Using online subject encyclopedias
Many reference sources are part of much larger collections of reference titles.
- Look for the search features associated with the reference work.
- Browse tables-of-contents and subjects.
- Search by keyword (one or two, at most)
Selected Subject Encyclopedias & Handbooks for Global Studies
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesContains signed, scholarly entries on a wide range of subjects in psychology, sociology, anthropology, sexuality, media, education, age, adolescence, race, demography, and much more.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyOnline only, peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia.
- Encyclopedia of Human Geography byPublication Date: 2006"... offers a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize a notoriously diverse field. This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches." [Publisher summary]
- The International Studies EncyclopediaSee the entry on:
The Colonial Encounter and Its Legacy, among others.
Subscription includes online access to: The International Studies Compendium Project. The International Studies Compendium Project, published in association with the International Studies Association, is available online (International studies online) or as a 12-volume set in print (The International Studies Encyclopedia). This resource is the most comprehensive reference work of its kind for the fields of international studies and international relations. International studies online is enhanced by live links to archives, datasets, cases, pedagogical aids, and online organizations.
- The Palgrave Handbook of African Colonial and Postcolonial History byPublication Date: 2018"... modern African history, ranging from the economy, the two world wars, nationalism, decolonization, and postcolonial politics to religion, development, sexuality, and the African youth experience. Contributors are drawn from numerous fields in African studies, including art, music, literature, education, and anthropology." [adapted from preface]
- The Routledge Handbook of Latin American Development byPublication Date: 2018-12-07The volume draws on contributions from across the humanities and social sciences and, unlike earlier volumes of this kind, explicitly highlights the disruptions to the field being brought by a range of anti-capitalist, decolonial, feminist, and ontological intellectual contributions. The chapters consider in depth the harms and suffering caused by various oppressive forces, as well as the creative and often revolutionary ways in which ordinary Latin Americans resist, fight back, and work to construct development defined broadly as the struggle for a better and more dignified life. The book covers many key themes including development policy and practice; neoliberalism and its aftermath; the role played by social movements in cities and rural areas; the politics of water, oil, and other environmental resources; indigenous and Afro-descendant rights; and the struggles for gender equality. [preface]
- Routledge Handbook of Pan-Africanism byPublication Date: 2020-04-30Includes ... "chapters on neo-colonialism, decolonization, and Africanization [giving way to] chapters on African social movements, the African Union, and the African Renaissance.
- The Routledge Handbook of the History of Settler Colonialism byPublication Date: 2016"... offers a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize a notoriously diverse field. This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches." [Publisher abstract]
- The Routledge Handbook of Transregional Studies byPublication Date: 2018"Following three decades of intense debate about globalization and transnationalism, it has become clear that border-crossing connections and interactions between societies are highly important, yet not all extend beyond the borders of nation-states or are of truly world-wide reach. The product of extensive international and interdisciplinary cooperation, this handbook is divided into ten sections that introduce the wide variety of topics within transregional studies, including Colonialism and Post-Colonial Studies, Spatial Formats, International Organizations, Religions and Religious Movements, and Transregional Studies and Narratives of Globalization." [Publisher]
- The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements"... contains over 400 entries exploring social and political movements and related collective phenomena throughout the world."
- The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Theory byPublication Date: 2017-Includes ideologies and social movements, colonialism, globalization, modernity, modernization, political theory, race & ethnicity, and more.