Welcome to the South Asia Studies Libguide -- your hub for research materials for conducting research on South Asia.
Journals in South Asia Studies
While this is not a comprehensive list, it highlights several relevant and major anglophone, international scholarly journals.
South Asia
- Economic and Political Weekly
- Himalaya
- Journal of South Asian Development
- Pakistan Economic and Social Review
- SAPANA : South Asian Studies
- Society and Culture in South Asia
- South Asia Economic Journal
- South Asia: Journal of Asian Studies
- South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal (SAMAJ)
- South Asia Research
- South Asian History and Culture
- South Asian Popular Culture
- South Asian Studies
- South Asianist
Religion
- Buddhist Studies Review
- Journal of Hindu studies
- Journal of Indian Philosophy and Religion
- Religions of South Asia
Wider Region
New Books Network: South Asia Studies
Listen to interviews with scholars of South Asia about their new books.
Oxford Bibliographies
|
Identifying sources
AnthropologyPlus
Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in anthropology.
ATLA religion database
Citations from international titles and multi-author works in and related to the field of religion.
Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia to scholars, public officials, business leaders, and other users.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Western-language bibliographical database for research on East, Southeast and South Asia.
Historical Abstracts
Index of literature covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present.
Books about South Asia Studies
-
Cross-cutting South Asian studies
by
Part I. The Indian Ocean of religious practices: past and present / edited by Serena Bindi and Elena Mucciarelli
part II. Kings, priests and prominent roles interpreted through the visual literary, speculative, and technical Indian arts / edited by Tiziana Pontillo.
Call Number: Kroch BL1215.C76 C76 2016Publication Date: 2016 -
Mapping Subaltern Studies and the Postcolonial
by
Inspired by Antonio Gramsci's writings on the history of subaltern classes, the authors in Mapping Subaltern Studies and the Postcolonial sought to contest the elite histories of Indian nationalists by adopting the paradigm of "history from below." Later on, the project shifted from its social history origins by drawing upon an eclectic group of thinkers that included Edward Said, Roland Barthes, Michel Foucault, and Jacques Derrida. This book provides a comprehensive balance sheet of the project and its developments, including Ranajit Guha's original subaltern studies manifesto, Partha Chatterjee, Dipesh Chakrabarty, and Gayatri Spivak.
Call Number: Kroch DS340 .M36 2012Publication Date: 2012 -
Handbook of Modernity in South Asia
by
Is modernity new to India, involving the transformation only in recent decades of an apparently timeless traditional society through global networks of banking and industry, migration and information, and trade and technology? Or have different groups on the Indian subcontinent variously participated in processes of modernity over a much longer time period? How is modernity itself to be understood and what forms have its expressions taken? Modern Makeovers explores the depths and surfaces which are constitutive of modernity and its representations. It sheds light on the historical aspects of modernity during colonial times. The volume also examines the conditions, limitations, and possibilities of modernity-and the modern-in contemporary contexts, including politics, culture, and the arts. The handbook approaches formations of modernity as always particular yet already global, all the while drawing on a range of South Asian experiences. The contributors map prior routes and chart novel pathways in discussions of modernity in the different regions of the subcontinent. They attend to prior, inherited understandings of modernity that are based on pre-figured, modular projections of the traditional and the modern, the non-West and the West.
Call Number: Kroch HN670.3.A8 H36 2011Publication Date: 2011 -
The Visual Turn: South Asia across the disciplines
by
The Visual Turn: South Asia Across the Disciplines explores new perspectives made possible by the evidence drawn from visual culture. This evidence is utilized by historians, literary analysts, anthropologists and, in a new way, art historians. Focusing on built environments within their urban contexts; the interactions of buildings, roads, and bodies; the meaning-making achieved through consumption of images (on their own or in concert with literary texts) all contribute to a much broader and deeper understanding of change in South Asia. Juxtaposed, these case studies not only approach their topics in a multi-disciplinary manner, but also make clear just what scholars from various disciplines can learn from each other to add nuance and depth to their own analyses. In the process, the authors demonstrate how the application of different methods and theorizing, when coupled with a fascinating range of types of evidence, contribute to a significant broadening of our abilities to interpret the past and the present. In particular, these essays bring new ways of thinking about cities as well as the multiple ways that visual culture contributes to individual and collective forms of identity-narratives that are negotiated at key moments of change in South Asia. Readers will see their own materials and historicized contexts with new eyes. This book was published as a special issue of South Asia: Journal of South Asian Studies.
Call Number: Kroch GN635.S57 V57 2015Publication Date: 2015 -
Windows into the Past
by
Judith M. Brown, one of the leading historians of South Asia, provides an original and thought-provoking strategy for conducting and presenting historical research in her latest book, Windows into the Past. Brown looks at how varieties of "life history" that focus on the lives of institutions and families, as well as individuals, offer a broad and rich means of studying history. Her distinctively creative approach differs from traditional historical biography in that it explores a variety of "life histories" and shows us how they become invaluable windows into the past. Following her introduction, "The Practice of History," Brown opens windows on the history of South Asia. She begins with the life history of an educational institution, Balliol College, Oxford, and tracks the interrelationship between Britain and India through the lives of the British and Indian men who were educated there. She then demonstrates the significance of family life history, showing that by observing patterns of family life over several generations, it is possible to gain insight into the experiences of groups of people who rarely left historical documents about themselves, particularly South Asian women. Finally, Brown uses the life history of two prominent individuals, Mahatma Gandhi and Jawaharlal Nehru, to examine questions about the nature of Indian nationalism and the emergent Indian state.
Call Number: Kroch DS435 .B76 2009Publication Date: 2009
