Skip to main content

Spanish-Language Reference Sources Online or in the Library: A Guide: Internet
Resources

A guide to the library's Spanish-language reference dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, and selected major internet resources.

Selected Internet Resources in Spanish

Biblioteca Digital Hispánica (BDH)
This  resource of the National Library of Spain offers online free and open access to books, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps and atlases, from the fifteenth to the nineteenth centuries.The BDH can be searched by title, author, material, collection and description. Some material is available as full text. Click on Bienvenidos at the top for the Spanish-language interface.

Biblioteca National de España
World Wide Web site of the Biblioteca Nacional, Madrid, providing access to Ariadna, the catalog of the Biblioteca Nacional, and to other Internet resources of interest to library users in Spain and throughout the world. Also provides access to information on the Internet.

Centro Virtual Cervantes
The Centro Virtual Cervantes provides extensive information about Spanish language and culture. Includes thousands of pages of cultural interest, material for learning Spanish, discussion forums, databases, reference works, a magazine on language and culture, a specialized search engine which provides direct access to many pages on language, literature, dictionaries, media, etc. In Spanish.

Dialnet
A virtual library of Spanish academic journals, hosted by the University de la Rioja in Spain. Primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents, it covers more than 5,000 journals and 2.1 million documents. There are a growing number of full-text articles available as content is continuously updated. Subjects covered include the sciences, social sciences and the humanities and arts. It is particularly useful for subjects related to Spain, such as history and Islamic studies, not well covered by other popular databases. English language search is available. Covers 1980 to the present.

EUR-Lex
Free database provides access to European Union treaties, legislation, case-law, parliamentary questions, legislative proposals, the Official Journal of the European Union, and the European Court Reports.
Direct access to Spanish language interface.

European Union
Direct access to Spanish interface.

FAO
Information on economic and agricultural issues from the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO). It also has a good selection of maps.
Direct access to Spanish language interface.

PARES: Portal de archivos espanoles
A portal and database created by Spain's Ministerio de Cultura containing more than twenty million documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archive of the Indies and Archive of the Spanish Civil War.

United Nations
Select "Español." Spanish is one of the original six languages of the U.N.