Microfilm Collections at the Kheel Center include the following topics: 19th Century Labor History, Arbitration, Black and Indigenous Workers, Collective Bargaining Agreements, FBI Files, International Labor (mostly British), Management Theory/History, Women in the Labor Movement, the Yiddish Left, ILR, Civil Rights, U.S. Labor Relations, and the Department of Labor.
Please schedule a zoom appointment here to access any of the microfilm collections listed on this guide.
Clerk of Courts, Carbon County, PA. Trial Transcripts, 1876-1878 (Molly Maguires Trials) on Microfilm 6 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5596 mf
Commons, John R. Collection on Microfilm 24 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5738 mf
"The Commons papers date 1859-1967, although the vast majority fall within the years 1887-1945" from the Scope and Content Note of the Guide.
Wright, Carroll D. Selected Papers on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5399 mf
This memorandum attempts to explore in as close chronological order as possible the appellate phase of the litigation in an effort to gather in one integrated document the language of the appellate courts. Mr. Bergan's purpose was to dispel the charge of "litigious obstruction" which he believed was irresponsible.
Knights of Labor Constitutions on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5427 mf
Constitutions from the Knights of Labor
Knights of Labor Miscellaneous Publications on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5466 mf
This collection consists of publications of the Knights of Labor. Included are addresses, articles, journals, and the organization's Ritual.
American Bureau of Industrial Research: Manuscript Collections on the Early American Labor Movement on Microfilm 12 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5764 mf
The collection consists of the manuscript holdings of the American Bureau of Industrial Research, which document working class history in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The manuscript collections included are the John Samuel papers (1868-1907); the Joseph P. McDonnell papers (1869-1906); the Albert R. Parsons papers (1876-1893); the Edward H. Rogers papers (1865-1908); the Ira Steward papers (1863-1883); the Thomas Phillips papers (1865-1908); miscellaneous cooperative association records (1862-1881); Knights of Labor records (1882-1902); the records of the Sovereigns of Industry, Philadelphia Pioneer Council (1874-1879); and the Geisse and Huebner questionnaire responses (1904).
Socialist Labor Party Records on Microfilm 39 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5168 mf
Cole, David Additional Arbitration Records on Microfilm 5 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5588 mf
Scrapbooks, newspaper clippings and collective bargaining records.
Selected Papers from the NYS Board of Inquiry on the dispute between Bell Aircraft and UAW Local 501 on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5408 mf
Random Selection of Papers UAW; Bell Aircraft Corp.
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Arbitration Files on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5414 mf
Files concerning the October 19, 1961 arbitration between the IBEW and Raytheon in Boston, MA.
Switchmen's Union of North America Arbitration on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5406 mf
Arbitration proceedings in the matter of the Chicago and Eastern Illinois Railroad (Chicago Switching District); Chicago Great Western Railroad (System, except Twin Cities), Chicago, Rock Island and Pacific Railway (System, except Inver Grove); Chicago Terminal Transfer Railroad (System); Lake Shore and Michigan Southern Railway (Specified Yards); Michigan Central Railroad (West of Detroit River); Pere Marquette Railroad (System); Wisconsin Central Railway (Chicago Switching District); and Switchmen's Union of North America, representing the Yardmen. March 4, 1910.
New York City Coat and Suit Industry Board of Arbitration and Board of Grievances Meeting Minutes on Microfilm 5 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6154 mf
New York State Board of Mediation and Arbitration Glove Manufacturers' Association of Fulton, New York on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Bergan, Raymond W. Teamsters-Monitor Litigation in the Court of Appeals on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5404 mf
Memorandum exploring the appellate phase of litigation concerning the election of James R. Hoffa to the presidency of the International Brotherhood of Teamsters.
American Association for Labor Legislation Records on Microfilm 71 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5001 mf
Records consist of correspondence, committee minutes, reports, financial records and research documents generated by staff members to facilitate legislative programs. These research materials deal with the following subjects: general labor law, general social insurance, health insurance, occupational safety, diseases and accidents, labor law administration, pensions and old age benefits, unemployment, wages, hours of work, working conditions, workers' compensation and unionism.
