Oxford Bibliographies Online (OBO)
- Oxford Bibliographies OnlineDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, this cutting-edge resource guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects, including archaeology, history, Classical Studies, and more.
Selected Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2023Second Edition, Three Volume Set covers the standing of archaeology as a scientific discipline, how archaeology is practiced, both in the field and in the lab, provides an archaeological geographical overview encompassing all continents and time periods, and covers the role of archaeology in the modern world.
The Encyclopedia of Archaeological SciencesPublication Date: 2018Focuses on the emerging trends and foundational theories of archaeological science, scientific concepts and techniques that have shaped the contemporary discipline of archaeology. Sponsored by the Society for Archaeological Sciences, this is an essential resource on core topics in the integration of scientific methods into archaeological practice with extensive coverage on subjects of interdisciplinary interest, describing both the latest in technological and scientific developments as well as the foundational theoretical approaches that connect archaeology to broader topics in the social sciences and humanities.
Encyclopedia of Global ArchaeologyPublication Date: 2014This multi-volume work provides a comprehensive and systematic coverage of archaeology and its related disciplines. It includes all time periods and regions of the world and all stages of human development.
Archaeological Method and Theory by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) + CC75 .A654x 1999This volume covers archaeological methodology from the processes of site formation and site excavation to post-excavation analysis. The archaeological theory portion comprises archaeological models, interpretation, and the development of archaeological theory itself. Volume includes a detailed subject guide of topics covered, as well as biographical entries on scholars who have made an impact in archaeological methods and theories worldwide. Each entry is followed by a selection of further readings on the topic.
- The concise Oxford dictionary of archaeologyBrief and basic terms for archaeological work, including people, places, monuments and equipment. Online version can be cross-referenced with the entire Oxford Reference Online database.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) CC70 .K56x 2000Contains over 7,000 entries written in non-technical language that cover themes, concepts, and discoveries in archaeology. Offers definitions of complex terms and procedures. Coverage begins with the first hominids ca. 3 million years ago up to the recent historical past. A useful index of archaeological sites and terms, as well as a timeline of turning points in archaeology, specifically in relation to the development of writing, are included.
Encyclopedia of Historical Archaeology by Presents concise overviews on the subjects covered by historical archaeologists, which are cross-disciplinary and may be of interest to scholars of folklore, geography, history, anthropology, and architecture among others.
Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) GN281 .E53x 2000; Mann Library GN281 .E56x 2000More than 800 entries covering the 65-million-year story of humankind's origins -- from the latest fossil finds to cutting-edge theories and archaeological concepts.
- The Oxford companion to archaeologyVolume aimed to make specialized knowledge available to a wide range of audiences. It offers a vast overview of archaeology in an encyclopedic survey that covers advances in archaeological methods, discoveries, reconstructions of the past, and archaeologists' contributions to society. Entries are cross-referenced and followed by short citations list for further research.
Selected Atlases
- Atlas of Ancient Archaeology byCall Number: Olin Library GN739 .H39 1974 +; Fine Arts Library (Rand Hall) GN739 .H39 1974; also AnnexAlthough dated, this atlas provided brief introductory facts about archaeological sites in antiquity. It covers known and lesser-known sites from around the world. It includes site maps and a brief bibliography of each site, and a chronological chart from 7000 BC to 2000 AD.
- The Atlas of Past Worlds byCall Number: Olin Library Oversize CC165 .M32x 1993 +Narrative factual information on major ancient sites of the world from about 2000 BC to AD 1500. Text is accompanied by maps, photos and illustrations of reconstructions, monuments, architecture and floor plans. A brief site bibliography is included at the end of the book.
Bible Atlas by Call Number: Olin Library Oversize G2230 .A28 1993 +Aims to visually represent the historical processes in the land of the Bible. Maps are accompanied by brief commentaries. Book covers the Canaanite period, conquest and settlement, united monarchy, Israel and Judah, the Kingdom of Judah, the Hellenistic period, the Maccabees, the Roman conquest, King Herod, Jesus, the Apostles,and the first and second revolt against the Romans..
Tubinger Bible Atlas by Call Number: Olin Library Maps (Non-Circulating) Oversize G2230. T943x 2001 +++Atlas with 27 maps of Palestine and adjacent areas in the Near East. Includes topography, archaeology and history of this area from 1200 BC.
