Skip to main content

Spanish-Language Reference Sources Online or in the Library: A Guide: Articles
in Spanish

A guide to the library's Spanish-language reference dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, and selected major internet resources.

Finding Articles in Spanish

Academic Search Premier
This broad, multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 8,500 journals, including full text for more than 4,600 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. To choose spanish, go to the top right hand side under the tab "languages" and select Espanol from the options.


Indexes journals covering cultural, economic, political, and social change. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary, with citations drawn from alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Includes selected abstracts from research journals. Subjects covered include anarchism, democracy, ecology, feminism, gay and lesbian issues, indigenous peoples, labor, national liberation, and socialism. To choose spanish, go to "option" on the top of the page, see the language choice in the blue bar at the end of the search box. Select Espanol.

Ethnic News Watch
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. Of the more than 1.8 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish, making ENW an unmatched bilingual diversity database. To search in Spanish, select "Espanol" as language choice on upper right hand tab there is a pull down menu to choose an interface language.

Provides global content,including Dow Jones and Reuters newswires. Covers 9,000 sources from 152 countries. To find articles in Spanish: from the top of the search page, go to the tab marked languages, and select "espanol."

A multilingual, multidisciplinary database indexing books and journal articles in the humanities (63%), social sciences (33%), and economics (4%). It is strong in religion, the history of art, and literature, with particular emphasis on current trends in European and world literature. Updated monthly, FRANCIS covers 1984 to the present, with more than 872,000 records. To search for Spanish language sources, in "limit to" box select "language phrase" and choose "Spanish."

Google Academico
This is the Spanish language version of Google Scholar. This resource allows you to locate many full-text academic journal articles and other documents in the spanish language covering a wide variety of topics from around the world.

HAPI Online
HAPI Online contains authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world from 1970 to the present. Many of the citations are linked to full text where available. On main search screen you can limit results by language, select "spanish" from options.

Historical Abstracts
This index to historical journals includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the U.S. and Canada which are covered in "America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 titles, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history. Covers articles published from 1954 to date. To find articles written in Spanish, select the language tab from the top and pull down Espanol for Spanish interface.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature. To limit results to Spanish language articles, go to "advanced search", and under "limit to" select the pull down menu next to "Languages" and choose "Spanish."

Lexis Nexis Academic Universe
Provides access to full text resources on topics including current and general news; business and financial information; newspapers; company directories; government and politics; medical and health topics; accounting, auditing, and tax; federal and state laws; legal cases; and regulations. Resources include TV and radio news transcripts. To find Spanish language resources: from the "sources" button at the top, select "more options" blue link in the "find a source" box on the far right, click on the "more options" blue button, and select "Spanish" from the publication language box.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
LLBA contains abstracts of the world's literature in linguistics and language-related research, book abstracts, book review listings, and enhanced bibliographic citations of relevant dissertations." Related disciplines such as anthropology, education, ethnology, information science, medicine, and communications are covered. Also includes some reference to papers in published conference proceedings. To limit to Spanish language sources, choose "advanced search" tab, and under "more search options" select the "Browse Language" and click through four screens and select "spanish."

MLA Bibliography
Provides citations for items from journals and series published worldwide. Indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. Contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. Extensive coverage on Spanish language and literature found in journal articles, books, dissertations, and proceedings. Change the language preference to Spanish in the "Limit to" box, by "language phrase" select "Spanish."

PAIS International
Public Affairs Information Service contains citations to public policy literature of economics, government, law, international business, political science, public administration, and other social sciences. It includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, reports and pamphlets in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, and Portuguese. To find articles in Spanish, go to the "advance search" tab, under "insert field code" at the bottom of the search box pull down the list, and select "Language =" hit "insert" and put in "espanol."

Project MUSE
Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others. To limit to Spanish, go to the "article search" tab on top, scroll down to "article language"at bottom, and select "Spanish."

ProQuest Research Library indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided. To change the language to Spanish, go to the top right hand side and hover over the icon of a globe and the word "English" and select espanol.