Rubinow, Isaac Max Selected Files on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5616 (A) mf
Scrapbooks copied to microfilm.
Hawaiian Sugar Strike News clippings on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5400 mf
Film includes a few pieces of correspondence and many news clippings regarding the plantation workers' strike in 1924-25.
Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration on Microfilm 25 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5750 mf
"Records relate to agricultural labor, industrial work, unionism, housing, race relations, returning veterans and their search for employment and the process of migration from the South to the North." (from Introduction by James R. Gross, editor). Reels 10-11 contain the records of the U.S. Railroad Administration's Women's Service Section. Reels 16-19 of this collection include records from the U.S. Women's Bureau concerning black women.
Blacks in the Railroad Industry on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5989 mf
Materials documenting the struggle of black railroad employees.
Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters Records on Microfilm 30 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5976 mf
This is Series A, Part 1 of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters records.
Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, Chicago Division, Selected Papers on Microfilm 4 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5462 mf
Largely intra-union correspondence with A. Philip Randolph and other national officers regarding local organizing efforts, grievances, rival unionism, and other matters of interest to the division. Originals in the Chicago Historical Society.
Papers of the International Labor Defense on Microfilm 22 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5815 mf
Part of 'Black Studies Research Sources', General Editors - August Meier and John H. Bracey, Jr.
Papers of the NAACP Supplement to part 13: The NAACP and Labor on Microfilm 16 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6061 mf
Papers of the NAACP, Pt. 13, Series A, B, & C on Microfilm 58 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5925 mf
Correspondence, press releases, and clippings regarding employment opportunities and training programs for blacks in national defense industries. Principal correspondents: Sidney Hillman and Robert C. Weaver.
National Archives and Records Service Copies of Federal Documentation on Black Workers on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5584 mf
National Archives and records of Federal Documentation for African American workers in the United States.
The East St. Louis Race Riot of 1917 on Microfilm 8 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5749 mf
The public record on a murderous riot against Blacks sparked by the racial hatred and the uncertain economic conditions in post-World War I America.
Negro Labor Committee Records on Microfilm 17 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5832 mf
Randolph, A. Philip Papers on Microfilm 35 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5896 mf
Accompanied by printed reel guide compiled by David H. Werning.
FBI Files on A. Philip Randolph on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 6079 mf
Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters, Series A, Parts 1-3 on Microfilm 21 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6110 mf
Muste, A. J. Papers on Microfilm 39 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5975 mf
The papers of A.J. Muste consist of correspondence, autobiographical materials, book reviews, speeches, articles, pamphlets, and clippings. The correspondence (1958-1967), divided into private correspondence and business papers, forms the bulk of the collection. Numerous individuals and organizations are represented in the correspondence, which includes information about George Keenan, Linus Pauling, Anatol Rapaport, A. Philip Randolph, Morton Sobell, the Congress of Racial Equality (CORE), the World Peace Brigade, Pendle Hill, the Hudson Institute, and the Fellowship of Reconciliation. The records of Liberation Magazine and information about the San Francisco to Moscow Walk, the Omaha Action, the Polaris Action, and tax resistance are also in the collection.
