US and Local Industy/Market Financial Reports
- BizminerBizMiner offers granular industry statistical reports that provide industry financial analysis benchmarks for more than 5,000 lines of business and industry market trends on thousands more. Market analysis reports are available at the national and local levels down to the zip code. Micro Firm Profit-Loss Reports cover sole proprietorships and start-ups which is ideal for those writing business plans and looking to benchmark financials
Private Company Financial Data
If the company is private, little or no specific financial information beyond sales figures may be available about the company. Try to find articles via the databases below. These contain thousands of full-text newspapers and business periodicals; you may be able to locate articles which quote company officials discussing the firm's finances.
- FactivaFull-text online service for international news and business information. Covers over 28,000 sources in 23 languages in more than 150 countries. Some company and market research is included. Factiva includes full-text coverage of the Wall Street Journal.
- Nexis UniProvides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations.
Also, consider using ratio books. They will allow you to create your financials using industry averages. Several Cornell libraries have the print copies of these recommended books:
- Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios (by CCH) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 R25 T861
- Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios (by Dun and Bradstreet) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 R25 D89
- Annual Statement Studies (by RMA) -- Management Library, Ready Reference, HF 5681 B2 R63
- Bizminer - financial benchmarks by NAICS code, size, and location
- PitchBookPitchBook is a private equity and venture capital database with in-depth information and statistics on companies, deals and investors. Use PitchBook to establish benchmarks, find real time data on deals, identify and analyze comparables, and search investor details. Users must create an account using your Cornell email address. Log in > Log in with SSO > [Cornell email address].
Understanding Financial Statements
- Understanding Financial ReportsAre you just starting to become familiar with the term "balance sheet"? If yes, you might want to read Merril Lynch's excellent "Understanding Financial Reports."
Public Company Financial Data
Public companies are required to file detailed reports of financial activity. In the US, these filings are available directly from the SEC (the Securities and Exchange Commission), or via the selected databases listed below.