Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kheel Center Labor & Management Microfilm Collections: Home

This guide is designed to help you navigate the Kheel Center’s microfilm collections and request an appointment to view our microfilm collections remotely.

Kheel Center Microfilm Collections

This guide is designed to help you navigate the Kheel Center’s microfilm collections and request an appointment to view our microfilm collections remotely.

Request an appointment here!

We have several dozen microfilm collections relating to labor unions and labor leaders. Our microfilm and other archival collections can be searched here:

Kheel Center Finding Aid Guides

When searching for a microfilm collection on our site, please search with the term 'mf' and any related search terms to indicate you are looking for a microfilm collection.

Here are some labor unions whose microfilm collections we hold: American Federation of Labor (AFL), AFL-CIO, Committee for Industrial Organizations (CIO), Garment Worker Unions (ILGWU, ACWA, ACTWU), Hotel Employees and Restaurant, Employees International Union (HERE), International Brotherhood of Pulp, Sulphite and Paper Mill Workers, Industrial Workers of the World (IWW), Joint Board, Fur, Leather & Machine Workers Union, Mine Workers, New York State Unions, Railroad Unions, Southern Tenant Farmers Union, United Brotherhood of Carpenters and Joiners of America, and miscellaneous Union Publications.

Labor leaders and other individuals represented in our microfilm collections include William Green, Samuel Gompers, Max S. Hayes, Elmer F. Cope, John L. Lewis, Katherine Ellickson Pollack, Paul Abelson, Murray Finley, Abraham Rosenberg, Fannia Cohn, Jasper Peyton, Charles S. Zimmerman, Morris Hillquit, William M. Leiserson, Isaac Siegmeister, Joseph Schlossberg, Berman, Hyman, Adolph Germer, Powers Hapgood, George Howell, Oldham Paisley, John Mitchell, Hubert Albertz, Joseph Slight, A. Philip Randolph, Eugene V. Debs, A. E. Lyon, Don McMurry, John R. Commons, Carroll D. Wright, David Cole, Raymond W. Bergan, Cesar Chavez, Sacco and Vanzetti, Robert J. Alexander, George Jacob Holyoake, Fanny Simon, Francis Place, Charles D. Wrege, Morris L. Cooke, Frank Gilbreth, James L. McHale, Elizabeth Glendower Evans, Emma Goldman, Alexander Berkman, Katherine Ellickson Pollack, Anna Weinstock Schneider, A. J. Muste, and Isaac Max Rubinow.

Topics include 19th Century Labor History, Arbitration, Black and Indigenous Workers, Collective Bargaining Agreements, FBI Files, International Labor (mostly from England), Management Theory/History, Women in the Labor Movement, the Yiddish Left, ILR, Civil Rights, U.S. Labor Relations, and the Department of Labor.

Remote Microfilm Access via Zoom

We are now providing a service that provides remote access to the Kheel Center's microfilm collections via zoom. Users will be able to navigate the microfilm remotely and scan pages relevant to their research.

Please schedule a zoom appointment here to access any of the microfilm collections listed on this guide.

Librarian