BLS Collection of Collective Bargaining Agreements (Part 22) on Microfilm 320 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6178/022 mf
Collective Bargaining Agreements on Microfilm 6 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5663 mf
Filmed for a student researcher who was working on a collective bargaining exercise for a class. Unions involved in the exercise were the following; International Molders' Union of North America; Textile Workers Union of America; International Stereotypers and Electrotypers Union; International Union of Machinists and Blacksmiths of the U.S.A. ; United Mine Workers of America ; Bakery and Confectionery Workers' International Union of America; United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America; Glass, Molders, Pottery, Plastics & Allied Workers International Union; Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America; Bricklayers, Masons and Plasterers International Union of America; AFL-CIO, Building and Construction Trades Dept.; AFL, Railway Employees Dept.; AFL, Metal Trades Dept.; International Brotherhood of Firemen and Oilers; Brotherhood of Railroad Signalmen; Brotherhood of Railway, Airline, and Steamship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express, and Station Employees; National Union of marine Cooks and Stewards; Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers; Railroad yardmasters of North America; Screen Actors Guild; AFL-CIO; International Union of Operating Engineers; United Hatters, Cap, and Millinery Workers International Union; International Printing Pressmen and Assistants' Union of North America; Railway Labor Executives Association; United Steelworkers of America; Steel Workers Organizing Committee; International Longshoremen’s and Warehousemen's Union; Amalgamated Meat Cutters and Butcher Workmen of North America; Industrial Union of Marine and Shipbuilding Workers of America; Retail Clerks International Association; Amalgamated Association of Street, Electric Railway and Motor Coach Employees of America; IBEW; United Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers of America; United Packinghouse, Food, and Allied Workers; United Assoc. of Journeymen and Apprentices of the Plumbing and Pipe Fitting Industry; International Brotherhood of Bookbinders; American Communication Assoc.; International Union of Electronic, Electrical, Salaried, Machine & Furniture Workers; Hotel & Restaurant Employees and Bartenders International Union; United Cement, Lime, Gypsum, and Allied Workers International Union; Harlem Labor Union; and Working Women's Protective Union (New York, N.Y.)
International Union of United Brewery, Flour, Cereal, Soft Drink and Distillery Workers of America Agreements (Texas) on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5544 mf
Collective bargaining agreements and related documents.
Selected International Harvester Company documents and agreements from other Kheel Center collections on Microfilm 19 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6053 mf
Material from a variety of collections listed. Set made for an individual researcher and these sets provided to the Center as part of the arrangement.
Strike Files of the U.S. Department of Justice, Pt. 1 on Microfilm 20 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5897 mf
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Budget for Special Reports on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5403 mf
Budgets for special reports of the United States Bureau of Labor Statistics.
U.S. Commission on Industrial Relations on Microfilm 8 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5794 mf
U.S. Commission on Industrial Relations on Microfilm
U.S. Department of Justice, Mails and Files Division, General Records Files #23-34-14, Section 1 on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5178 mf
Several letters regarding a case against a group of men in Williamson County, Illinois - accused of posing as Government Officers.
U.S. Department of Labor Records on Microfilm 70 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6005 mf
"From the John F. Kennedy Presidential Library"
U.S. Industrial Commission Minutes of the Meetings on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5397 mf
Meeting minutes of the United States Industrial Commission.
New York State Department of Labor Minimum Wage Board Records on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5381 mf
Minutes of the public hearings of the New York State Minimum Wage Boards.
New York State Department of Labor, Minimum Wage Board, Laundry and Beauty Industry Minutes on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5179 mf
Microfilm copy of the N.Y.S. Department of Labor, Minimum Wage Board Verbatim Minutes of Evidence for the Laundry and Beauty Industries (1947)
New York State Labor Documentation Project on Microfilm 397 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5787 mf
This collection consists of Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives, N.Y. Labor Documentation Project Union Label Series I-Series III
Schneider, Anna Weinstock Papers on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5143 mf
Microfilm copy of the Anna Weinstock Interview Transcript (June 13, 1969)
Department of Justice Investigative Files on Industrial Workers of the World, Part 1 on Microfilm 15 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5863 mf
FBI Confidential Files on Communist Activity in the Entertainment Industry and FBI Surveillance Files on Hollywood on Microfilm 15 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6111 mf
FBI Files on A. Philip Randolph on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 6079 mf
FBI Files on Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6068 mf
FBI Files on Highlander Folk School on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5898 mf
FBI Files on John L. Lewis on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6106 mf
FBI Files on Sacco and Vanzetti on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6082 mf
Alexander, Robert J. Papers Interview Collection on Microfilm 15 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6150 mf
For some five decades, 1947-1995, Prof. Robert J. Alexander (1918-) has been an engaged witness and active documentarian of almost all of the major political and social events in Latin America. During his visits to various Latin American countries, prof. Alexander held numerous interviews with people from all segments in society. Alexander kept notes on most (some 12,000) interviews and later typed them out.