Cultural Atlas of Mesopotamia and the Ancient near East by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) ++ DS69.5 R63x 1990This volume explores the cultures and people that flourished in the fertile valley between the Tigris and Euphrates rivers, and extended from modern-day Afghanistan to the Aegean. Maps, illustrations and photographs accompany concise entries on each area and time period.
Cultural Atlas of Africa by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize G2446.E6 C8x 1998 ++; Africana Library Reference ( Non-Circulating) G2446.E6 C8x 1998A revised edition of this cultural history of an entire continent. The CULTURAL ATLAS series aims to evoke the spirit and vitality of the world's great civilisations, past and present, through photography, maps and supporting text.
Historical Atlas of the Middle East by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) + G2206 S1 F7x 1993
Mapping America's Past by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) ++ G1201.S1 C28 1996Historical atlas of continental America (US borders). Begins with precolumbian America and reaches up to the mid-1990s.
The Times Atlas of World History by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize G1030 .T58 1993 ++
Selected Biographical Sources
Breaking Ground by Call Number: Olin Library CC110 .B74 2004 (also ebook via title link)In-depth biographical essays on 12 pioneering archaeologists from the 19th to the early 20th centuries. The essays highlight the personal, social, and intellectual careers of remarkable scholars at the end of the Victorian era, such as Kathleen Kenyon, Gertrude Bell and Jane Dieulafoy. The database component provides biographical essays on additional pioneering women as well as extends the information covered in the book.
- Breaking Ground Database from Brown UniversityWomen in Old World Archaeology
Encyclopedia of Archaeology by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) Oversize CC100 .E54x 2001 +
The Routledge Dictionary of Anthropologists by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) GN20 .G3513 2004
Women Anthropologists by Call Number: Olin Library Reference (Non-Circulating) GN20 .W87Includes 58 living and deceased anthropologists of the 20th century. Citations to other sources are provided. A subject index and an appendix listing field work research are included.- AAA guide : A Guide to departments, a directory of members byCall Number: Olin Library Oversize GN33 .G94 +; Library has: 2002/2003-2012/2013Contains information on academic, museum, research, and government departments of anthropology in the U.S. and Canada. Provides statistics on enrollments, employment, and degrees granted. Includes a list of dissertations by author. Personal names and departmental indexes are provided.
Selected Statistics
Digging Numbers by Call Number: Olin Library CC80.6 .F54 2005Accessible introduction to descriptive and inferential statistics for beginners in archaeological research. Emphasis is on using appropriate techniques for research questions and understanding results in statistical and archeological terms. Examples of statistics excercises using SPSS and MINITAB may prove useful.
Quantifying Archaeology by Call Number: Olin Library CC76 S8 S54 1997This book draws from archaeological sources to introduce and work through descriptive, inferential and probabilistic sampling in archaeology. Covers both basic statistical and multivariate analyses as it translates archaeological questions into quantitative terms. Has multiple examples and exercises in each section.
Statistics for Archaeologists by Call Number: Olin Library CC80.6 .D74 2009; Also ebook linked from title
Statistics in Archaeology by Call Number: Olin Library CC80.6 .B39 2003Case studies are used to illustrate how statistical techniques can be employed in an archaeological context. The examples come from a variety of locations and are international in scope. The technical level is appropriate for academics and professional archaeologists. Contains helpful hints on statistical software as well as an extensive bibliography.
Tip: Search the CUL Catalog using Archaeology--Statistical methods as a Subject Heading to find more resources.
Chronologies
- Chronologies in New World Archaeology byCall Number: Olin Library E61 .C55Overview of state of chronological research and chronologies for various regions of the American continent. Although dated, this book provides a chronological overview of areas from the Arctic, Eastern USA, North American Plains, Great Basin, Southwest, California, Mesoamerica, Central America, Caribbean and Northern Chile.
- Chronologies in Old World Archaeology byCall Number: Olin Library Oversize D54.5 E33 1993 +
- Timeline of Art History (Metropolitan Museum)Graphic display of human presence since the Paleolithic (ca. 20,000 years ago). Well-known and lesser-known periods and societies covered.
- Dendrochronology Lab at Cornell UniversityExplore the fun and detail of tree-ring dating in your own campus!
Tip: Search the CUL Catalog using Archaeological Dating as a Subject Heading to find more resources.