Databases
- APh: L'Annee PhilologiqueIndexes annually collected scholarly works relating to every aspect of Greek and Roman civilization (authors and texts; literature; linguistics; political, economic, and social history; attitudes and daily life; religion; cultural and artistic life; law; philosophy; science and technology; and the history of classical studies). Significant space is accorded to the auxiliary disciplines (archaeology, epigraphy, numismatics, papyrology and paleography). Book notices are followed by a listing of reviews as these are published ; notices of articles include an abstract in English, German, Spanish, French, or Italian.
- AnthropologyPlusCombines Anthropological Literature (Harvard Universit) and the Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK). Indexes journals, reports, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.
- AnthroSourceFull text access to publications from the American Anthropological Association. Good for sociocultural and linguistic anthropology. Some coverage on medical anthropology and ethnoarchaeology.
- Web of ScienceArts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI), 1975 to presentScience Citation Index Expanded (SCI-EXPANDED) 1945 to presentSocial Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) 1956 to presentMultidisciplinary databases covering journal articles in archaeology, geology, anthropology.
- International Medieval Bibliography Online (IMB)Interdisciplinary. Covers history, literature, art, architecture, archaeology, etc.for Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. Comprises articles derived from regular coverage of some 4500 periodicals and 5000 miscellany volume (conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues).
- ATLA Religion DatabaseIndexes journals and edited books on all fields relating to religion and theology. Good for Biblical Archaeology and Biblical Studies. May also be useful for Classics.
- Bibliography of Asian StudiesCoverage of humanities and social sciences in international publications pertaining to East, Southeast and South Asia. For coverage prior to 1971, use print versions of Bibliography of Asian Studies in Kroch Library Asia Z3001 .F2 +
- America: History & LifeA complete bibliographical reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaIndexes works from the sixteenth century to the present with citations to literature about native people of North America; from northern Mexico, to Alaska, Canada and Eastern Siberia. Supersedes Murdock's Ethnographic Bibliography of North America.
- PASCAL FRANCISIndexes periodicals in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. FRANCIS covers publications produced 1984-2015.
- Historical AbstractsIncludes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including historical journals and journals in the social sciences and humanities.
- GeoRefSIndexes over 45000 periodicals in geology and geophysics, but includes: paleontology, human origins, primates and biological evolution.
- JSTORSelect coverage of archaeology and anthropology journals. See links for dates of moving wall of coverage (always EXCLUDED are 3-5 most recent years).
How to access an article
Not all articles are available full text! If an article isn't available full text through a database...
- Use Get it! Cornell.
- If there is no "Get it! Cornell" link/button, search on the title of the article or book in the search box on the library homepage.
- If you cannot locate the article, Ask a Librarian!
Access Anywhere for remote access
Access Anywhere is a bookmarklet that lets you quickly authenticate as a CU person, when you're off-campus. This allows you to access databases.