American Trust for the British Library Project Master Negatives on Microfilm 5 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6060 mf
Beveridge Collection of Unemployment, Volumes 1-20 on Microfilm 12 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6130 mf
British Labor History Pamphlets on Microfilm 16 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5214 mf
This collection includes a section of pamphlets written by British women involved in the labor movement.
British Labour History Ephemera on Microfilm 46 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5573 mf
Leaflets, periodical articles, pamphlets, speeches, lectures, minutes, annuals, conference reports covering topics in British labor history including strikes, trade-unions, the eight-hour movement, women and work, and socialism.
"Labor, Social Justice and World Affairs: The Papers of David A. Morse" on Microfilm 57 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6147 mf
History of French Trade Unionism on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5401 mf
An unidentified manuscript on French Trade Unionism.
Holyoake, George Jacob Papers on Microfilm 6 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5426 mf
Microfilm copy of the George Holyoake Papers at the Cooperative Union of Manchester and the Bishopsgate Institute of London.
International Confederation of Free Trade Unions Records on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5272 mf
This collection contains agendas and minutes of the Asian Regional Committee's Executive Board, reports of the Regional Secretary, and reports and other materials about trade unionism in Asia.
International Workingmen's Association Records on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5213 mf
Records of a seminal socialist and Communist international labor movement.
International Workers Order's Immigration and Naturalization Files on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5940 mf
TUC Archives on The Mining Crisis and The General Strike on Microfilm 22 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6114 mf
TUC General Committee Minutes and Papers on Microfilm 25 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6113 mf
TUC Periodicals and Serials on Microfilm 17 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6112 mf
Newspaper Accounts of the General Strike of 1926 and Related Matters in Great Britain on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5565 mf
Microfilmed articles from British newspapers concerning the General Strike of 1926.
Simon, Fanny Records on Microfilm 8 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5169 mf
Microfilm copy of the Latin American Booklet Pamphlet Collection
Place, Francis Papers on Microfilm 5 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5421 mf
Papers illustrative of the Reform Crisis, 1830-1832. Introduction by I.J. Protheroe of the Department of History, Manchester University.
Rochdale Equitable Pioneers on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5422 mf
Included here are the original 1844 Rules, the original manuscript Minute Books kept by the successive secretaries, and contemporary photographs of the Pioneers.
London Trades Council Papers on Microfilm 11 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5215 mf
Minutes and papers of the London Trades Council.
ILR School Publication "For Our Information" (F.O.I.). Digital. 0.1 linear ft.
Collection Number: /3070 mf(d)
Digitized from the microfilm edition.
DeVault, Ileen Research Files for "Sons and Daughters of Labor: Class and Clerical Work in Turn-of the Century Pittsburgh" on Microfilm 5 microfilm reels
Collection Number: /4213 mf
This book shows how the workforce was changing at the turn of the Century in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. "What social science later enshrined as the "collar line" may have existed, but its significance was not at all clear. Rather than being a clear social delimiter, the collar line existed as a murky area invested with contradictory social meanings" (p.172)
Academy of Management Additional copy of publications on Microfilm 73 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5977 mf
Collection consists of microfilm copies of various Academy of Management periodicals.
Charles D. Wrege Research Materials on Microfilm 10 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6395 mf
Cooke, Morris L. "Industrial Management" Monograph on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5930 mf
Gilbreth, Frank Papers on Microfilm 4 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5424 mf
Selected papers pertaining to industrial engineering by Frank Gilbreth
Hawthorne Studies Records on Microfilm. 14 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5856 mf
From the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Collection. Finding aid for boxes at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
National Civic Federation Howell-Barkley Bill Correspondence on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5650 mf
Microfilm of National Civic Federation Howell-Barkley Bill Correspondence
Landay, Donald M. "Union-Management Controls in the Men's Tailored Clothing Industry" Ph.D. Thesis on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 6157mf
McHale, James L. Records 0.2 linear ft.
Collection Number: 6713
Includes pamphlet: Tables of the Number of Feet of Card Clothing ... Howard Bros. Mfg. Co., 1917; notebooks on operations of the company and lists of customers, business cards, notepaper, etc.
