mobilizing support from the American people.
- Illegal Immigration, Asylum and Border ControlAn overview of EU policy.
- International Labour OrganizationThe International Labour Organization (ILO) promotes rights at work, encourages decent employment opportunities, enhances social protection and strengthens dialogue in handling work-related issues.
U.S. Government Agencies and Legislation
- Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE)Responsible for interior security. Includes two law enforcement divisions, Homeland Security Investigations and Enforcement and Removal Operations. Part of the Department of Homeland Security.
- Citizenship and Immigration Services (CIS)Reviews and approves applications for immigration benefits, including immigrant visa petitions, naturalization petitions, and asylum and refugee applications. Part of the Department of Homeland Security.
- Customs and Border Protection (CBP)Responsible for inspecting persons and cargo passing through points of entry and securing the borders. Part of the Department of Homeland Security.
- National Conference of State LegislaturesAn excellent source for finding current state legislation as well as analyses of top issues.
- Proquest CongressionalProvides users with access to a comprehensive collection of historic and current congressional information. Includes full text of congressional publications, finding aids, a bill tracking service, public laws and other research materials. The database is an effective source for general research in many academic disciplines, in addition to research related to specific legislative proposals and laws. Researchers can access information about Congress, including member biographical and committee assignment information, voting records, and financial data.