Evans, Elizabeth Glendower, Women in America: Series 1 on Microfilm 11 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6077 mf
Goldman, Emma and Alexander Berkman vs. The U.S. Records of the U.S. Supreme Court Appellate Case No. 2619 Transcript on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5694 mf
Microfilm copy of the transcript of Emma Goldman and Alexander Berkman vs. The U.S. Records of the U.S. Supreme Court Appellate Case No. 2619.
Women's Trade Union League Papers on Microfilm 131 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5690 mf
Consists of microfilm copies of the papers of the National and New York Women's Trade Union Leagues and the papers of several leaders within those leagues.
National Women's Trade Union League of America Records on Microfilm 25 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5709 mf
These records include correspondence, reports, speeches, notes, printed matter, minutes of meetings, proceedings of the League and of the International Congress of Working Women, biographical material on the League's officers, and correspondence between the National League and its local branches. Major issues covered include the eight-hour day, minimum wage, establishment of sanitary work areas, federal aid to education, civil rights, price controls and social security. Unpublished guide available.
Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor, Pt.2 , Series A on Microfilm. 10 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5901 mf
Records of the Women's Bureau of the U.S. Department of Labor; Part II : Women in World War II ; Series B. Subjects and Correspondence Files on War Industries on Microfilm 35 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5946 mf
Records of the Women's Bureau of the US Department of Labor on Microfilm 23 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5762 mf
Part 1 of the Bureau's records consist of four series summarizing its work from the time of its predecessor, the Woman in Industry Service, to the mid 1960's and providing regular summaries of the Bureau's activities and policy positions. These are: Monthly reports (1918-1948); Annual summaries (1922-1932); Conferences of the Women's Bureau (1918-1965); and speeches and articles prepared by Women's Bureau officers (1918-1958).
Pollack, Katherine Ellickson Papers on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5425 mf
The collection consists of meeting minutes, press releases, notes on conferences, speeches, field reports, etc.
Schneider, Anna Weinstock Papers on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5143 mf
Microfilm copy of the Anna Weinstock Interview Transcript (June 13, 1969)
Fair Employment Practices Commission Records on Microfilm 210 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5662 mf
Office files, hearing records, employment practices files, public relations files, correspondence, closed case files and administrative files
Papers of the National War Labor Board on Microfilm 22 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5752 mf
Minutes, case files, and records of the National War Labor Board.
Papers of the President's Mediation Commission on Microfilm 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5751 mf
Included are all of the Commission's records housed in the National Archives; these are, however, incomplete and officially described as fragmentary. This collection consists mainly of testimony of witnesses before the Commission in hearings held in Globe, Clifton, and Bisbee, Arizona and in Salt Lake City, Utah. Also included are reports, correspondence, and other general materials of the Commission.
Pennsylvania Governor's Commission to Revise the Public Employee Law of Pennsylvania on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 5199 mf
Senate Bill no. 355, Public Employee Relations Bill and Senate Bill no. 518, Senate Bill no. 1021 and House Bill NO. 1443 - Public Employee Relations Bill - May 23, June 11, August 21 & 22, 1969.
Public Review Board Cases #11 & #48 on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5411 mf
The microfilm of the transcribed testimony and proceedings in the Paul Siren Case before UAW Public Review Board was made by Photoscience Service, Cornell University, from the original transcript loaned to us by Professor Jean McKelvey. Both a negative and positive microfilm were made of this document.
Records of the Bureau of Vocational Information on Microfilm 28 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5919 mf
Filmed from the holdings of the Arthur and Elizabeth Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America. Accompanied by printed reel guide compiled by Nanette Dobrosky.
Records of the Immigration and Naturalization Service, Series A, Subject Correspondence Files. Part 2, 3, & 4 on Microfilm 58 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6074 mf
"Der Wecker" on Microfilm 1 microfilm reel
Collection Number: 6163 mf
"Di Naya Post" on Microfilm. 3 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 6156 mf
United Hebrew Trades Minutes on Microfilm 2 microfilm reels
Collection Number: 5814 mf
Microfilmed copy of United Hebrew Trades Minutes - January 8, 1901